Focus Stacking Helper Script

Started by garry23, February 16, 2016, 01:08:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

garry23

I hope this post and script helps others who are learning/struggling to become 'scripters'.

I couldn't have got this far without the help of David Milligan and others, who have provide feedback.

Although learning Lua scripting is easier than trying to code in ML C, Lua still requires some effort to learn, especially while the 'user manual' is being developed. For instance http://davidmilligan.github.io/ml-lua/index.html helps, but there are still areas where the user is left 'guessing'.

As a scripting newbie, I have spent tens of hours experimenting and trying to divine coding errors. I have educated myself on event driven programming and now have a reasonable looking script to offer the ML community.

This script's only purpose is to provide in-camera feedback to aid landscape (sic) focus stacking, ie NOT macro focus stacking.

The caveats are the lens must report focus distance and DoF, and LV must be on.

Before using it is best to check if the ML DoF is set up correctly, eg I recommend switching on the diffraction aware option.

I have positioned the script in the Audio menu (my preference), but this can me moved elsewhere.

Here is the script, which you should put in a text file with a .lua extension and place this file in the ML script folder.

--[[
Manual Landscape bracketing helper script
Version 0.3.3
Garry George Feb 2016
http://photography.grayheron.net/
First focus at nearest bracket in focus stack then move towards infinity.
Try using ML follow focus to control lens, as opposed to rotating lens by hand.
Yellow means move more towards the infinity end, Red means move more towards macro end,
Green means at the sweet spot. If Green not seen, move to just being in the Yellow from being in the Red.
* Must be in liveview! *
--]]
a1 = lens.dof_near
b1 = lens.dof_far
c1 = 0
fp = lens.focal_distance
inf = 1000000
started = false