Author Topic: FPS Override Question  (Read 8577 times)

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
FPS Override Question
« on: February 18, 2015, 10:27:15 PM »
On my 5D2 I'm doing something wrong when trying the FPS Override. At 1 FPS what do I need to do to get the timelapse to play? I was using the intervalometer with no problems but want to lengthen camera life.

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2015, 06:30:41 AM »
bump

... in other words, I can't get it to play the timelapse movie.  Any thoughts?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2015, 08:33:25 AM »
ML version?
H.264 or MLV or RAW?

Do you have troubles recording or do you have troubles viewing the results inside the cam (playback)?

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2015, 03:03:17 AM »

Thanks for the reply Walter.
MLV -- I think   :-\
There doesn't seem to be a problem recording. Playback is the issue and I didn't have much luck downloading.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2015, 03:56:45 AM »
Please remember we're not psychic and without a detailed description what you are trying to do and what is going on ...
Keep in mind that we need proper info to reproduce your error.

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2015, 02:45:03 PM »
Load mlv_play module to playback raw video in camera. Use a card reader to download videos from card.

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2015, 05:28:31 PM »
Thanks dmilligan. Much appreciated.

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2015, 12:03:12 AM »
Sorry for the nubie questions but I'm not finding answers in the FAQ or elsewhere --
Once I download the MLV files, then what? It's a unix executable file.
...on a macbook pro.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2015, 12:07:52 AM »

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2015, 12:25:12 AM »
dmilligan - By the way, I checked my .MO files and I already have the mlv_play module.
Thank you Audionut. That's given me plenty of stuff to read. I'm getting the impression that I must convert to DNG. Is that correct?

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2015, 12:53:28 AM »
It's one thing to have the .mo file on your card, it's another to actually have it loaded.

There are not really any post processing tools that can read MLV format directly (b/c its a custom format invented by ML); so yes, you must use a converter to convert it to something else that's useable (DNG is the most common).

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2015, 01:17:32 AM »
In the modules pulldown it has mlv_play marked as OK. That does mean it's loaded, right? After recording a FPS Override movie (at 1.5) I try to play it in-camera and get a can't play video message.

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2015, 02:37:53 AM »
I reformatted my card and installed magiclantern-Nightly.2015Feb20.5D2212.zip
I'm now able to play in camera (FPS set at 1.5) but what I see in the LCD isn't anything like a timelapse. It's choppy and barely faster than 1.5 FPS. I'm using RAW Magic Lite on my Mac for RAW video but looking for another converter for the MLV files. Any thoughts on a converter I should use?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8497
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2015, 04:07:42 AM »
Replay is choppy because hardware performance is quite limited.

SuperMouseDV

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2015, 08:25:22 AM »
Lasting Image if you want time lapse why not use ML's intervalometer feature in still mode just remember you will have to load it into a timeline as an image sequence but make sure that your images are loading at one frame not one frame at 5 seconds as it is the default in premiere  . The bonus is you can get  a very high pixel image for your time lapse.

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #15 on: February 24, 2015, 01:14:35 PM »
I'm using RAW Magic Lite on my Mac for RAW video but looking for another converter for the MLV files. Any thoughts on a converter I should use?
There are lots of options here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=55.0

Lasting Image

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #16 on: February 24, 2015, 05:39:50 PM »
dmilligan - Excellent. Thanks.

SuperMouseDV - I have been using the intervalometer and like it's relative simplicity. I'm just looking for a way to do timelapse without the wear and tear on the camera and don't need large high quality files for what I'm currently doing. I came across the FPS override and have the feeling once I get past the learning curve it will suit my needs better. ML is a fantastic tool that adds exciting potential for my projects but the learning curve has been a bitch, so I truly appreciate the time folks like dmilligan, Walter Schulz, audionut and others are willing to take on nubie's like me. Thanks again all!

SuperMouseDV

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: FPS Override Question
« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2015, 02:29:06 AM »
Lasting image a majority of the time lapse shots (the good ones) use an intervalometer but the nice thing is you can do camera moves in post with the extended frame. I understand what your doing and here is a tip but it's time consuming. Record your videos in under 24 frames. Then export the file as an image sequence then select every 24th frame and bring them into your time line (remember to set your image length to 1 frame) then drag the selected images into your bin the to your time line. You should see 30 seconds blur by in 30 frames... Time consuming. Might want to look for a time lapse plugin that does it for you..