Mov vs dng (is there any video comparing the results of both workflows?)

Started by CHINOTAKER, June 20, 2016, 07:54:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CHINOTAKER

Hi I've being checking this forums for the last couple of years and I've always find the answers I was looking (thank you very much to all the ML team and the ML community by the way) for but not this time. I have shot many many videos with it and I am very happy with ML in general. Last weekend I shot a commercial and I started to wonder if I should try exporting dng's from Mlrawviewer to get that ''extra'' out of my footage. I've always export to proress444 and to be honest I can get pretty much the same ''quality'' that the Alexa or red gets in the same lighting situation (I have examples of that) to the point that the producer of the TVC couldn't tell the difference. I am an editor by the way

I've just always found that the extra work in the Mlrawviewer/dng process is not justify or is simply an intangible difference compare to the Mlrawviever/mov approach. I think now I should explain my workflow so it makes more sense:

1. shot 5d3 raw
2. convert .mlv to prores444 via mlraviewer (always s-log always manually ETTR)
3. offline in premiere with the proress444
4. xml to davinci
5. xml back to premiere with the graded footage in proresHQ
6. add graphics via AFX
7. export

So basically I wonder if I would get more dynamic range if I go to the extra process of working with dng's instead of straigh prores444 considering that I would use the same workflow offline in premiere/colour grade in davinci/final online and export in premiere

thanks in advanced

Flocksock

You will definitly get more dynamic range using DNG files. Not only more dynamic range.
with DNG you are able to shift color temperature and tint in Davinci Resolve (or AE). And also
more control over highlights and shadows.
My workflow:

1. MLRViewer to DNG
2. Open files in Resolve 12.5.