Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1797564 times)

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 148
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3475 on: April 08, 2020, 09:34:41 PM »
Sorry, dislexic keyboarder here, I meant FPS and have modified the original post.
Please, refer to my post from March 2019. I've enabled this feature on 70D. It still has some quirks but is IMO usable. The download link is there, check it out.

Unfortunately no time to continue working on it.
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

Rodders

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3476 on: April 20, 2020, 12:35:47 AM »
Thank you ArcziPL, Fantastic :)
i will download and have a play with it, hopefully it can do what I am after and keep me occupied for a while.
Thank you so very much  : :D

aoraki

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3477 on: May 03, 2020, 01:21:54 AM »
FPS override feature currently not available on 70D.

That's a pity - mainly because while most people want to go up I would like to go down to maybe 2 fps. I see it as logical that one takes timelapses without making a zillion photos ( reducing shutter count and shear post production work) by using video. Maybe someone can point me in the right direction. Cheers

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3478 on: May 03, 2020, 05:27:32 AM »
Go up 3 replies and follow link.

aoraki

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3479 on: May 04, 2020, 02:35:34 AM »
Thanks Walter - will give that a try. Assuming I can figure out how to install it on the card with the other build already there.

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 538
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3480 on: May 04, 2020, 04:59:47 PM »
                     @ Aoraki

   You can simply create a New Folder on Your Card & Move Your Existing

autoexec.bin

ML Folder

ML-SETUP.FIR

Into that Folder & then add the New Build Counterparts onto the Cards Root Level ~

Or if You choose not to keep the OldBuild on the Card, Just Erase & Replace ~

                                                            ORR~DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

olam84

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3481 on: May 07, 2020, 08:08:31 PM »
Hello, I would really like to help. I have no knowledge of coding but if I could help with anything else... I'll be glad to do it!  :D

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3482 on: May 08, 2020, 09:42:04 AM »
Consider learning to code.

aoraki

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3483 on: May 09, 2020, 02:04:01 AM »
@OlRivrRat  Great that worked well - just stuck it on another card I had

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3484 on: June 19, 2020, 03:45:35 PM »
Ciao,

using March 19 ArcziPL build here. Very happy with it, thank you!

I seem unable to use the intervalometer correctly. My fault, most likely.

The issue is that, after the first shot, it changes my Tv. Example below.

Initial settings:
  • Lens: Sigma 18-35 F1.8 @35
  • M mode
  • Av f/4
  • Tv 1/250
  • ISO 100
  • Take a pic every: 1s
  • Start after: 30s
  • Stop after: 15 shots

Don't remember exactly whether I left Live View on or off, but I think it was on.

So the first shot had correct parameters, then the following 14 shots had a Tv of 1/2000.

Am I doing something wrong?

(And should I post this question in an intervalometer-specific thread, if any?)

Thanks a lot in advance

Sergio

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3485 on: June 19, 2020, 03:53:20 PM »
Post content of ML\SETTINGS\magic.cfg

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3486 on: June 20, 2020, 02:44:32 PM »
Thank you Walter!


beta.warn = 19
menu.first = -5
lv.peak = 1
bv.av = 32
bv.tv = 101
interval.stop.after = 15
interval.start.time = 30
interval.time = 1
hdr.ev_spacing = 8
hdr.frames = 5
battery.drain.rate.rev = 9
focus.peaking = 1
zoom.overlay = 1
disp.mode.x = 967


Ciao

Sergio

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3487 on: June 20, 2020, 03:17:18 PM »
I had a sort of an enlightenment: could this be the Auto ETTR (I set its trigger to double Half Shutter) being triggered by the intervalometer?

This would explain why exposure time was lowered — I was trying to over expose originally.

S

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3488 on: June 20, 2020, 05:53:59 PM »
Yes, that's the culprit: Both features use half-shutter to be triggered. See https://wiki.magiclantern.fm/camera_help#intervalometer

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3489 on: June 24, 2020, 12:33:50 PM »
Thanks a lot for the feedback.

Btw I put together a short, little tribute to ML. Please find it here:


Thank you to the ML community!

Sergio

vga256

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3490 on: July 11, 2020, 05:00:47 PM »
Nice work Sergio, and great demonstration of the raw capabilities. Still loving my 70D, although I'm shooting less these days. I've got the same Sigma 18-35 lens - what a fantastic lens for this camera.

What resolution and bit depth are you shooting at? I've been pushing my camera pretty hard at 12 and 14-bit, but it's tough to maintain recording times of more than 30 seconds.

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3491 on: July 15, 2020, 03:30:30 PM »
Ciao vga256,

thanks for the feedback!

I'm constantly shooting 1832 x 1024, 14-bit lossless, with FPS override @24 fps (resulting in 23.971 or 23.984 fps, heaven knows why).

For most scenes, this results in continuous shooting for me. In very extreme circumstances, where I have a very very wide dynamic range, I have to turn SD overclock on via the sd_uhs module. With SD overclock activated, in my personal (and limited) experience I have seldom encountered full buffer and abrupt stop in the recording. But still, of course, it may happen, depending on the scene.

Another consideration: I love the Sigma 18-35, although I use it more for stills. For video, after some time (and money) spent trying other (not-too-expensive) glass, I must admit that I find the good old 18-135 IS STM kit lens nearly unbeatable. Its focus accuracy and speed is unbelievable when coupled with the 70's dual pixel AF, its motor is the most silent I've experienced, and it has IS, which is a game changer for video. With it, I shoot constantly at f/5.6, which (apart from providing a nice intermediate focus depth for most circumstances) I find to be the strong spot for this lens (also as confirmed by dxomark tests, see here: https://www.dxomark.com/Lenses/Canon/Canon-EF-S-18-135mm-F35-56-IS-STM-mounted-on-Canon-EOS-70D---Measurements__895, particularly for sharpness), with a 3-stop (ND8) ND filter that allows me to have a proper ETTR setting with a ~180° rolling shutter (1/50s shutter speed) in most situations (I may need to stop it down to f/8 with very bright subjects in direct sunlight). I find that its structural lack of sharpness is negligible when shooting video @ 1832 x 1024, while of course other weaknesses, such as chroma aberration, vignetting etc can be corrected during post-prod if you shoot Raw. Would love to hear any comments on this.

Happy (Raw) shooting!

Sergio

Ps: I also tried resolutions higher than 1832 x 1024 via the 5X zoom trick, but I really find it hard to consider this option as anything other than a technological capability demo. I used it to shoot some portraits of very distant neighbors chilling out on their home balcony during peak COVID stay-at-home lockdown past spring, and the 5X zoom was exactly what I needed. But apart from that specific situation, I wish somebody explained me how to use this feature in real life.

bincema24

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3492 on: July 20, 2020, 05:32:25 PM »
Hello guys I'm new in the forum and I've been looking everywhere but I couldn't find a post where I can find the features of ML in all the cameras. I am looking to buy the 5d3, EOS M or the 70D and install ML.
I wanted to know what crop factors, fps and resolutions that the 3 can handle. If you know where I can find that info, please share a link.
Thank you.

drmoreau

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3493 on: July 21, 2020, 11:23:30 PM »
Hey guys. I haven't played with RAW on the 70D in over a year, or maybe two. What's the current modules folks are running and where can I get them?

Just looking for the quickest, simplest setup to get as close to 1080p continuous as possible. Thanks!

drmoreau

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3494 on: July 22, 2020, 01:58:50 AM »
I managed to find a March 15 2019 build that has crop_rec and the SD overclock stuff. Found a video where a guy was shooting well over 1920 horizontal resolution, but mine refuses to let me set it higher than 1824x764. Why is that?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7501
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3495 on: July 22, 2020, 04:49:14 AM »
Press magnify/loupe button to access "5x view" aka crop mode. 

vastunghia

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • 70D'er
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3496 on: July 31, 2020, 12:28:22 PM »
Ciao,

a few days ago I shot some short scenes with the following settings:
  • 14-bit lossless Raw video enabled (for some clips @1832x1024, for some other @1920x1080 via 5x zoom)
  • FPS override @24 fps (Low Jello, 180d)
  • SD overclocking enabled
Everything seemed fine, as always; however, for one particular clip (2266 frames @1920x1080), I see
  • MLVFS reporting an fps of 29.986 (instead of something in the range 23.971- 23.989 as expected, and as obtained for the other MLV's)
  • consequently, a reported duration of 2266 / 29.986 = 75 seconds
  • an audio file lasting exactly 75 seconds
By syncing audio and video (also with the help of a second audio track I captured with an external mic), I can tell for sure that the clip is ~24 fps actually (as expected). So the weird thing seems to be that
  • the fps determined by ML is inconsistent (~30 reported instead of actual value of ~24, as set using FPS override)
  • the audio file was somehow truncated early by ML to make its duration consistent with the wrong, higher-than-actual fps
Luckily enough, as I mentioned, I was also recording via an external mic, so I did not lost the last 19 seconds of audio (= difference between 2266 frames divided by 30 and same frame count divided by 24).

Anybody else experiencing this strange behavior? Do you think I might be doing something wrong?

Should your answer be 'no' to both questions, please take this as an advice to always use an external mic when shooting Raw, if you care about your audio track.

Sergio

williamh695

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3497 on: August 16, 2020, 07:03:29 AM »
I tested with a fresh SD card and recorded 20 or so videos and about half had audio issues.
I normally dont shoot video but just started for something im working on. I tested again with another card and none had issues.
Im going to do some more testing since I have a few cards but no more time today to record. Ill update with how it goes.
Canon 70D

CanonUser

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3498 on: September 08, 2020, 08:32:31 PM »
Does anyone have the link to the March 19 ArcziPL build? The one in bitbucket seems to be unavailable. I would love to try out this build after reading Sergio's positive experience. Thanks.