Author Topic: Intellegent Spotmeter  (Read 2259 times)

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
Intellegent Spotmeter
« on: April 01, 2015, 03:11:17 AM »
Forgive me if this has been requested before.

The current LV spotmeter says "Measure brightness from a small spot in the frame. " It says nothing about what small means, ie area.

As someone who uses a 1-deg spot meter a lot, I wonder if it is possible to give the spotmeter some intelligence.

By this I mean the user can tell ML, which assumes a 50mm lens is fitted, what the focal length of the actual lens is, and ML, which I assume is sampling the sensor LV feed, adjusts the spot area to the equivalent of a 1-deg spot.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12353
  • Emergencies only
Re: Intellegent Spotmeter
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2015, 07:45:41 AM »
The current LV spotmeter says "Measure brightness from a small spot in the frame. " It says nothing about what small means, ie area.

There is a small square on the screen - that's exactly where the metering is taken from.

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: Intellegent Spotmeter
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2015, 02:34:18 PM »
Alex

Thanks for comfirming that Alex.

Could you confirm the square's size for me.

Cheers

Garry

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3583
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Intellegent Spotmeter
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2015, 05:43:05 AM »

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1957
Re: Intellegent Spotmeter
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2015, 06:17:02 AM »
Seriously, I'm content with knowing its small, and much smaller than the Canon spot.

I wrote about it in my blog. http://photography.grayheron.net/2015/04/maybe-my-last-post-on-ml-based.html

Over and out  :)