Long Exposure Simulation via Shutterless FRSP

Started by garry23, May 21, 2016, 10:14:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garry23

As a stills photographer I often wish to do long exposures, eg to smooth out skies or moving water, or 'eliminate' people from the scene.

Usually this would be where an ND filter would come into play. But what if you don't have an ND filter to hand, or that your ND filter doesn't give you the exposure time you desire for your artistic vision.

This is where the attached script might 'save the day'.

The usual caveats apply, eg I developed it for my workflow, it doesn't have much error checking and I've tested it on my gear, ie a 5D3.

The script makes use of the Full Res Silent Picture taking in ML and uses the Intervalometer, because at the moment I can't work out how to trigger FRSP in a Lua script, other than by using the Intervalometer  >:(

The script is limited (and checks) that the base exposure is set between 0.25 and 14 secs (to ensure it fits within the FRSP needs).

Before use, simply choose what format of FRSP you wish to use, ie DNG or MLV (remember with MLV you will need to load the MLV module and carry out MLV to DNG conversion in post). Todate I have personally stuck with DNG-FRSPs.

The script is not fast, ie it will not capture a 60 sec simulated exposure in 'real time'. But it will do all the work for you and not 'harm your shutter  ;)

To use, simply go into LV and you will find the LE Simulator under the Shoot menu.

Set the exposure (you can set Dual ISO on as well), eg manually or using ETTR auto or hints.

Choose bookends if you wish to add a DNG 'dark' frame at the beginning and end of the capture sequence, ie to help identify a bracket set in post.

Select the LE time you wish to simulate. Note if the LE time is less than the base exposure time, at least one image will be captured.