Can not get ML to run on my brand new T3i

Started by evnewsphoto, July 21, 2012, 05:14:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

evnewsphoto

Hello, I am a newbie to DSLRs and come from video cameras, 17 years in TV news and 1 year in Production. I just bought a Cannon T3i and a BeachTek DXA-SLR Active DSLR Adapter w/Built-in Preamp for audio (using Sennhiser shotgun and EV lav- Sennhiser wireless too) and I want to add ML so I can at the very least see my audio levels while I record, but no luck. I have followed the instructions on the website in the video posted there, copy all the contents of ML to root of folder and take out battery, start on manual and update firmware... It says updating, then the LCD goes dark and the red light at the bottom corner (read/write to card light correct?) blinks, this is all it does and it will do this for the most I let it go was 20mins. I take out the battery and put it back and it comes back on with no issues and works fine, but no ML. Has Cannon disabled ML with thier latest Firmware? Like I said it's brand new. I am forgeting something? And yes I have tried to run it from 3 different cards. I am baffeled as to what I am doing wrong. Thanks for any help, Everett McEwan in Denver

jbuy41

What files do you show that you download to the card?  You did format the card in the camera?  Is the camera cleared of all settings and set on M? 

Francis

What version is the firmware on your camera and what version of Magic Lantern are you trying to install?

Daniel

my T3i had firmware 1.0.1, but it was not the right one. so I had to download the 1.0.1 firmware from a vimeo group to get Magic Lantern to run.
current: 70D 112
old cameras: T3i, T1i

evnewsphoto

Quote from: Daniel on July 21, 2012, 10:26:17 AM
my T3i had firmware 1.0.1, but it was not the right one. so I had to download the 1.0.1 firmware from a vimeo group to get Magic Lantern to run.