Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3  (Read 167262 times)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #250 on: July 20, 2020, 03:58:39 AM »
Thank you, Danne, MLV App really does it, so no problem at all. Great program.

By the way, is it possible to get 5.5K anamorphic working at 25 fps?
Yes. There's a switch for 25 fps. You need to look in the menus.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #251 on: July 21, 2020, 08:46:31 PM »
I've got Sandisk Extreme Pro 120 GB 160 MB/s CF. Can shoot anamorphic 5K 25 fps continuously using card spanning. Fantastic. Never thought before that it can be possible. Just think: 5K @ 25 fps CONTINUOUSLY.

Benchmark shows 91 write for CF and 65 write for SD (Sandisk Extreme Pro 64 GB 170 MB/s). So total throughput would be approx. 156 MB/s? Is there any higher resolution mode? Can full frame 5.5K mode work at 24 fps?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #252 on: July 21, 2020, 09:32:48 PM »
Please read follow up posts regarding card spanning and caveats around it. I think this is more or less most we can get for 24fps:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25180.msg229197#msg229197
masc makes anamorphic shine on this one.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #253 on: July 21, 2020, 11:53:29 PM »
I'm deeply sorry, what build is this? And how to get that 5.7K mode?

Now I'm using crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020Jul14.5D3113 build.

Bender@arsch

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #254 on: July 22, 2020, 01:24:15 AM »
@Wlat81
Jul15 is the newest.

Simply set aspect Ratio to off and you will have the full 1920 = 5760. ;)

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #255 on: July 22, 2020, 12:09:06 PM »
Thank you, of course, but it shows multiple compression errors. Here is the log.

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2724 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

compress_task stack: 1ae530 [1ae5c0-1ad5c0]
0x0006A01C @ b4530c:1ae560
0x00069878 @ 6a084:1ae530

Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2020Jul14.5D3113
Mercurial changeset   : 8f38ee536de0 (crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets) tip
Built on 2020-07-14 19:22:57 UTC by danne@danands-MBP.
Free Memory  : 213K + 3073K

Bender@arsch

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #256 on: July 22, 2020, 12:41:19 PM »
@Wlad81
What settings are you use? Bit depth, fps, are you testing without global draw?
Is 5.4K anamorphic working (23.976fps) without card spanning? - > for me up to 14 bit continues.
Maybe fake CF card? Try UHD mode at 10 bit, 3840x1536, 23,976fps, with card spanning and global draw to off - > writespeed is up to 131mb/s possible with both cards, you can see the speed while recording.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #257 on: July 22, 2020, 01:06:38 PM »
Bit depth is 14 bit lossless, fps is 23.976 (tried 24.995, got even more compression errors), card spanning and sd_uhs are on. Global Draw was set to "Liveview". Set it to "On, all modes" - and no compression errors at 23.976 fps, but there are compression errors "-3" at 25 fps. This mode wasn't supposed to work with 25 fps?

No, the CF card is not fake.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #258 on: July 22, 2020, 01:09:37 PM »
No ratio is probably 24fps only with anamorphic. I didn't plan on using it at all.
Set bitdepth to 10 as well.
If you want more help it's always better if posting screen recordings. So many variables often missed with vague or almost no descriptions.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #259 on: July 22, 2020, 09:03:44 PM »
Still getting compression errors with fps=23.976, Global Draw = "On, all modes", card spanning and sd_uhs are on, bit depth 14 lossless. Maybe I should switch GD off and set bit depth to 10 bit.

What's most interesting, I'm getting errors under certain conditions, depending on what I'm shooting. Is that so because of 14 bit lossless?

How to make screens without taking pictures by iPhone etc?

Last but not least: I'll be using Helios 44-M4 F2 58mm soon, as I'll get chipped M42-Canon adapter.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #260 on: July 22, 2020, 09:49:49 PM »
You're not following my advice. Until then, issues persist. If you follow we might find out if we need to reduce a little height for instance.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #261 on: July 22, 2020, 10:04:39 PM »
Just tested card spanning on, 14bit 1920x2340 24fps, sd_uhs patch on. No compression errors, continuous. Recorded 10 files in a row, pushing iso and so on. Seems solid over here.
What sd card are you using? Are you sure card spanning is enabled?
Why are setting global draw to all modes? Just leave it to what is upon installing firmware. At least for this test.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #262 on: July 22, 2020, 10:18:17 PM »
I'm using Sandisk Extreme Pro 64 GB 170 MB/s SD card, not fake one.

Yes, the card spanning is enabled.

I'll do the test soon. So, 10 bit 1920x2340 24fps, sd_uhs patch on, Global Draw set to "LiveView", card spanning set to on?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #263 on: July 22, 2020, 10:52:47 PM »
Works both with 10bit or 14bit here. Not sure why you are having issues.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #264 on: July 23, 2020, 12:42:22 PM »
Plain 14 bit or lossless 14 bit?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #265 on: July 23, 2020, 12:49:03 PM »
Lossless of course.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #266 on: July 23, 2020, 01:14:48 PM »
It says that 8-11 and 12 bit lossless are not supported with high resolutions. So, 10 bit is plain and 14 bit lossless.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6968
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #267 on: July 23, 2020, 01:55:44 PM »
You need to read through most post from where I publish my builds. Also check eosm. Much stuff comes from playing with code on that cam.
I created workarounds for bitdepths but they are at another place. Please take a few hours or a full week digging posts. People(a1ex) spent years coding all so. I think you know what I mean.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #268 on: July 23, 2020, 08:30:53 PM »
Yes, I know, I'm sorry. Thank you for your great work. I think I'll update to Jul15 build.

Today I had a heated discussion with one person who tried to prove to me that modern Sony 4K domestic cameras, like FDR-AX43, gives a much better picture than 5D Mark III. None of my arguments about ML were successful. He said that 43 has much better sensor.

Sergiusvl

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #269 on: August 05, 2020, 07:45:37 AM »
Hello! I am new in ml world. First of all, thanks for great job to creators (my best regards to Danne) of this amazing stuff. I am using ml on my 5dm3. I have a question. For projects like short movie's and especially full length movies its really useful to have a balance between quality, file size and comfortable duration of recording. So I think it (balance) can be in something around 2.8k RAW (Half sensor height and width). So, Is it possible to capture 2.8k (for example 2*2 binning, or something like that, I am not sure about the names) from FULL sensor? Probably something like this is already exists in ml world? I think its gonna be very useful feature for film makers. Thanks a lot.
upd. Actually I use 1.2.3. firmware, so probably it better to put my question in correct topic.

amrali

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #270 on: August 19, 2020, 05:27:27 PM »
please , I was installing a module since 3 years ago and it was extracting .raw which I simply convert it through "raw2dng" application which was very cool  so my question is  can I do that with the last nightly builds shown in 3july2018 thanx ,

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #271 on: September 17, 2020, 08:32:36 PM »
Could you, please, be so kind to tell me if there are any focus pixel maps for 5D3 1.1.3 1080 full sensor? Cannot delete focus pixels in MLVApp.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7616
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #272 on: September 17, 2020, 08:39:48 PM »
5D3 doesn't have Dual Pixel Autofocus.
What are you talking about?

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #273 on: September 19, 2020, 08:39:41 PM »
It seemed to me that there are some focus pixels in the frame. I've also tried to fix bad pixels, but it didn't work. What am I to do?

sm105

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #274 on: September 19, 2020, 08:54:29 PM »
Check out this thread to see what focus pixels look like. 5D3 doesn't have them.

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16054.0