Author Topic: Canon 100D / SL1  (Read 327524 times)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1525 on: January 10, 2019, 05:37:29 PM »
   All seems fine "til I press Rec, then View Screen fills with garbled horizontal stripes & freezes, in 2.5k the Rec occasionally will continue & a file is created but it is just the Frozen View Screen that is recorded. View Screen stays frozen & going to Canon Menu & back will not UnFreeze, have to turn Crop Mode Off to UnFreeze - Occasionally SL1 will Soft Brick > That may be @ Higher K choices
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1526 on: January 10, 2019, 05:49:32 PM »
Also, Do get crash rep's if You can glean anything from them.

Also2, Tried the latest crop_rec.mo that You put up on Your Downloads & it will not Load. Maybe is not for SL1?
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1527 on: January 10, 2019, 05:55:09 PM »
Not for sl1.
You can upload what you got.
I cannot reproduce. It goes like this. When resolution and mode is set it will record just fine. That is you should double check that correct resolution is also set in raw video. If not there will be issues.

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1528 on: January 10, 2019, 06:13:02 PM »
"When resolution and mode is set it will record just fine."
That is why I asked that someone Please show 'Setup' info ~

With Crop Mode set to 2.5K 2520x1418 & Raw vid set to 2520, Raw vid displays 2520x1072 & all I can Rec is about 1.5 Secs
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1529 on: January 10, 2019, 06:21:20 PM »
With all bells and whistles? 10bit, sd_uhs hack etc?

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1530 on: January 10, 2019, 06:58:19 PM »
" With all bells and whistles? 10bit, sd_uhs hack etc? "

10bit ?    > Yes ~

sd_uhs ? > Yes ~

all bells and whistles? > Not Sure, as I'm Not Sure I Know just what All Bells & Whistles I'm supposed to have Turned On & Set To ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1531 on: January 10, 2019, 07:14:17 PM »
2cents from Me >

   If & When all this Fine Work that You are attempting to do for us becomes Fully Functional / Useful, it might be nice for the Res Choices to be accessible via the "av" menu so that the Main "Crop Mode" choice in the "Movie" menu can be used just as an On/Off switch
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1532 on: January 10, 2019, 08:11:33 PM »
The first preset seems not so good. Will check it later. The other ones should be the same as before.

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1534 on: January 10, 2019, 09:33:33 PM »
Attemps to use 3K, 4K,or 5k causes the View Screen to go Black with Diag' Rows of colored dots & No Rec can be accomplished

I'll give the New 2.5K a try in a moment
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1535 on: January 10, 2019, 09:43:31 PM »
New 2.5K Rec's less than 1 Sec
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1536 on: January 10, 2019, 09:47:11 PM »
Let's check tomorrow. What build works best?

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1537 on: January 10, 2019, 10:26:07 PM »
I guess I would have to say that the next to the Last worked better as it seemed to Rec about 1.5 sec's as opposed to way less than 1 ~ But I really can't recall that I have been able to get any of the "crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets" to work for Me & My SL1 > It is why I keep attempting to suggest that there must be some Setting or Settings that I am Unaware of that needs to be Set Differently ~ So I would recommend that You Not make changes in reaction to what I am running into until We can be sure I've got All "Settings" Set Properly ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

theBilalFakhouri

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1538 on: January 10, 2019, 11:04:06 PM »
@OlRivrRat

Are you using Framing preview in mlv_lite? This can cause dropping in write speed. Try to use Frozen LV and disable overlays and run sd overclock in photo mode.

In 10 bit lossless with sd overclock you should get at least 3 seconds. I am getting it in 3072x1302 2.35:1 @ 23.976 FPS in 700D . I don't use Framing preview while recording in this cases.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1539 on: January 11, 2019, 05:58:47 AM »
      @ BilalF

mlv_lite no longer appears in Movie Menu so have no choices there, sd_uhs set to load automatically on Start
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

IDA_ML

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1540 on: January 11, 2019, 11:08:21 AM »
For those of you who wish to check out the quality of the 3x1 5k crop mode on the 100D and try to remove the focus dots, here are two shortened MLVs shot at the 3792x710 resolution (16:9) at 10bits lossless:

https://we.tl/t-bCRFQu1Ips

Shot on Danne's January 10-th build.

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1541 on: January 11, 2019, 05:10:22 PM »
      @ BilalF

   However, in the "RAW video" menu there is a "Preview" choice but it is Grayed Out & trying any of it's settings

changes nothing
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1542 on: January 11, 2019, 05:21:23 PM »
             @ IDA_ML

Could You Please share Your "Settings"
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1543 on: January 12, 2019, 02:19:10 AM »
Tried the 11Jan Build > Can't get it to work either > WHAT AM I DOING WRONG ??
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5019
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1544 on: January 12, 2019, 09:41:49 AM »
I don't get it. What do you mean by not working? Suggestion. Set sub menu to 9 or 10bit, then add your chosen preset. Enter canon menu and back. Hit magnifying button to x5 or x1. Doublecheck the resolution with garbage can button. If it looks like a match with preset then record a file. If not, redo the steps until working.

IDA_ML

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 574
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1545 on: January 12, 2019, 09:50:13 AM »
             @ IDA_ML

Could You Please share Your "Settings"

All my settings are described in detail in my post #1507.  Please read them carefully and set them as described.

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1546 on: January 12, 2019, 01:41:02 PM »
Tried the latest build yesterday, it works great for me! I get 5K, but only a few seconds with framing preview on. Is there any chance to implement a feature that temporarily gives you realtime preview by holding the down button? I know we can switch between preview modes by pressing half shutter, but it does not work correctly with realtime preview option.

Now, I'm no programmer, but as far as I understand, you guys somehow "hijack" a raw stream for crop_rec, right? And thus, the real time preview does not work. Is there any chance to use a button wich is not used during liveview to directly switch between raw streams? Like, as long as I press the down button on the right dial I get a raw stream, wich offers real time preview for things like setting correct focus and exposure and once I let go it goes back to the raw stream for crop_rec.

And for post production: There is need for new focuspixel maps, right? I might be able to get you guys some MLVs in different resolutions, modes etc to create these new maps. Just let me know what you need (and I will of course look at the focuspixel thread).
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3511
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1547 on: January 12, 2019, 07:59:07 PM »
There is need for new focuspixel maps, right?

Some of these new resolutions are not showing focus pixels but if the one you really want to use has focus pixels all over it, this post explains how to create a map file. Once you have some MLV's that show focus pixels clearly please share them on the Dealing with Focus Pixels in raw video. Note that with mlv_dump you can trim down the files to only one or two frames which makes for quicker up/downloads. (Hum--if you need a newer or a Mac version of mlv_dump you can get it from my downloads page.)

I'll help with the map files when I get around to it and once we settle down on which of the new crop_rec resolutions we're going to keep.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1548 on: January 13, 2019, 06:11:58 AM »
      @IDA_ML

   Your Post 1507 contains almost No Settings Info & that which is there is Vague. What I would like to have happen is for someone for whom this is functioning to Upload the "Settings" Folder from the "ML" Folder on Their SD Card so that all ML "Settings" can be Seen & Applied on the Cam they are plugged into. I, Apparently have some Setting Somewhere Set Incorrectly but have no clue what it might be due to the fact that there are no Instructions Anywhere in this Forum as to what all the Settings Should Be to make this work ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
Re: Canon 100D / SL1
« Reply #1549 on: January 13, 2019, 06:30:32 AM »
      @Danne

   Using the Bits & Pieces of Setup info that I have gotten from IDA_ML & You I'm still not able to get anything other than a Few Frames > Way under 1/2Sec, of Garbled Stuff .
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML.111B(DEAD)