Author Topic: Canon 6D  (Read 519535 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1200 on: April 25, 2020, 06:41:38 PM »
Display tab/screen -> LV Display Gain

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1201 on: April 25, 2020, 08:14:04 PM »
@Alexboum
I put the 3840x2160x10fps back in the crop_rec module.
You can download the module file from my google drive:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xlmsTMnIpLi5_Rr0JaW-pDi0nB9Mr03Q

Replace this module file with the module file in the lazy build on your SD card( ML/MODULES directory ) and it should work.
The 3840x2160 mode is for use in 5x zoom mode, if you use it in 1x zoom you probably get corrupted frames.

Curious to hear if you can get good results with Adobe optical flow or twixtor with this 3840x2160x10fps preset.
I only know Blackmagic Davinci Resolve optical flow, it's a bit of a hit or mis. On some footage it works great, on some it doesn't.

Thanks a lot Levas, preset works fine (No LV), my SFCard is too slow for 4K14Bit LL so I test it with 3K 16:9 10FPS (~45MB/s) (No aliasing). Camera is hand helded. It's not really natural but smooth enough.
OpticalFlow can be really good if the mouvement are slow and smooth, so stabiliser or tripod are needed to have good result. But I think it could be good for interview or Landscape footage.
On Youtube there is some good 50% slowmo at 24 fps so I assume it is possible to achieve good "normalmo" at 12fps.

PS: Resolution can be override on the preset.

https://youtu.be/Ffgc6Y8y09o

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1202 on: April 25, 2020, 10:01:58 PM »
Couldn't get normal liveview working, not sure why. ML preview works fine though.
The 10 fps to 24 fps youtube link, not bad, but you can see the motion of the cat is a little unnatural.
10 fps to 24 fps is probably too much for most situations.
Think I'm gonna add some more crop_rec presets this week to it.

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1203 on: April 25, 2020, 10:41:28 PM »
The 10 fps to 24 fps youtube link, not bad, but you can see the motion of the cat is a little unnatural. 10 fps to 24 fps is probably too much for most situations.

I agree with you 10fps is an extreme case.

Think I'm gonna add some more crop_rec presets this week to it.
It would be great! But 10Fps can still be useful in some situation as 5K 2.5FPS ;).
Thanks again. Take care.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1204 on: April 26, 2020, 07:45:25 PM »
Updated Crop_rec again.

I managed to get 2560x1440 at 24 (23.994) fps working  :D
Edit: oh crap  ??? I see there is a 12 pixel wide black border on the rights side of the frame...A timer set to tight, not sure if there is room to fix this  :(
Edit: Fixed it at the cost of fps speed, now it's 2560x1440 at 24 (23.952) fps, still counts as 24fps right  :P

Did try that before but just couldn't reach the needed resolution without corrupted frames.
But after a little fiddling and finetuning registers 713c and 7150 I managed to get it to work, even got working canon liveview 5x zoom.
There is absolutely no room for more resolution in this preset, not even 2562x1440 would work  :P

And I added a 3072x1728 x 16fps mode (maybe 16 fps can become 24 fps with optical flow)
Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work with canon 5x liveview, so you need ML preview for this preset.

The new crop_rec file, which can be replaced with the crop_rec file in the lazy build:
(For everyone who wants to try, this file doesn't work with the standard nightly build on the download page, you need one of the latest 6d builds, links can be found earlier in this topic)
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1sT1ylUscb1OfTUM96laDAx5hVlW5PII_

At the moment I'm only adding some presets for 6d, nothing ground breaking, didn't touch any other code.
Source of the crop_rec can be found here:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1A0SPSp4fmmJV22vz_EDs2YHkEn3058jQ

To give you people an idea of what is possible and what is not possible with the 6d:

Canon specs for 6d fastest burst speed is 4.5 fps, 5472 x 3648 x 4.5 = 89.8 megapixel per second.
So this probably gives the maximum speed the sensor can be read, 89.8 megapixel per second.

Now some presets I made:

2880 x 1200 x 25fps = 86.4 megapixel per second
2480 x 1396 x 25fps = 86.6 megapixel per second
2560 x 1440 x 24fps = 88.5 megapixel per second
3072 x 1728 x 16fps = 84.9 megapixel per second

So, as you can see, the above presets are about the max the 6d can do.
If you can think of any other resolution x fps combination you might like and it is within 88 megapixel per second, I can probably make a preset for it.
So any requests ?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1205 on: April 26, 2020, 08:00:31 PM »
my SFCard is too slow for 4K14Bit LL so I test it with 3K 16:9 10FPS (~45MB/s) (No aliasing). Camera is hand helded. It's not

Not sure, but did you know, you can enter submenu of crop_rec with the 'Q' button when you highlight crop_mode in ML menu ?
You can change the bit depth in there, from 14 bit(Off setting) to 12, 10, 9 or 8 bit.
Should give you longer recording times.

Quetzalcoalt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1206 on: April 27, 2020, 09:51:41 PM »
Hey Levas, i've downloaded your build from the last page (6D 1.1.6), and i wanted to test a sandisk 95mb/s card. Everything works, i get around 60mb/s but i wanted to bench it.
I took the bench module from the latest nightly build but i get some errors when i try to load it.
I also tried the other way around, installing the nightly and getting the sd module from your build. Still doesn't work, but i get a different error.
The error appears only when the sd module is on, if it's off there are no problems.
I've already did a clean install on your module and i forgot to write down the error i got. But if you need it i can provide it.
I guess both modules are not compatible. Do you have the modules that will work together ?
Also is there a guide on building custom crop recording presets ? I wanted to see what is the max res i can do at 30fps.
50fps at 1824x818 is super!
Thanks!

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1207 on: April 28, 2020, 10:54:21 AM »
Updated Crop_rec again.

And I added a 3072x1728 x 16fps mode (maybe 16 fps can become 24 fps with optical flow)
Unfortunately I couldn't get it to work with canon 5x liveview, so you need ML preview for this preset.


Great I will check it today, I already love the 16fps :) . No other request for the moment :P

Not sure, but did you know, you can enter submenu of crop_rec with the 'Q' button when you highlight crop_mode in ML menu ?
You can change the bit depth in there, from 14 bit(Off setting) to 12, 10, 9 or 8 bit.
Should give you longer recording times.

 8) Thanks, no I didn't think to go in this submenu, only try the mlv_raw bitrate setting but only 14 bit were available.
Thanks a lot for the new preset.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1208 on: May 03, 2020, 12:50:01 PM »
Found a problem while using dual-iso in combination with crop_rec presets, see this post for more information:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.msg226389#msg226389

The problem is not very apparent in developed dual-iso files, but it is there, slightly color difference between frames, once you see it, you can't unsee it  :P
Found a way to fix this, so here's an updated crop_rec module file, to replace your old ones with, only works with the newer builds posted recently in this topic, doesn't work with the nightly builds.
New crop_rec module file:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=10o2StQq83_9H2bk1azkcbHEqcTAzefaD
Source crop_rec.c file, for those interested:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Xgv5NfesimMHPBprhEcHv8vFYQ23Nj90

Also updated the 1x3 modes, 1616x2048x25fps and 1640x2156x24fps.
They now show you stretched ML preview and if opened in MLVapp, they're automatically stretched to normal view.

Link to MLVapp:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=20025.0
So never been easier to record 4848x2048 resolution or 4920x2156 resolution on the 6d  :D


Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6854
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1209 on: May 03, 2020, 12:55:05 PM »
You know you can fix the 1x3 stretched preview in cam too? I mean in mlv_play while watching a recorded file. Fixed on eosm.

Did you go through all your presets to fix the dual iso issue?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1210 on: May 03, 2020, 01:05:31 PM »
Yup, did go through all my presets, it's not that much of work, you put something behind the B-timer in your presets that you can change from the advanced menu in crop_rec.
Code: [Select]
        case 0xC0F06014: return 0x88b + delta_debugging;
Enable dual-iso and ML-preview and see if lines/bars are static or not, if not go to advanced menu and make delta_debugging one unit higher (or lower) and check ML-preview.
Repeat until problem is solved.
The problem should be fixed within 4 units of the B-timer.

I've got ML preview working for 1x3 modes, playback in mlv_play is not unstretched, how did you fix that ?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6854
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1211 on: May 03, 2020, 01:16:21 PM »
Not by my computer. Could you drop mlv_play code from my branch into yours and you'll see the buffer fix in source tree.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1212 on: May 03, 2020, 01:20:40 PM »
Ah so the fix is done in MLV_play module.Thanks will check the source.

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1213 on: May 03, 2020, 10:17:40 PM »
Levas
Thanks for the development! The new 1440 crop mode works very well. I can record raw video for 10-15 seconds 12-14 bit losless. But the preview does not work (Half Press). The frame width is much larger than x5. it's great. sorry for my english

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1214 on: May 03, 2020, 11:45:44 PM »
The 5x zoom liveview is indeed not correct framing, much smaller.
If you don't see ML-preview on half-shutter press, you probably need to push the 'info' button on your camera a few times.
With the 'info' button you normally get different overlays on liveview from Canon, like horizontal level meter or histogram and stuff, but it blocks ML-preview.
So try pressing the 'info' button until half-shutter press gives you ML-preview with correct framing.

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1215 on: May 04, 2020, 11:10:42 AM »
The 5x zoom liveview is indeed not correct framing, much smaller.
If you don't see ML-preview on half-shutter press, you probably need to push the 'info' button on your camera a few times.
With the 'info' button you normally get different overlays on liveview from Canon, like horizontal level meter or histogram and stuff, but it blocks ML-preview.
So try pressing the 'info' button until half-shutter press gives you ML-preview with correct framing.
thank. I noticed today that the preview (half-press) in cropping mode does not work with the connected external monitor.  maybe fix it somehow? 

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1216 on: May 04, 2020, 09:14:24 PM »
But the preview does not work (Half Press). The frame width is much larger than x5. it's great. sorry for my english
Preview works great, did you set in RawVideo menu : Preview<=Framing? Or aren't you talking about Liveview (view while recording)

1X3 is really sharp compare to 3x3, but  I can olny record few seconds (because of my SD) with 10bit 2:1 ratio (bitrate ~ 59MB/s):
https://youtu.be/4nl6N2bHGwE
Dual ISO is smooth too:
https://youtu.be/jNgNw0Sn78s

It also open with the right ratio in MLVApp 8)
Thanks again for the new functionality.

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1217 on: May 05, 2020, 10:08:32 PM »
Preview works great, did you set in RawVideo menu : Preview<=Framing? Or aren't you talking about Liveview (view while recording)
I'm talking about liveview in crop x5.  in this mode, the screen displays a much smaller frame field than it actually is.  To see the actual size of the recorded video, you must press the shutter button halfway.  but this doesn’t work with an external monitor connected :( By the way, here is my video where half the frames were shot in crop rec mode 2560x1440 24fps x5 crop. I really like the new features of my camera.

Quetzalcoalt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1218 on: May 06, 2020, 03:27:11 PM »
To give a more simpler option to new people, I've uploaded the build I'm using myself.
It has all the modules needed and activated for raw recording.
...

Hey Levas, i've downloaded your build from the last page (6D 1.1.6), and i wanted to test a sandisk 95mb/s card. Everything works, i get around 60mb/s but i wanted to bench it.
I took the bench module from the latest nightly build but i get some errors when i try to load it.
I also tried the other way around, installing the nightly and getting the sd module from your build. Still doesn't work, but i get a different error.
The error appears only when the sd module is on, if it's off there are no problems.
I've already did a clean install on your module and i forgot to write down the error i got. But if you need it i can provide it.
I guess both modules are not compatible. Do you have the modules that will work together ?

Also is there a guide on building custom crop recording presets ? I really couldn't find on how to do it. I wanted to see what is the max res i can do at 30fps and at 50fps.
50fps at 1824x818 is super and i wanna see if i can try and record continues or for 1-2 minutes!
Thanks!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1219 on: May 06, 2020, 10:22:36 PM »
You probably need a benchmark module that's from the same Magic Lantern branch as the sd_uhs module.
Try this bench module:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1UM5v5fnLt0fMMw07cQWFJlBLJ6s0WTqp

Never used it, only tested it once today, seems to work.
But in case you see something strange or your camera acts weird, pull out the battery and restart the camera  :P

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1220 on: May 06, 2020, 10:28:31 PM »
Also is there a guide on building custom crop recording presets ? I really couldn't find on how to do it. I wanted to see what is the max res i can do at 30fps and at 50fps.
50fps at 1824x818 is super and i wanna see if i can try and record continues or for 1-2 minutes!
Thanks!

As far as I know, there is no guide for that.
But you need to be able to compile your own magic lantern files for that.
So download source code to your computer, alter the code, compile for use in camera.

But I'm working on a preset where you can alter the settings yourself in camera (if I can figure out all parts, some are more or less trial and error for me :P ).
So keep an eye on this forum for a new crop_rec module.

Quetzalcoalt

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1221 on: May 07, 2020, 12:04:40 PM »
You probably need a benchmark module that's from the same Magic Lantern branch as the sd_uhs module.
Try this bench module:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1UM5v5fnLt0fMMw07cQWFJlBLJ6s0WTqp

Never used it, only tested it once today, seems to work.
But in case you see something strange or your camera acts weird, pull out the battery and restart the camera  :P

:O it worked, I'm getting 38.4mb/s without the sd mod when camera is in movie mode at 720p @60. and 54.6 mb/s with the sd mod. I tried running the benchmark in photo mode and i got 68.6mb/s.
It's really interesting, why are we getting lower speeds in video mode ?
I guess there is no way to squeeze another 5mb/s in video mode, just so i can do the 50fps at 1824x818 continues.

will definitely be waiting for the custom presets crop module you are working on. !
Thanks!

EDIT: i saw some memory patches (not exactly sure what these are):
0xFF325A20: 0x92D47F0 -> 0xEA46A3A6 SD_UHS
0xFF325AA8: 0x59F7114 -> 0xEA46A394 SD_UHD
0xFF78F308: 0x92D40F8-> 0xEA34FD8C SDR104.

I guess these are that the sd hack module checks what is the max it can do and patches the values so that it uses slower OC on the controller or slower memory card mode.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1222 on: May 07, 2020, 09:40:17 PM »
 :D  :D  :D
Got something to play with.

New crop_rec build for 6d, with Custom Resolution preset, now you can dial in any resolution you like (The preset configures the corresponding max fps for that resolution).
The preset is made for use in 5x zoom and is 1:1 pixel readout.


Select the "Custom Resolution Experimental" crop preset from crop-rec menu.
After you selected the preset, you can enter crop_rec submenu with the [Q] button on your camera:


In here you can select Horizontal resolution (Goes from 1656 to 5472) and vertical resolution (goes from 640 to 3648)
Dial in any resolution you like and it probably works  ;D
Could be that there is a slightly difference between the resolution dialed in and the one selectable in RAW video menu (horizontal resolution can be 8 pixels difference  sometimes, and depending on the aspect ratio chosen, you may not see the full vertical video resolution, in that case choose another aspect ratio, like 1:2 or 1:1)

As you can see in the screenshot above, there is also a safetymargin setting, this is the overhead on the B-timer(coupled to vertical resolution).
A safety margin value of 64, seemed really robust to me. But in case you get some corrupted frames, you might want to try to increase this value.
The safety margin is directly coupled to B-timer, so it can be used to finetune fps. But if it is set to low, you might end up with corrupted frames.
Trial and error.
If your settings are too critical and you get corrupted frames (could just be only one corrupted frame at the beginning on your video file), you may start to see scrolling text on your display.
You can get rid of this text box on your display by going to debug menu and highlight 'show console' and press the 'set' button on your camera twice (turning camera off and on also helps, but the other action is slightly less annoying):


Now finally, here is the link to the module file:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1mJkTJlPMmckeyM84f06jCLQ2IPM1yU6Y
Updated version, with Canon liveview (Canon liveview works between Horizontal Resolutions range (1840 - 2880) and vertical resolutions range (908 - 3648)

For anyone interested, the source file:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1aBmQWSX6fDQRdtZwK-mApYjDPlEJyNBh
Updated version, with Canon liveview (Canon liveview works between Horizontal Resolutions range (1840 - 2880) and vertical resolutions range (908 - 3648)

Good to know, this preset is experimental, tested it myself, did get some camera lockups when accidentally recording in 1x zoom mode (error 70).
But haven't seen anything more worse then camera lockup (mirror suddenly goes down, and camera doesn't respond), which is fixed by pulling out the battery.
Re inserting the battery and turn on the camera again.

But With the safety margin of 64 (default setting) I think it is rather stable.
Now you might question and think about doing what all idiots would do with this tool...'How fast is the fps when the resolution is set to lowest possible settings'.
Well I can tell you that when 1656x640 is chosen as resolution, you get about 67fps.
Seems stable to me in 5xzoom (got lockup when accidentally recording in 1xzoom :P)


High resolution settings with slow fps, might give slow response in giving you ML preview. Could also be the case with low resolution settings with high fps.
In that case, just wait a few seconds, if that doesn't help, you might want to press the 'menu' button on your camera twice (this makes sure all registers are set to chosen value)

Real use for this preset could be finding a desired resolution for 30fps. In that case, you have to choose a resolution and see in ML preview how much fps that resolution is.
If you need more fps, you need to lower vertical or horizontal resolution.
When you have the desired fps, for instance 30 fps with a certain resolution, you can finetune your recording resolurtion in the Raw video menu. (by choosing proper aspect ratio and choosing the desired resolution(use top scroll wheel on your camera for small increment steps (8 pixel horizontal resolution).

EDIT: Canon liveview doesn't work in this extreme preset, you can make use of the ML-preview (see Raw video menu)
Furthermore, Whatever resolution is selected, horizontally, it always should be in the middle of the sensor, couldn't get vertical resolution in the middle, I believe it starts at the bottom of the sensor and goes up when resolution is increased.

EDIT 2: playing with it right now, think it works really well with framerates up to 30 fps. If you go higher then 30fps, it’s sort of hit or miss. Trying to find decent 50fps, but small lower part of the frames are corrupten. Seen this before with 75 and 100 fps experiments. Will see if I can fix this.
1656x640 at 67 fps works like a breeze though  :P

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1223 on: May 07, 2020, 10:53:20 PM »
It's so cool, now we can choose resolution and framerate (by using safetymargin setting) :D.
Thanks a lot!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1662
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 6D
« Reply #1224 on: May 08, 2020, 11:08:28 AM »
Some more about the new custom resolution experimental crop_rec preset:

I tested it some more now, and it seems really stable to me at resolutions which don't give more then 30fps.
Tried to find some nice 50fps setting yesterday, but couldn't get it to work, small lower part of the frames were corrupted...nothing new, high fps has always been a little tricky, will see if I can fix the same way I got 75 and 100fps to work.

If anyone experience any troubles with some settings, let me know and see if it is fixable...

At the moment, this preset is more like a proof of concept, I have some things in mind to implement.
-Try getting Canon liveview to work with this preset.
-Try getting the frame vertical centered on the sensor.
-Try getting high fps (>30fps) to work better, it's now a bit of a hit or miss, some settings work fine, others not.
-Try keeping the settings saved when camera is shutdown(should be possible, many ML settings are saved...no idea how I could do the same for this preset settings)