How to use MLRawViewer ?

Started by NitromanX, April 29, 2015, 06:34:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NitromanX

Hi everyone !

Sorry to ask but I'm a photographer and a video newbie and i'm not sure how to use the fabulous MLRawViewer with my Canon 5D2 and ML Raw video.

I've downloaded the latest version 1.4.3 for Mac and read all the Read Me instructions.

I can open my .mlv files in MLRawViewer but they never seem to look like they should. When i cycle through the standard LOGs, some look better than others but many simply look dark, crushed blacks, high contrast etc. I know I can increase the exposure using the Up and Down cursor keys, but this seems to overexpose the preview image. Is this right as i'm dealing with a log file - not a traditional raw photo ?

Ideally i'd like a nice flat profile to work with, so i downloaded VisionLOG for ACR and the VisionLOG to Camera Neutral Rec709.cube files from VisionColor. I've also imported the VisionLOG to Camera Neutral Rec709.cube 3D LUT to MLRawViewer using the Shift L keys but the histogram looks underexposed. Should i now increase the exposure with the Up and Down keys to make the histogram look good or use the settings at default ?

Which LOG is best to output from ?

I'd like to export to Pro Res and grade in Final Cut Pro as I don't have Adobe Premiere or AfterEffects. I'm guesing this means first outputting 16Bit tiff files for each frame using Adobe Camera Raw and the VisionLog Camera Calibration / Profile ? Then making an Image Sequence with Quicktime Pro 7.

Also ... what camera profile should i load as a picture style for my 5D2 - ideally one that will show the full contrast range of the scene i'm shooting.

I've spent days reading through all the processing forum posts etc, but still trying to work out the best way to do all this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ... :)

Licaon_Kter

Quote from: NitromanX on April 29, 2015, 06:34:15 PM