Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1669536 times)

Ingerson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3400 on: July 21, 2019, 04:13:36 PM »
af is really good. i also bought one because of this feature. there are some ML features missing in this camera. i dont kno if those missing features are important to you or not  and i get some terrible moire and aliasing. i am not sure if its because of the lens i use which is tamron 17-50mm f2.8 non VC

What features is that? I don't really care about slowmotion, sometimes I do 30 to 25 fps for a subtle effects, but that's it. And I don't go for crop modes or higher resolution. Besides AF and swivel screen all I want is continuous recording for a few minutes since I like longer takes.

mvrck

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3401 on: July 22, 2019, 03:33:24 PM »
What features is that? I don't really care about slowmotion, sometimes I do 30 to 25 fps for a subtle effects, but that's it. And I don't go for crop modes or higher resolution. Besides AF and swivel screen all I want is continuous recording for a few minutes since I like longer takes.

You can actually shoot 50/60 FPS with the 70D at 1832x616 and then stretch it in post. Here's a clip I shot at 50 FPS and slowed it down to 25 FPS. I think it looks pretty good aliasing-wise.

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3402 on: July 22, 2019, 07:23:38 PM »
I was astounded how good 16:9 FHD 12 bit raw @24fps looked. But its MF, I recall it was continuous, fills up the LCD screen nicely.
The raw video, of 70D is good for still camera (not moving) shots.  You might get away with a slow pan.
But you would want the AF resolutions for "subject walking" or "tracking a fast moving object centre of screen" (Ive seen some really good footage with a monopod).
Raw video with 70D max out at IS0 400, as hot pixels start to appear for higher ISO.
So you might use a flat profile, and shoot H264 at ISO1600 All-I for low light video.  Its surprising how good shooting flat, can be with H264 in low light.
I find the raw is better for highlight recovery, which is stronger in well lit shots, where as shooting flat with H264 All-I has a nice inky black which is useful.
I like the free Marvel picture profiles.  Otherwise there is always the choice to add lighting.

If you like this, then I would get the VAF, to minimize aliasing. 

I also find a bit of noise reduction really helps with aps-c footage, as its not all moire/aliasing that's afoot. 
A FF sensor tends to handle noise better especially low light.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

Joshua_Fisher

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3403 on: September 02, 2019, 08:32:28 PM »
Hello!

New guy here and my question is a bit specific. I tried researching it on google and here on these forums to no avail, so, my apologies if its been asked and answered already.

I'm looking to use one of my Canon 70Ds as a web cam to live stream on twitch. Originally, I was using software called SparkoCam which uses the 70Ds USB port. It seems to work decently but the quality is far lower than the HDMI. The issue with HDMI was it showed all overlay options during liveview.

Note, I am NOT recording, simply using liveview for a webcam.

Enter ML. I installed it and was able to remove the overlay and got the resolution somewhat stretched using ML but there are still black bars on either side when displaying on a 1920x1080p canvas in OBS studio.
Is there any way to get liveview to display in full 1920x1080p using ML, or do I have to manually stretch the image using OBS to get it to fill the screen entirely? I've been dabbling in video lately and have been a photography buff pretty much my whole life but I am a complete nub to ML and the advanced video settings.

Thanks in advance!
Josh

PS, my apologies if this is not the right section, again, new here!

L4C

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3404 on: October 09, 2019, 09:56:23 PM »
Hello,

I have used the magic lantern before in my previous camera. Now I'm new on the EOS 70D and trying to figure out how to get the ETTR to work on it. I would like to use "trigger mode: press SET" and somehow does not work. If I press the SET button on live view the center AF point gets selected and the ETTR does not triggered. I have checked in the Canon menu (C.Fn III) the set button is set to OFF.
Is there any way to use the set button (or any other button) to trigger ETTR in live view?
If I use the camera with the viewfinder the set button turns on the live view but every time I get a message: 'ETTR failed'
Unfortunately find no way to use the ETTR with my camera....
I have tried to factory reset my camera and the magic lantern too.
Can someone please give me a guidance?

berechiah

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3405 on: October 27, 2019, 11:29:44 PM »
hey all

just got a 70d

hoping if someone could help
is there a safe build that i can dowload to lossless video with sound

i looked an am not totaly sure

yokashin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3406 on: October 27, 2019, 11:49:22 PM »
hey all

just got a 70d

hoping if someone could help
is there a safe build that i can dowload to lossless video with sound

i looked an am not totaly sure

https://bitbucket.org/ArcziPL/magic-lantern/downloads/

berechiah

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3407 on: October 28, 2019, 12:00:47 AM »
Thanks for your help I really appreciate it


Sonoaux

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3409 on: October 29, 2019, 12:28:53 PM »
Hi,

I am having difficulty recording a resolution above 1864 x 1048 resolution.

My setup consisted of:
Install magiclantern-Nightly.2019Mar15.70D112_crop_rec_4k_mlv_lite_lossless_fps_override_experimental
Sandisk 170MB card
Fresh install and disabled global draw
Enabled sd_uhs and lua script and then restarted camera
Ran SD overclock which reported 50MB max write
Enabled crop rec + mlv_lite/play/rec and restarted camera again
Set camera to 3x

The 1864 res worked great at various aspect ratios for various lengths of time but I can not go above it.
"2240 is not possible in current video mode"
I have read back to last March in this thread a number of times and can't see a solution.
Am I missing something needed to achieve the 2.5k?

Thanks, Joe

 





Francois_lune

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3410 on: November 02, 2019, 11:01:13 AM »
Hi there,

Does anyone know if any version of ML allows to have the Liveview working with accurate framing while shooting RAW video on the 70D? Even in grayscale?
I have tried many different Builds without success until now, the liveview is always frozen if in 'framing' mode as soon as the record start
EOS-M   /  EOS 70D

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6898
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3411 on: November 21, 2019, 02:54:57 PM »
Firmware update 1.1.3. https://www.canon.co.uk/support/consumer_products/products/cameras/digital_slr/eos_70d.html?type=firmware
If you install it I think you will have to ask Canon Service if you want to rollback to older versions. Fixes vulnerabilities as seen in PTP remote code execution.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3412 on: November 24, 2019, 06:28:05 PM »
Certainly seems odd that Canon would come up with a FirmUp for a Cam that is so far in the rear view mirror ~

Would it be correct to assume that this would most likely "Break" ML ?
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6898
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3413 on: November 24, 2019, 10:38:42 PM »
Define "break".
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3414 on: November 25, 2019, 01:22:52 AM »
How about > Render Unusable ?
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6898
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3415 on: November 25, 2019, 01:29:37 AM »
Nope, according to a1ex.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12316
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3416 on: November 25, 2019, 08:20:39 AM »
Long answer:

- ML will not start with the newer firmware; it will display an error message
- rendering the camera unusable: very unlikely, unless the update itself fails in the middle or something
- you may not be able to downgrade the firmware (not even via Canon's EOS utility, if it's like 5D3 1.3.6)

That said, if (and only if) you don't mind having your 70D without ML for some time (at least one week, but could be one month or more), you may upgrade the firmware to see what happens. I'd welcome a ROM dump in order to prepare a firmware downgrading tool (assuming one is needed).

I don't expect the update to remove our ability to run user code, or to disable the boot flag, which is probably what Walter was referring to.

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3417 on: November 26, 2019, 05:18:45 PM »
   The only Times that I use the 70D anymore is when I need a Cam' with ML Abilities so I suspect being without it

for a Short Time would not be a major issue as long as it appears that a Solution could be forthcoming. If I conjure

up the Nerve to do the FirmUp, I'll only be doing it for ML Test purposes & will then also attempt to acquire & provide

a ROM Dump ~ RSVP Alex ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12316
  • Emergencies only
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3418 on: November 26, 2019, 05:31:11 PM »
It's your decision. I expect to have some more spare time after mid-December (until then, only weekends), so if you prefer a shorter downtime, you may choose to wait.

L4C

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3419 on: November 28, 2019, 11:01:31 AM »
Hello,

I have used the magic lantern before in my previous camera. Now I'm new on the EOS 70D and trying to figure out how to get the ETTR to work on it. I would like to use "trigger mode: press SET" and somehow does not work. If I press the SET button on live view the center AF point gets selected and the ETTR does not triggered. I have checked in the Canon menu (C.Fn III) the set button is set to OFF.
Is there any way to use the set button (or any other button) to trigger ETTR in live view?
If I use the camera with the viewfinder the set button turns on the live view but every time I get a message: 'ETTR failed'
Unfortunately find no way to use the ETTR with my camera....
I have tried to factory reset my camera and the magic lantern too.
Can someone please give me a guidance?


I did more experimenting with the ETTR. Only works if the camera makes a real photo (Always ON or Auto Snap) in those modes the next photo will apply the proper settings.
Unfortunately triggering by the set button or using the half double click all the time gives ETTR failed message, plus addition on that in live view mode to trigger with set button does not work at all as the set button will select the focus point and does not trigger the ETTR.
Is there some way how I can contribute to you guys to figure out the root cause of the issue?