Most effecient RAW post process for interiors with white balance issues

Started by jbggump, November 07, 2015, 09:46:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jbggump

Hey there,
I have been doing interiors videos for about two years now, but only just recently decided to start shooting RAW instead of dual ISO.  For me, it is all about workflow, as I am always on a same day turn around time crunch.  So, what I do now is this:

Convert to DNG with Rawmagic (could use other program...not married to that)
Open all in Davinci 12 Lite - set all to BND. 
On second monitor (this changed my workflow speed drastically), open a DNG from each folder and get white balance using white balance tool from ACR
Input those numbers into WB in Davinci
Export WB corrected .MOV and open in Premiere. 
I have found a setting via Magic Bullet that I can make files look realistic, so copy a sharpen, noise, and magic bullet setting to all clips.
Export final video. 

In the above workflow, the only thing that I am having to adjust each clip individually is the WB via ACR and Davinci...everything else is basically a batch.  Keep in mind that these videos are not super high end real estate videos and people aren't paying for that.  This is the only one I have done this way so far (http://tinyurl.com/3115Cornwall) and the interiors start around 45 second mark (I know it is a little jumpy on the pan of the exterior).  I realize that I probably need to brighten the whole video some...I am using a new iMac and the screen is amazingly bright compared to other screens (even my 2013 macbook pro).  If you are interested, here is one where I used dual iso video and not RAW...not on every scene, but many of the kitchen scenes, and it just looks a little muddy and I can never get the colors right.  http://tinyurl.com/12412AngelFalls