Author Topic: DualISO cr2 won't convert  (Read 4641 times)

irvcobb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
DualISO cr2 won't convert
« on: February 27, 2015, 04:04:05 AM »
Here's the pic:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2209462/IMG_9664.CR2

I get the "This doesn't look like a DualISO" message.

Have tried in Lightroom using the plugin and also from the command line. (Win 8.1)

Any thoughts are appreciated.

Irv

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3081
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 04:18:58 AM »
Most likely you didn't take this particular shot with Dual-ISO enabled in ML otherwise it wouldn't be saying that...
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

irvcobb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2015, 04:37:03 AM »
Don't think so - you can see the DualISO stripes in the pic.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3081
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2015, 05:06:28 AM »
Strange. Sorry I can't speak for Windows.

A Mac Guru here.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3471
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2015, 01:29:07 PM »
Probably because it's to much overexposed.  The convertor isn't able to differentiate the two ISOs.

irvcobb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2015, 03:56:09 PM »
You're right. I'm a little dyslexic about DualISO. Expose for the lights and let DI bring in the darks, and for some reason I think about it the other way around.

But I have learned something. Always figured the converter just looked at alternating rows rather than exposure. Thanks.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3471
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2015, 04:53:39 PM »
Well you can shoot the other way if it helps.  Expose for the shadows and let dual ISO recover highlights.

garry23

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1525
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2015, 06:06:23 PM »
@irvcobb

If it helps, my advice is to use Auto-ETTR and Dual-ISO.

That is grab the base exposure using ETTR, thus ensuring highlights are not blown out: unless you want to be, e speculars.

Then take a Dual-ISO to 'fill in' the shadows.

As I say, this is my way of working with these two powerful ML tools.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11483
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2015, 09:56:49 PM »
It was a bit overexposed (probably by 1 or 2 stops), but the converter should be able to recognize it.

Solved, will update the converter soon.

irvcobb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: DualISO cr2 won't convert
« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2015, 04:46:45 AM »
Thank you, a1ex.