Author Topic: Canon 100D / SL1  (Read 581219 times)

IDA_ML

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1014
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #725 on: September 29, 2017, 11:42:30 AM »
First bug report on yesterday's experimental build:
=================================

1) Black screen when attempting to play already recorded 10 and 12-bit MLV files.  This feature used to work fine on previous builds.

2) Preview screen gets very dark when recording RAW video in the 11...8 bit lossless data format which allows continuous recording at 1736x976 resolution and 24 fps.  This dark screen makes framing very difficult while recording, especially at low light.   

-----------------------------------------

My overall impression is that this experimental build works miracles with the 100D, especially due to the fact that sound works fine now with the normal and crop MLV video modes!!!  Keep up the good work, guys.


JohanJ

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #726 on: September 29, 2017, 05:59:37 PM »
If any of you is able to run the latest build, can you run the stubs API test from selftest.mo? Might give some clues.
I really would like to but the latest build magiclantern-Nightly.2017Sep27.100D101 does not include selftest.mo anymore, nor does magiclantern-lua_fix.2017Sep11.100D101. Just checked the zip files again, the module is simply missing.

silent.mo is missing too, by the way.

Both modules were included in magiclantern-Nightly.2017Jul12.100D101.
60D.111 / 100D.101 / M2.103

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #727 on: September 29, 2017, 06:39:07 PM »
      @Alex

   I added selftest_mo from 12Jul build to Latest Nightly & Ran It ~

Have selftest log > How do I get it to You ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #728 on: September 29, 2017, 07:42:55 PM »
                 @Alex

   OK then Never Mind ~ Instead of getting You Full Log, here are results

of Last 21 ~ as all other Passed ~

3 Tests Failed

[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(1000);
[FAIL] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] dialog->type => 'DIALOG'
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
       SW1(1,100)
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x1
       SW1(0,100)
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
 
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

JohanJ

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #729 on: September 30, 2017, 11:27:45 AM »
Now Selftest.mo got included in latest build magiclantern-Nightly.2017Sep29.100D101. But silent.mo is not. Is there a specific reason or can I just reuse the module from an older build as @OlRivrRat suggested?
60D.111 / 100D.101 / M2.103

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #730 on: September 30, 2017, 11:44:59 AM »
Here's a thing I found: Although the camera doesn't seem to boot up, when i look through the viewfinder I can see the lightmeter showing and can even change shuterspeed, apurture and ISO. Sometimes I'm even able to take a photo, but nothing gets saved to the SD Card. Im not sure if that's "normal" for the camera when it's not booting properly, but figured i'd share it with you guys.

I'm also able to compile ML now (I guess, really not sure what I'm doing, just followed the instructions) and compiled the rescue build, which boots up and shows some weird dots on the screen. I also compiled the nightly build without modules to see if there is anything happening different, but it's the same so far. I'll try to get QEMU working by tomorrow and perform some more tests.
 
@OlRivrRat The Selftest should write a log to the SD card "stubtest.log" which you can share via pastebin or something like that. I ran the API test with Jul. 12 Build. Here's what i got: https://pastebin.com/ifjCsAqJ

Edit: Ok, here's how I'm able to take photos:
Turn camera off, detach lens, remove battery, remove SD card, attach lens again, insert battery, insert SD card, close battery door, turn camera on. Sometimes even autofocus works. But I'm not sure if this really is the way to take work everytime. Will test more tomorrow (if it's of any interest to anyone).

Edit2: If I compare mine and OlRivrRat's log, the only difference really is this "[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x0 SW1(1,100)" for mine on Jul 12th build while for him it's "[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1 SW1(1,100)" but I have absolutely no clue what that means.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #731 on: September 30, 2017, 11:59:04 AM »
canneloni so July build works for you and latest do not. Can you think about the last situation / use what caused your issue? For e.g. "I was taking a video 10/12bit" or "trying to enable this and that module and after rebooting got stuck.." etc.?

@a1ex: could it be something about the new boot method or the dryos task hook changes?

@canneloni: can you retry evertyhing: take out battery, format a sdcard put latest build 29th september onto it and install ML fir?
70D.112 & 100D.101

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #732 on: September 30, 2017, 12:02:59 PM »
That is correct. I was definitely experimenting with 10/12 Bit lossless and all the new good stuff. I remember getting different error codes, sometimes for the modules loaded or not being able to link some modules, but honestly I'm not sure what exactly was the last thing I tried. I switched a lot betweend mlv_lite.mo and mlv_rec.mo and got different error codes which I didn't understand and hadn't had the time to fully reproduce to report.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #733 on: September 30, 2017, 12:04:47 PM »
and what about silent.mo? did you use that (although not included) in latest builds but maybe was already on the sd? Check also my post above and report. Any logs placed during crashes on your card?
70D.112 & 100D.101

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #734 on: September 30, 2017, 12:16:43 PM »
No I did not try silent.mo as far as I can remember. It should not have been on my sd card since I normally format the card before I switch to a new version of ML.

I will try again with latest build later today or tomorrow, not sure when I will find time. Im pretty sure there was a log file, I think I copied it to my PC, will look later today. But I'm not sure if it was already there before the boot problem. I copied some mlv files and think I saw it there but the camera still worked after that.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #735 on: September 30, 2017, 05:14:38 PM »
           Had posted this over on "crop_rec on steroids" , not sure if it has any implications here >

  Activating "mlv_lite" on My SL1 running "crop_rec_4k.2017Sep27" causes all Modules to "err" ~

Using "mlv_rec / Raw video (MLV)" seems to work fine & allows recording ~ Have not Processed yet ~

   Trying to run "crop_rec_4k.2017Sep28" makes My SL1 Very Unhappy ~

                                 ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #736 on: September 30, 2017, 06:08:57 PM »
   Partial SelfTest results from 30Sep Nightly ~

6 Fails this time ~

[Pass] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(1000);
[FAIL] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] dialog->type => 'DIALOG'
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
       SW1(1,100)
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x1
       SW1(0,100)
[Pass] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_play_mode() => 0x1
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
[FAIL] is_play_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[FAIL] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
[FAIL] is_play_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_photo_mode() => 0x0
[Pass] is_pure_play_movie_mode() => 0x0
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3401
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #737 on: September 30, 2017, 07:22:13 PM »
cr2hdr has a couple of parameters hardcoded for full-range files, so I don't expect it to work with lower bit depths yet (unless you somehow rescale the raw data back to 14-bit range).

Ah, gotcha. Thanks!

Another issue is worrying me: EXIF white level is way above the real clipping point. Can you use raw_diag to find out the white level in LiveView?

If you have the patience to run the following test, would be great; otherwise, even just a few snapshots will be very helpful.



General testing conditions:

- make sure the image has some overexposure (any amount will do)
- enable RAW Diagnostics (default settings)
- optionally enable RAW Diagnostics -> Dump RAW Buffer (to save the analyzed frames as DNG)
- disable Global Draw
- press half-shutter for about one second to analyze the current LiveView frame

Basic tests:
- analyze one LiveView frame at every ISO (including intermediates)
- write down the white level (as printed on the top right corner)

How to run:

For RAW Video in [ "OFF", "12-bit lossless" ]:
  For movie mode in [ "1080p any FPS", "720p any FPS", "5x zoom", "3x3 crop_rec", "Movie crop mode" ]:
    Run the basic tests.

Note the raw_diag screenshots won't record the RAW Video state, but it will be obvious from the white level.

Results: 2 matrices of white level values (5 rows x as many columns as ISO values).

Totally missed this post. Thanks @Danne for pointing me back to this as I will do my best to complete these tasks this weekend!

Additional test:
- try one ISO (any of them) at various apertures (ideally from f/1.4 to f/8, if your lens allows it), in any mode. I don't expect changes here.

Ideally, this test should be coded as a Lua script and ran on all other camera models.

Sure I can do this w a 50L to confirm this test properly. Also agreed that it would be nice to have this coded as a Lua script for future references.

Also just a FYI I am currently running the 15 minute self-test on latest nightly (2017-09-30) and after the first 10 minutes of processing like normal -- it's been more than 15 minutes that the LiveView just hangs at 'Bulb picture taking' unless this is normal? I doubt it. Will probably take battery out and run it again otherwise I'll do the other tasks per your requests instead.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #738 on: September 30, 2017, 07:44:29 PM »
Yeah, that probably locked up. Are you able to use bulb timer normally? Does it also work from Advanced Bracketing? (e.g. if your bracketing settings require more than 30 seconds)

BTW, silent pictures are back; notice the updated tests from the download page.

Didn't look into the boot issue yet, but it's likely related to the boot method (possibly similar to DIGIC 6 caching issues).

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3401
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #739 on: September 30, 2017, 07:53:44 PM »
Yeah, that probably locked up. Are you able to use bulb timer normally? Does it also work from Advanced Bracketing? (e.g. if your bracketing settings require more than 30 seconds)

Battery just died. Will check out both Bulb and Advance Bracketing settings. Thought bulb.mo had to be manually inserted or is it already included in the nightlies? Been awhile for me.

However, there was a log presented on the SD card. In any case if there are clues: https://bitbucket.org/DeafEyeJedi/magic-lantern/downloads/log000.log <-- Sorry my wrong it was from a 5D3.123 build. Had two memory cards inserted. Please disregard that log!

BTW, silent pictures are back; notice the updated tests from the download page.

I noticed that. All seems normal as far as I know and will play around with this some more as well.

Didn't look into the boot issue yet, but it's likely related to the boot method (possibly similar to DIGIC 6 caching issues).

What exactly do you mean by the boot issue here?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #740 on: September 30, 2017, 07:56:24 PM »
   Just stumbled onto a Most Curious Issue that happens in all 3 Sep Builds but not in

12Jul or 06Jan, did not test any earlier than that ~

   I had installed the 30Sep Build & Explored it a bit ~ Then with Cam in LiveView I set

it down to do some WWW & within 10-15Sec's I heard the Shutter+Mirror Action & the Cam

was Frozen with LiveView Image still on Screen. Batt' remove was necessary. Repeated tests

of Same Scenario produced Same Result ~ As long as Cam' was in motion all seemed fine ~

Tested in Mov Mode with Same Result but produced this Mess' >

" [89] ?: stack overflow: free=0 used=-385938417 "

   Ran Same Test with all 5 2017 Builds that I have & as I mentioned, it only happens in

the 3 Sep Builds ~

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #741 on: September 30, 2017, 07:58:44 PM »
Anyone care to translate for a non-native English speaker? :D

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #742 on: September 30, 2017, 08:00:50 PM »
@nikfreak: Okay, unfortunately I deleted the log files. I remember something called "assert....log" but I'm not sure.  Also I just did as you said, removed battery, formatted SD Card in Computer, afterwards in camera and did a fresh install of ML. Still the same issue. After rebooting (as mentioned in install process) the screen stays black, the red LED at the bottom right stays red. There are no new log files created. 
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3401
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #743 on: September 30, 2017, 08:18:30 PM »
Here's a full stubtest log from 2017-30-9 nightly build.

https://bitbucket.org/DeafEyeJedi/magic-lantern/downloads/SL1_2017-09-30_stubtest.log

Everything passed except for the 3 enlisted below:

Code: [Select]
[FAIL] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
[Pass] dialog->type => 'DIALOG'
       GUI_Control(BGMT_MENU, 0, 0, 0); msleep(500);
[Pass] MENU_MODE => 0x0
[FAIL] PLAY_MODE => 0x1
       SW1(1,100)
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #744 on: September 30, 2017, 08:20:09 PM »
   Additional testing with 30Sep Build shows that Issue seems to be Related to whether the

image on LV is Bright or Dark > Bright Image & LV Continues, Dark Image & Cam Freezes ~

Appeared to be Image Motion Related earlier but was just due to fact that I was moving Cam in

Bright Scene & then setting it down in Dark ~

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #745 on: September 30, 2017, 08:24:48 PM »
                @Alex

           If You are referring to My Odd use of some symbols, My apologies, I'll do a Rewrite If needed.

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3401
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #746 on: September 30, 2017, 08:28:33 PM »
@Alex If You are referring to My Odd use of some symbols, My apologies, I'll do a Rewrite If needed.

I had installed the 30Sep Build & Explored it a bit ~ Then with Cam in LiveView I set

it down to do some WWW & within 10-15Sec's I heard the Shutter+Mirror Action & the Cam

was Frozen with LiveView Image still on Screen. Batt' remove was necessary. Repeated tests

of Same Scenario produced Same Result ~ As long as Cam' was in motion all seemed fine ~

Care to rephrase this please? I'd be more than willingly to understand and help troubleshoot along but need you to try and show me what you're seeing?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #747 on: September 30, 2017, 08:58:59 PM »
      @ DeafEyeJedi

   I suspect the simplest way to "show" You would be if You could get the Issue to duplicate

on Your Cam'.

   Using any of the 3 Sep' Builds, start Cam', activate LiveView, set the Cam' down or just

Hold It Aimed @ a Dark Scene & see if it Freezes in from 5-20Sec's. Having Any Bright Areas

in the Image seems to prevent it from happening.

   Cam' is in Manual @ 200ISO, F5, 1/40Sec, AWB, AF FaceTrack, Single Shot, Raw+L'JPEG.

                     ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #748 on: September 30, 2017, 09:06:46 PM »
      CrashLogs

   30Sep

ASSERT: FALSE
at ./LvCommon/LvJob.c:156, Evf:1bcd4
lv:1 mode:3

Evf stack: 1bf2a8 [1bf4b8-1be8b8]
0xUNKNOWN  @ d090:1bf4b0
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a758:1bf488
0x0003A450 @ ff0d444c:1bf470
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a480:1bf460
0xUNKNOWN  @ 47b07c:1bf438
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a508:1bf418
0x0001BBF8 @ 12d74:1bf308
0x00001900 @ 1bcd0:1bf2e0
0x0044C468 @ 44c4ec:1bf2a8

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2017Sep30.100D101
Mercurial changeset   : d85e97b54bd2+ (100D_merge_fw101) tip
Built on 2017-09-30 12:45:05 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 584K + 2531K
 

   27Sep

ASSERT: FALSE
at ./LvCommon/LvJob.c:156, Evf:1bcd4
lv:1 mode:3

Evf stack: 1bf2a8 [1bf4b8-1be8b8]
0xUNKNOWN  @ d090:1bf4b0
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a758:1bf488
0x0003A450 @ ff0d444c:1bf470
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a480:1bf460
0xUNKNOWN  @ 47b07c:1bf438
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a508:1bf418
0x0001BBF8 @ 12d74:1bf308
0x00001900 @ 1bcd0:1bf2e0
0x0044C468 @ 44c4ec:1bf2a8

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2017Sep27.100D101
Mercurial changeset   : c796fbbbc446+ (100D_merge_fw101) tip
Built on 2017-09-27 00:21:23 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 559K + 2301K


   15Sep

ASSERT: FALSE
at ./LvCommon/LvJob.c:156, Evf:1bcd4
lv:1 mode:3

Evf stack: 1bf2a8 [1bf4b8-1be8b8]
0xUNKNOWN  @ d090:1bf4b0
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a758:1bf488
0x0003A450 @ ff0d444c:1bf470
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a480:1bf460
0xUNKNOWN  @ 47b07c:1bf438
0xUNKNOWN  @ 3a508:1bf418
0x0001BBF8 @ 12d74:1bf308
0x00001900 @ 1bcd0:1bf2e0
0x0044C468 @ 44c4ec:1bf2a8

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2017Sep15.100D101
Mercurial changeset   : 9f943d913581+ (100D_merge_fw101) tip
Built on 2017-09-15 13:12:38 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 584K + 2531K
 
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 100D / SL1 (Beta-4b)
« Reply #749 on: September 30, 2017, 10:15:45 PM »
                     @DeafEyeJedi

           Is there anything else I need to provide?
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)