Author Topic: Canon 6D  (Read 682075 times)

Davidblumenfeld

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #250 on: November 19, 2015, 08:51:21 PM »
Hi.

Just downloaded 6d firmware. Noticed there is no Audio - Is this correct, or did I miss it?  (I'm used to using ML of 5d MarkII...Thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #251 on: November 19, 2015, 08:52:49 PM »
Audio is there but
Top of page -> Downloads -> Download nightly builds -> Features -> Audio section

Davidblumenfeld

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #252 on: November 20, 2015, 10:36:46 AM »
I See. So we can see the meters, but can't adjust gain via ML, like in the 5d MII...is this correct?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #253 on: November 20, 2015, 10:41:10 AM »
Correct. Applies to all cams with DIGIC 5.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #254 on: November 20, 2015, 10:51:04 AM »
The 6d has standard build in option to manually set the gain in canon menu.
So in the canon audio menu, you can control gain manually.

ricky_005

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #255 on: November 21, 2015, 02:58:08 AM »
I have seen videos on YouTube using focus stack bracketing and it will calculate the number of pics that will be take in the bracket based off your step setting between pictures. I have the latest build but it does not show this calculation. I am having to take the total steps in the bracket, than divided the number of steps between pictures to get number so I can input the number of pic's to be taken.


What am I doing something wrong here, or is this calculation not available on the 6D?

djkraq

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #256 on: November 24, 2015, 04:54:29 AM »
Has anyone been able to use focus peaking while recording in RAW?  Seems like I can't make this happen...

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #257 on: November 24, 2015, 07:17:18 AM »
No overlays at all or just focus peaking?
None: Movie tab -> RAW video (MLV) -> Global Draw ON

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #258 on: November 24, 2015, 10:06:33 PM »
@ricky_005: You're still with us?

djkraq

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #259 on: November 28, 2015, 06:30:16 AM »
Thank you for your quick response.  Just Focus Peaking.  Wow.  I'm usually hanging out on the FL Studio Forums.  My first love is music production.  Anywho, I leave Clear Overlays "Off" and turn on "Global Draws".  It seems that it comes and goes randomly, but for the most part, it goes.  I have to toggle Live View On and Off to bring it back sometimes.  It is not very consistent.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #260 on: November 28, 2015, 09:47:04 AM »

széna

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #261 on: November 28, 2015, 06:29:12 PM »
Hi All,
I need some help please.

1, I updated my canon factory firmware from 1.13 to 1.1.6
2, I Formated the SD card and copied the 3 pieces of ML 116 file
3, I updated canon factory firmware 1.1.6 to ML 116

It's wrote - It's DONE - please restart... etc...

I restarted but there is the canon menu again! No any ML menu only changed the SD slot red led flash in every 5-10 second...

What is the problem?

Thank you!
-széna

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #262 on: November 28, 2015, 06:44:59 PM »
Press trashcan button after startup.

széna

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #263 on: November 28, 2015, 07:07:24 PM »
... :)

THX!

OK, I'm a beginer - I think it's a really useful information for beginers. It should to write the end of the install info maybe... :)

Thank you again Walter!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8334
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #264 on: November 28, 2015, 07:08:45 PM »
FAQ + Install Guide. See top of page.

széna

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #265 on: November 28, 2015, 07:18:59 PM »
Hello again... :)

No RAW video option in my video menu. What I do wrong?
SD card is sandisk ultra 32 mb/s 80mb/s - is it enought?

THX!
-széna

keepersdungeon

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #266 on: November 28, 2015, 07:21:24 PM »
Hello again... :)

No RAW video option in my video menu. What I do wrong?
SD card is sandisk ultra 32 mb/s 80mb/s - is it enought?

THX!
-széna
Activate the module mlv_rec in modules then restart the cam.  Make sure u activate the mlv_play for playback

Pronin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #267 on: November 29, 2015, 07:45:10 PM »
Audio track (recorded with in camera mic) gets out of sync with video quite often on 6D when Use SRM Job Memory & Extra Hacks are enabled for MLV RAW recording.
Anyone else noticing this behavior?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #268 on: November 29, 2015, 10:35:23 PM »
Only thing I notice is that the audiotrack is slightly longer then the video track.
But if you trim of the end of the audio to match videolength it's perfectly in sync.

Pronin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #269 on: November 30, 2015, 01:28:04 AM »
In my case it's worse - last seconds of audio track play in the beginning with the "actual" audio beginning somewhere in the middle of the video clip.

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #270 on: November 30, 2015, 02:29:55 AM »
Upload a sample MLV file that exhibits the problem.

Pronin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #271 on: November 30, 2015, 04:09:25 AM »
Uploaded a 27 seconds long clip in both MLV (825MB) and MOV (373MB) formats that conveys the out of sync issue really well.
Counting duration seconds:
https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0BzDJkyUbS4xgR2RJZ0hscWtmVk0&usp=sharing


Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #272 on: November 30, 2015, 07:44:33 AM »
Ah the audio is messed up. Been there...
Depends on your software choice for MLV.
Mlrawviewer messes up my sound.
I'm using mlv_dump on OSX, this gives normal wav files.

Pronin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #273 on: November 30, 2015, 02:16:58 PM »
Levas, thanks for the tip. It's the mlrawviewer in deed that is at fault. I tried RawFlow (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13338.0) for the same MLV file, and it extracted the audio with no out-of-sync issue.

Eyuris

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.6
« Reply #274 on: December 01, 2015, 12:01:43 PM »
Just asking since i am still a little unsure how I should go about it.

I installed magic lantern a long time back on my 6D with the 1.1.3 firmware.

But how do I update the firmware and magic lantern?

Sorry if it have been asked before.