Author Topic: > 1.3x CBR?  (Read 13348 times)

weldroid

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 600D
> 1.3x CBR?
« on: July 18, 2012, 01:30:06 PM »
Back in a day I got eth Sandisk Extreme 30 MB/s:
http://se.farnell.com/sandisk/sd4903/memory-sd-ext-iii-16gb-30mb-s/dp/1782321?CMP=KNC-GSE-FSE-GEN-KWL
I can reach x 1.3 CBR with this, but 1.4 gets a bit unreliable already.

This one claims to be three times as fast:
http://sandisk.com/products/memory-cards/sd/extremepro-uhs-1-95mbs/?capacity=32GB

Any good/bad experiences, or maybe other brand that let you shoot higher bitrate?
Weapon of choice:
600D, EF-S 18-55 ISII Premiere, Luminance HDR, Blender, Luxrender
http://www.vimeo.com/weldroid (http://soundcloud.com/weldroid)

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2012, 02:12:25 AM »
Get a reputable card  that does 90-120mbps.

jonnyginese

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2012, 05:33:41 AM »
What is the advantage of upping the bit rate like this?
Cameras: 5D3 | 60D
Prime Lenses: Samyang 14mm 2.8 | 24mm 1.4 | 35mm 1.4 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Nikkor 105 2.5
Zoom Lenses: Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC | Canon 80-200 2.8 L

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2012, 05:41:13 AM »
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=1366.msg3935#msg3935

Also... that card is waaay too expensive... something in the middle? Maybe you can do better than 35MB/s,  100Mbit  video is only 12.5MB write... so these "30M/15M" cards can't even pull that off. Burst speed lies.

http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0389097

jonnyginese

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2012, 04:05:55 AM »
Is there a list anywhere of cards people are using to get the double bitrate?  I'd be interested in seeing a list of SDHC/SDXC and CF cards that have been confirmed to work consistently at certain bitrate settings. 

I have a Sandisk Extreme 45mb SDHC card.  I wonder if I can do the double bitrate on my T3i.  Also, was taht test done with a 5d or a T2i/T3i?
Cameras: 5D3 | 60D
Prime Lenses: Samyang 14mm 2.8 | 24mm 1.4 | 35mm 1.4 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Nikkor 105 2.5
Zoom Lenses: Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC | Canon 80-200 2.8 L

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2012, 05:03:38 AM »

AriLG

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2012, 09:06:52 AM »
Is there a list anywhere of cards people are using to get the double bitrate?  I'd be interested in seeing a list of SDHC/SDXC and CF cards that have been confirmed to work consistently at certain bitrate settings. 
Yes. here : http://magiclantern.wikia.com/wiki/Bit_rate

I have a Sandisk Extreme 45mb SDHC card
I have it, too. I can go as high as 1.5 with sound, 3.0 without.
T3i (main), T2i
------------------
It's not about accuracy,  it's about Aesthetics

weldroid

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 600D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2012, 10:03:32 PM »
Aha, so if you disable audio and Global Draw you can go higher... obviously I have overlooked that detail completely. 
Weapon of choice:
600D, EF-S 18-55 ISII Premiere, Luminance HDR, Blender, Luxrender
http://www.vimeo.com/weldroid (http://soundcloud.com/weldroid)

AriLG

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 79
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2012, 10:47:07 PM »
Aha, so if you disable audio and Global Draw you can go higher... obviously I have overlooked that detail completely.
In my case its just disable audio.
T3i (main), T2i
------------------
It's not about accuracy,  it's about Aesthetics

jonnyginese

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2012, 05:59:30 PM »
I was mistaken on the card i had. I have a Sandisk extreme pro 30mb/sec. when i put it to 1.3 i get a meter looking thing ont he right that has 4 or 5 notches.  one notch lights up and stays on. It will continually shoot this way, what does the meter mean?  would it be better to use the Qscale mode instead?
Cameras: 5D3 | 60D
Prime Lenses: Samyang 14mm 2.8 | 24mm 1.4 | 35mm 1.4 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Nikkor 105 2.5
Zoom Lenses: Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC | Canon 80-200 2.8 L

he56ys5ysu7w4

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #10 on: July 26, 2012, 07:15:13 PM »
The meter shows the buffer. When it reach the top the buffer is full and recording stops.
You can choose to not show that bar if wanted.
Amateur shooting family stills and video
Gear: Canon 600D/T3i -- Sigma 30/f1.4 EX DC HSM -- Canon EF-S 15-85/f3.5-5.6 IS USM -- Canon EF 50/1.8 II -- V3 LCD Viewfinder loupe -- Velbon RUP-L40
Editing with LR3 and FCPX

weldroid

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • 600D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2012, 10:26:38 PM »
As it turns out Global Draw has actually no effect on max CBR I can set up... fortunately.
Weapon of choice:
600D, EF-S 18-55 ISII Premiere, Luminance HDR, Blender, Luxrender
http://www.vimeo.com/weldroid (http://soundcloud.com/weldroid)

SuperHans28

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2012, 02:25:17 AM »
Get a reputable card  that does 90-120mbps.

Aren't Scandisk a reputable card maker?

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2012, 03:06:32 AM »
Everyone loves to tout burst speeds and hide sustained write.

jonnyginese

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 60
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2012, 05:55:24 PM »
Is there a way to set the camera to record mono... and lower the audio bit rate? The only thing I use the on board sound for is to sync to my h4n with plural eyes... if it was mono instead of stereo the audio bit rate bandwidth would halved.. and if the quality could be lowered to something like 128khz or 64khz it might free up some bandwidth for the video.

I'm looking for a card to record at 2.0 with audio... my sandisk 30mb barely does 1.3... I guess I could try a 45mb... also, does the t3i support the uhs-1 speeds?

And thoughts?
Cameras: 5D3 | 60D
Prime Lenses: Samyang 14mm 2.8 | 24mm 1.4 | 35mm 1.4 | Canon 50mm 1.4 | Nikkor 105 2.5
Zoom Lenses: Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC | Canon 80-200 2.8 L

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: > 1.3x CBR?
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2012, 06:33:53 PM »
Audio has to be recorded separate from the video. It can be done in camera and then the worst that happens is stutters but I think that problem is licked except for extreme cases like 160mbps, etc. Getting a faster card won't help beyond 1.x as the encoder can't keep up with both streams beyond like 60.

Quote
t3i support the uhs-1 speeds

If only... Only 48mhz so tops out at 25MB/s My card can only do 20. Maybe newer cards will be able to pull off 25 sustained. Haven't tested and don't have the $200 "pro" card. I got the similarly performing knockoff from patriot.