Author Topic: Canon 6D  (Read 508499 times)

Contra8bit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1250 on: July 06, 2020, 10:43:20 PM »
Strange, lazy all in one build should give the same results as 160Mhz in the new build. Are you sure you did a camera restart after you changed settings, for example from 240Mhz to 192Mhz?
If you change settings in new sd_uhs menu, you have to restart camera.
Yes, I restarted camera after all changes. Checked again and there are same results. When flushing buffer (after recording stops) it clearly visible - frames recording slower than without sd_uhs. But again, it happens only  with my old good Sony microSD. With new Sandisk extreme pro works fine.

BTW is there chance to change exposure in crop_rec mode 50fps? In Image fine-tuning > Shutter fine-tuning. I cannot set 1/96 for 48 fps or 1/100 for 50fps.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1251 on: July 06, 2020, 11:50:09 PM »
I’m not very familiar with that function, never use it. But I expect that it alters the sensor read out timing registers (A and B timers)  And if that’s the case, it doesn’t work in combination with crop_rec module, because those registers are fixed in the presets.
Will take a look at it.

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1252 on: July 07, 2020, 11:20:10 PM »
Still, could be a good preset, no stretching in post, 16:9 aspect ratio, but 'just' 40fps.
if possible without skipping lines, this will be an interesting and very high-quality video :)

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1253 on: July 08, 2020, 12:32:47 PM »
BTW is there chance to change exposure in crop_rec mode 50fps? In Image fine-tuning > Shutter fine-tuning. I cannot set 1/96 for 48 fps or 1/100 for 50fps.

Image fine-tuning > Shutter fine-tuning won't work when crop_rec module preset is used.
Both make use of overriding A and B timer registers, where crop_rec module preset seems to be the one overruling the other.

But tested with the latest uploaded build, I can get the following shutter times in 50fps preset.
With shutter value set to 'original' (option in crop_rec submenu, q button when you're in crop_rec menu) I can get these values:
1/64 - 1/84 - 1/100
With shutter value set to 'full range' I can get these shutter values.
1/50 - 1/65 - 1/78 - 1/100

Are you sure, you can't get 1/100th ?

Oh wait, to my amazemend, I see the FPS override option does really override FPS, even when crop_rec module preset is used.
There I couldn't get 1/48 or 1/96 shutter speed when overriding to 48fps.
But it's not a good idea to use FPS override in combination with crop_rec module, probably works for slowing down (from 50 to lower fps).
I expect no problems when lowering fps, but I'm not 100% sure though  ???
I expect overriding it to faster fps, will result in corrupted frames, because most presets have very little headroom for highering fps/resolution.


Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1254 on: July 08, 2020, 12:38:34 PM »
if possible without skipping lines, this will be an interesting and very high-quality video :)

There will still be skipping lines, but the mode is the same as normal 1824x1026 raw recording. (3x3 (horizontal binning, vertical lineskipping, no stretching needed)
For absolutely no lineskipping and pixelbinning, you should try the 48fps preset that is in the 1:1 pixel readout crop preset.
There is a preset in there 1840x908 @ 48 fps (no need to switch camera to 720p mode) only caveat, crop factor is about 3x.
So your 35 mm lens will become about 100 mm  :P

I'm working at a new structure for high fps modes.
The same like I did for 1:1 and 3:1 readout presets.
I want to have all fast fps under one preset, with resolution and fps options in a submenu.
This way I could easily add more fast fps presets, like 48/50/60 fps options and also max resolution in 40fps etc.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1255 on: July 08, 2020, 05:46:26 PM »
Ok, cleaned up the menu system.
Now there's a preset for use in Canon 720p video mode.
Be sure to use these new 720P presets with the camera in 720p video mode (tested in PAL mode, might work in NTSC).
If tried to use in 1080p mode, your camera might lockup, mirror goes down and camera doesn't respond to buttons, in that case, pull out the battery and retry again in the correct video mode  :P
In the submenu, there can be selected these presets:


Some presets have some sort of working Canon liveview, others have scrambled live view and the 72 and 75 fps have frozen Canon liveview.
So you might want to use these with the option in raw video menu, 'preview' set to 'framing' instead of 'real-time'.
So you have ML framing preview visible.
Sometimes the presets don't load on the first time(you gets scrambled or not working ML framing preview), in that case, pressing the 'menu' button on camera twice, might help.
Be sure you have a working ML preview before hitting the record button, to be sure you're getting good raw recording.

Here's the complete build, if already using one of my previous versions, you might swap only the crop_rec module file.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1B2W3RW1xoDVXj5fPehp-FcTlmya6Rd6H/view?usp=sharing

Enjoy testing  :D

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1256 on: July 09, 2020, 01:26:05 PM »
good work Levas! Thank. Presets work. Overclocking the card showed the best results at 240MHz. I noticed a flickering screen when playing a video with a high frame rate on the camera screen. there are no artifacts in postprocessing. Special thanks for the 1024x634 mode at 50fps. Tell me. Where to look for the crop mode 1824x818 50 frames per second? there is a feeling that he is one of the best.

Contra8bit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1257 on: July 09, 2020, 08:37:48 PM »
Tried new 720p presets.
1704x958
1672x940
and 3 bottom in the list not displayed in live view (there artifacts), but record works fine.
And If you turn off the camera, applied 1824x904 48fps by default.
Also with shutter value set to 'full range' shutter speed works fine. Thank you!

sparvier

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1258 on: July 11, 2020, 10:57:31 AM »
Hi everybody!

I own a Canon EOS 6D and a couple of months ago installed Magic Lantern.

I discovered a Whole New World!!! Thank you to all guys at Magic Lantern and to @Levas for your incredible work!

There are a lot of things I still don't understand very well but...

this morning I managed to get stable 1920x1038 pixel in 1:1 crop with Nightly.2020Jul05.6D116 (in the meanwhile another nightly build was out...) and without using sd hack.

Thank you again: I'll report errors if I find them!


 

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1259 on: July 11, 2020, 11:17:55 AM »
There are a few high speed presets in 1:1 pixel readout presets, all presets in here don't use pixelbinning or lineskipping.
Although there is no 50fps one in there at the moment, there are 48 and 60fps presets in there, if you want to see how the quality is.

Quote
And If you turn off the camera, applied 1824x904 48fps by default.

Oh wait, this preset choice isn't saved when camera is switched off, easy fix for the next build.

Important, I also found out that the 2596x1404@25fps preset has corrupted frames through the whole recording  ??? never noticed it in previously build, so have to look at that.
So be sure to check your favorite presets, before using it for important recordings  :P

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1645
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1260 on: July 16, 2020, 06:34:43 PM »
New build, small fixes
https://drive.google.com/file/d/128mnuStzJcuCa71pmnPl6XOuwVB_LNKr/view?usp=sharing

Found what was wrong with the 1:1 2496x1404@25fps preset (head 4 timer wasn't set, so stayed at last used preset setting or at startup at Canon setting).
So fixed, and lowered resolution to 2480x1396@25fps to have some more headroom.
And 720p preset choice is saved when camera is switched off, just like the other settings.

 


Contra8bit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1261 on: July 17, 2020, 05:01:15 PM »
Is there possibility for 1 (0.5, 0.25, etc) fps preset for timelapse? Can't find one or working with FPS override function. EOS M has that thing  :)

yourboylloyd

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
  • Sigma 35 Art = best lens hands down. Fight me
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1262 on: July 17, 2020, 07:05:47 PM »
Do you have the fps optimized for low light?

Contra8bit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1263 on: July 17, 2020, 10:34:37 PM »
Do you have the fps optimized for low light?
No, I set Exact FPS. Seems it works in optimized for low light mode. Thanks!
Still  I can't figure how to change exposure in low fps. There are lot of hot pixels with long exposure.

later
And now tried high resolution crop modes (3840 x 1920), preview isn't work (even without FPS override). Don't figure what I did wrong.

shhd

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1264 on: August 01, 2020, 04:43:21 PM »
Hello all
Please help me choose
I decided to buy 5Diii or 6D
I am interested in the video more than the pictures
6D has a continuous focus while 5D iii does not have a continuous focus
Does the continuous focus work on ML
I ask those with knowledge and experience to help me make a decision because I do not know how these cameras handle ML
I apologize if the place is wrong
I just wanted the owners of the camera to help me so I wrote here

Contra8bit

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1265 on: August 04, 2020, 04:13:27 PM »
6D haven't continuous focus for video at all. Its not dual pixel model
As I know, 5dm3 better cause it has build in aliasing filter and other stuff. Look here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/16cgnRivbUv7nA9PUlCLmLdir3gXdIN3pqzCNAAybepc/edit#gid=5
btw comparison not 100% actual. Info about write speed, max resolution continuous etc. 6d can record 60+mb/s, 24fps non stop in max resolution or 60fps 2.39:1 CONTINUOUS not problem at all.

David_Hugh

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1266 on: August 06, 2020, 10:55:31 PM »
There will still be skipping lines, but the mode is the same as normal 1824x1026 raw recording. (3x3 (horizontal binning, vertical lineskipping, no stretching needed)
For absolutely no lineskipping and pixelbinning, you should try the 48fps preset that is in the 1:1 pixel readout crop preset.
There is a preset in there 1840x908 @ 48 fps (no need to switch camera to 720p mode) only caveat, crop factor is about 3x.
So your 35 mm lens will become about 100 mm  :P

I'm working at a new structure for high fps modes.
The same like I did for 1:1 and 3:1 readout presets.
I want to have all fast fps under one preset, with resolution and fps options in a submenu.
This way I could easily add more fast fps presets, like 48/50/60 fps options and also max resolution in 40fps etc.

But isn't the 720p mode much nicer to begin with in terms of moire and aliasing? Could this preset be tuned to 24/25 fps in theory, or is that too low to be stable?

Awesome work on the new presets by the way!

WeakestLinkForNow

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1267 on: August 08, 2020, 08:34:37 AM »
Time to ask.

5d mk iii vs 6d in terms of sharpness using the same lens...which one is better?

In 5dm3 is there 14bit in 3.5k mode and do I need a monitor to not see purple lines on the camera screen?
In 6d is there 14 above 2.5k mode?