Author Topic: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow  (Read 17703 times)

lordmade

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« on: May 18, 2016, 08:22:25 PM »
canon 70d , getting error 70 & error 80 ,
shows memory error - underflow
Sub menu shows -

allocated ram - 684kb, peak 684kb - values change
malloc -227kb,77kb used
allocate memory 1.9mb,506kb used
shoot_malloc - 32mb,101kb used - values change
stack space - 525kb - values change
shoot contig 0
shoot total 0
srm job total 0x0
autoexec.bin 449kb of 640kb

 
image buffers -720x480,720x480
internal temp - 166 raw - help need

after some time , sd card light will turn on and camera will freeze , will have to remove battery , turn off and on couple of times , sometimes camera screen will turn on most times it stays black


dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3212
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2016, 01:30:39 AM »
Do you have lua.mo loaded? If you don't need it, turn it off.

lordmade

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2016, 03:40:06 AM »
loaned my cam out and it came back with a error 70 after a magic lantern install , guessed i should reload magic lantern to troubleshoot it as i cant seem to find a stock canon 70d firmware anywhere , guess whatever image setting was changed was recorded in the nvram , i have cleared settings in all modes both through the canon menu and in magic lantern , no luck till now

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2016, 09:32:57 AM »
How about the CFn settings? Did you clear them, too?
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2016, 09:50:32 AM »
Some more info regarding this issue:

Quote from: lordmade
no, rom wasnt backed up , i had loaned the cam out to a friend who loaded magic lantern , cam was returned with error code 70 ,
i used eos utility to test it, generates error 80
camera generates a error 70 in m mode without  card
camera generates a error 70 in c mode without card

Quote from: lordmade
camera starts up in all modes , if i switch on liveview , it generates a junk display , if i click the shutter it generates a error 70 ,if i load magic lantern to troubleshoot the camera hang after a few minutes , sd card light will turn on and stay on , while browsing through the debug menu i saw the memory underflow and cpu temperature

dm-spy log for this code (don't click me on current dm-spy-experiments branch):
Code: [Select]
    void* job = (void*) call("FA_CreateTestImage");
    call("FA_CaptureTestImage", job);
    call("FA_DeleteTestImage", job);

http://pastebin.com/pGPG9KeT

The message that may indicate an error:
Code: [Select]
ShootCaptu:ff155d90:93:16: ->FactoryMode AbortCaptureImagePath!!

Also, the crash log OP is experiencing:
Code: [Select]
ASSERT: 0
at ./Memory/Memory.c:575, task RscMgr
lv:0 mode:4


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2016Apr23.70D111A
Mercurial changeset   : 591ba5bf7c75 (70D-merge) tip
Built on 2016-04-23 19:23:06 UTC by [email protected]
Free Memory  : 227K + 1951K

matches these lines from the capture test log:
Code: [Select]
    RscMgr:ff0c308c:8b:06: ASSERT : ./Memory/Memory.c, Task = RscMgr
    RscMgr:ff0c30a0:8b:06: ASSERT : Line 575
    RscMgr:ff0c30b4:8b:06: ASSERT : 0

so it seems to be an error message generated by Canon code (probably one of the error handling paths doesn't do proper cleanup).

@nikfreak: can you upload a dm.log from your 70D taken in the same conditions? (M mode, ISO 100, 1/125, f/5.6, don't click me on 1166ef2d from your repo).

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2016, 11:16:36 AM »
No problem after work in late evening.
70D.112 & 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2016, 08:46:51 AM »
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2016, 09:27:17 AM »
The only significant differences I could find:

Code: [Select]
-**INTERRUP:ff153db8:93:03: Dummy ReadoutDone(3131)
+**INTERRUP:ff153db8:93:03: Dummy ReadoutDone(173648)

-ShootCaptu:ff1538b4:93:03: CapReady(3131)[40][1]
+ShootCaptu:ff1538b4:93:03: CapReady(173648)[40][1]

-**INTERRUP:ff155804:93:03: CapEnd(3131)
+**INTERRUP:ff155804:93:03: CapEnd(173648)

-**INTERRUP:ff155bd4:93:03: ReadoutDone(3131)
+**INTERRUP:ff155bd4:93:03: ReadoutDone(173648)

-ShootCaptu:ff21e478:8f:03: PostNextStage (ID = 3131[0], Class = 147, Pos = 0)
+ShootCaptu:ff21e478:8f:03: PostNextStage (ID = 173648[0], Class = 147, Pos = 0)

so, this one looks like an internal ID, not relevant;

Code: [Select]
-ShootCaptu:ff4001e8:92:03:  PWRCNT (res:4040a447)(clk:lx)(0x40402447)
+ShootCaptu:ff4001e8:92:03:  PWRCNT (res:4040a047)(clk:lx)(0x40402047)

This one appears to be some status bitfield, and could indicate a problem on the hardware side.

And, the obvious assert that appears when de-allocating the test image object:
Code: [Select]
RscMgr:ff208444:80:01: ###### FreeMemoryToShootMemoryObject 0x124328
RscMgr:ff0c308c:8b:06: ASSERT : ./Memory/Memory.c, Task = RscMgr
RscMgr:ff0c30a0:8b:06: ASSERT : Line 575
RscMgr:ff0c30b4:8b:06: ASSERT : 0

Didn't check the output data yet, but OB values look fine.

I'll ask OP to run a few more tests by PM: FA_CreateTestImage/FA_DeleteTestImage without capture, checking the output image, and checking for overflow.

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2016, 02:11:24 AM »
This is my first post. Hoping for some help. I'm having the same problems...

Quote
Quote from: lordmade
camera starts up in all modes , if i switch on liveview , it generates a junk display , if i click the shutter it generates a error 70 ,if i load magic lantern to troubleshoot the camera hang after a few minutes , sd card light will turn on and stay on , while browsing through the debug menu i saw the memory underflow and cpu temperature

Quote
after some time , sd card light will turn on and camera will freeze , will have to remove battery , turn off and on couple of times , sometimes camera screen will turn on most times it stays black

I've tried different cards, batteries, with and without battery grip, changed lens, restarted in every mode and nothing is helping. Problem seemed to start last week and I thought it might just be from camera getting too warm from video use, but it worked fine for 4 days, had another quick issue Friday and now today will not come back full function. It stated out as "junk displayed" during live view. Then ERR 70 and today it's ERR 80. Any help would be great. Just let me know what I need to do.

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015May31.70D111A

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2016, 07:36:17 AM »

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015May31.70D111A
Examining the build date the error has nothing to do with recent builds. Interesting!
70D.112 & 100D.101

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2016, 07:39:23 AM »
@nikfreak: can you ask @panicbutton run the same tests as OP?

First was the one you already ran on your camera, second was:
Code: [Select]
    void* job = (void*) call("FA_CreateTestImage");
    call("FA_DeleteTestImage", job);

This second test was successful on lordmade's camera; will post the log later, as I'm a little busy this week.

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2016, 04:23:18 PM »
Yeah no problem, I'll take care by sending him a PM later.
70D.112 & 100D.101

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2016, 07:23:36 PM »
@nikfreak & @a1ex I more than willing to run any test, just need some instructions. I'm in a pretty big bind, needing this camera to finish a catalog job this week. Looking for a loaner now.

Crash Log from yesterday—
ASSERT: 0
at ./Memory/Memory.c:575, task RscMgr
lv:0 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015May31.70D111A
Mercurial changeset   : 8a4bc95af250+ (70D-merge) tip
Built on 2015-05-31 07:23:14 UTC by [email protected]
Free Memory  : 233K + 1951K

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #13 on: May 26, 2016, 01:05:15 PM »
Pm sent with instructions.
70D.112 & 100D.101

lordmade

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #14 on: May 26, 2016, 03:32:45 PM »
Any Instructions for me ?

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #15 on: May 26, 2016, 06:07:40 PM »
@a1ex I ran the tests per @nikfreak instructions. Uploaded both log files for you.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B89xYVPCKqWvZDBPNHZCMFN4Nlk

thanks!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2016, 07:04:05 PM »
These are Canon logs (not good).

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2016, 07:22:08 PM »
Well. Not what I wanted to hear obviously. What's my next step? Anything else to be done here? Should I try to uninstall ML and send to Canon, or is it toast?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2016, 08:09:36 PM »
Well, I guess both you and nikfreak should check the instructions...

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2016, 08:42:00 PM »
Please run "Don't click me" for both zip files.
Each run will create a dm.log on your sdcard which you need to save to your pc before running the next zip.

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B9Mu66yg5QzRc1Vpb1AwT3JQMTA&usp=sharing

Afterwards rename the files to e.g. dm1.log and dm2.log and post the link to that files on your err70/err80 thread for a1ex.

These were my instructions. panicbutton you didn't follow what I've written.You used the debug menu item "Debugmsg log" but not "Don't click me". Do what I've instructed.

Btw the output for "Don't click me" on my camera for both cases from quoted link:
http://pastebin.com/RCxgLx3J
http://pastebin.com/uFf1072M
70D.112 & 100D.101

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2016, 09:56:30 PM »
Yea I'll be the first to admit my ignorance when it comes to trouble shooting. I'm sure nikfreak's instructions are on point, I just didn't follow them. However, now for some reason I am unable to access the ML menu options to select "Dont click me".

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1036
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2016, 10:34:23 PM »
sounds like the camera behaves even worse. is the camera under warranty?
@panicbutton read this post and also the wiki. do you got the ROM dumps from ML/LOGS folder?
@a1ex: "FA_SetDefaultSetting"?
70D.112 & 100D.101

lordmade

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #22 on: May 27, 2016, 12:37:00 AM »
is there any chance anyone has the stock firmware to reflash so i can get it back to stock and use it , currently its a expensive paperweight

panicbutton

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #23 on: May 27, 2016, 01:30:03 AM »
@nikfreak got this camera in March 2015 not under warranty. Looks like I have a lot of reading to do, from your 2 links.
Here is a link to the ML/LOGS folder. https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B89xYVPCKqWvMzZXRVgwMkJnSlk

and here is a link to some other logs on the root of the card
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B89xYVPCKqWvYV8yM3BETWx0LTg&usp=sharing

I'm wondering if I've done something to make my ML sd card non-bootable. ??? I only have ML loaded on one card.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10697
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: canon 70d error 80/error 70 memory error- underflow
« Reply #24 on: May 27, 2016, 06:48:39 AM »
@lordmade: I don't think your problem can be solved by reflashing (the firmware looks OK, ML does a checksum at startup, and the logs do not indicate any setting issues). To me, it looks more likely a hardware issue; I just didn't have time to finish the investigation in order to draw a conclusion.