Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3  (Read 141036 times)

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #75 on: October 25, 2015, 09:29:34 PM »
Did you check your Kelvin temperature to ensure that its not causing the bluish effect?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

kimbray

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #76 on: October 26, 2015, 01:42:27 AM »
What should it be set at? Thanks!

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #77 on: October 26, 2015, 01:57:47 AM »
It all depends on where or what you're shooting at or at least aiming for a certain 'mood' such as Interior. Exterior. Daylight. Nighttime. Warm. Cool. Etc...

There's basically no right or wrong in this. Kind of like art, if you may say?

It's just a preference. Do you know how to adjust them within ML menus? It's under 'Expo' on top of the list... Fairly easy to use.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

kimbray

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #78 on: October 26, 2015, 06:12:28 AM »
I guess I needed to be clear. This is happening on photos as well as video. It does look like

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l9z1eant7c31vwi/1U9A2099.jpg?dl=0

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #79 on: October 26, 2015, 06:16:06 AM »
In your Canon menu, what settings do you have for "WB SHIFT/BKT" -- is it at any number other than 0,0?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

RTI

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #80 on: October 28, 2015, 03:33:58 PM »
Hi, has anyone noticed higher power consumption with the latest builds? I'm on "magiclantern-Nightly.2015Oct01.5D3113.zip" atm, did a clean install (formated card and just followed the standard procedure). I'm shooting video mostly. Either my batteries are dying (got a few original and chineese copies), or there's another reason I can't seem to figure.

P.S.
I don't have any of the modules loaded. I use ML mainly for the video aids (hystogram), Liveview image adjustments (I use some +contrast, as I shoot a flat profile) and the slightly sharper image which helps with focusing.
Canon 5DIII| Sigma 35/1.4|T 24-70/2.8 VC| Tamron 70-200/2.8 VC USD

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #81 on: October 29, 2015, 08:31:01 AM »
@RTI

I have tested a lot - I use everyday ML RAW - and I didn't notice any difference about consumption.
A good idea it's to load and older build, same setting and check if your batteries work with the same time, same test.

TK1979

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #82 on: November 02, 2015, 12:34:01 PM »
ok, So I was able to finally emotionally accept this final uploaded compression from the original far better IQ version onto Vimeo.

After trying to compress before uploading several times in H.264 on several Bit Rates online. I found compressing it 50% and leaving it in Prores to get better results post vimeo compression to be the best and final option. please advise if you have a better method since this took over a day on my slow internet connection to upload.  blow is the link, I tried to embed it hope it worked.

Diving Palau, Micronesia using ML raw module (not MLV for CF faster speeds)


mothaibaphoto

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
  • pesky kid
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #83 on: November 02, 2015, 05:48:31 PM »
@TK1979:
You did absolutely great job!!!
Please, start a new thread and move your messages here:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=19.0
I believe a lot of people here interested in your amazing shot and expirience, this thread simply not appropriate for it.

TK1979

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #84 on: November 03, 2015, 08:55:34 AM »
Hey mothaibaphoto,

Thank you for the insight and the kind words!
I shall do that! I was posting here to get help on the methods and got some good advice actually so I will do as you advise as well.


Caryophyllales

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #85 on: November 03, 2015, 10:18:38 PM »
5dIII with Camranger and Magic lantern.


I use a wifi connected Camranger with tablet and mobile telephone.

http://camranger.com/

Will it work as usual. with magic lantern

thank you,

Robert

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Physician & videographer
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #86 on: December 24, 2015, 05:19:05 PM »
Hi, how to I use a Cf card and an Sd card at once to increase the mb/s capacity från 100mb/s (with only Cf card) to 100+20mb/s while filmning raw with both cards in the slot?
On which card is ML installed?
Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

budafilms

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 711
  • 5D Mark a1ex
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #87 on: December 24, 2015, 05:28:49 PM »
Menu - Card Spanning.
Use your SD card for ML.

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Physician & videographer
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #88 on: December 24, 2015, 08:29:04 PM »
Om the ML menu or canon 53?
Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #89 on: December 24, 2015, 11:23:14 PM »
ML menu.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Physician & videographer
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #90 on: December 25, 2015, 12:27:53 AM »
thanks  :)
Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Physician & videographer
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #91 on: January 17, 2016, 09:59:26 AM »
Is there a way to have the rule of third grid (or any other of the cropmarks from ML) remain on during REC?
It disappears after having pressed at REC.
Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6837
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #92 on: January 17, 2016, 11:01:29 AM »
Movie tab -> RAW video (MLV) -> Global Draw ON
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
  • Physician & videographer
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #93 on: January 18, 2016, 12:26:07 PM »
Thanks Walter ;)
Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

Dagamus(NM)

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #94 on: January 30, 2016, 09:08:00 PM »
So happy to finally be able to have a ML equipped 5D3. Thank you to all of you that have put time and effort into making my hardware have the best possible software to go with it.  :)
5D3, 6D, 50D, 60D, 350D, 1100D. 16-35mmf2.8L, 24-105mmf4L, 100mmf2.8L, a bunch of others not worth mentioning

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #95 on: February 19, 2016, 02:47:31 AM »
Guys can anyone direct me towards a link for connecting 5DMK3 with Nexus 7. I have 1.2.3, and Nexus monitors ML just fine until I push the record button.

Please advise, direct or guide.

Much appreciated.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #96 on: February 19, 2016, 04:54:15 AM »
Enable Mirror On within Canon Menu under 'Play 3' on the bottom of the listing.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #97 on: February 19, 2016, 06:22:14 AM »
Thanks buddy. After couple of Error 70 I was able to record while monitoring. So thanks a bunch.

But its not shooting more than 15 secs. And it starts with yellow preparation then 10 seconds of green and 5 seconds of red before it skips.

Thanks again.

Respects.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #98 on: February 19, 2016, 06:25:29 AM »
For which settings? (FPS, aspect ratio)

What kind of cards do you use?

Do you at least use exFAT?
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

dratif

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • The Atif Films
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.1.3
« Reply #99 on: February 19, 2016, 07:23:34 AM »
30 FPS, 1920X1080

I use Sandisk 64GB 160 MB

I tried using exFAT but it said the wrong format when I started recording.
5D3 | SanDisk 64GB 160- KB 64GB 1066x | Canon 24-105mm 4L | Canon 70-300mm IS USM | Rokinon 85mm 1.5 | Nikon 50mm 1.4 | Nikon 28mm 2.8 | Tascam DR-60 Mk2 | Audio Tech. AT 8024 | MS7701B Boom | Aputure H198C | Monitor FreeWorld FW-759 | Tripod Oben AC-1341 | Head PH-368 | Slider SLD-31 | MBP 2015 mid