Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1664101 times)

Canniballissimo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1425 on: July 22, 2015, 06:24:19 AM »
Remove SD-card and format it in your PC.

TechnoPilot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1426 on: July 22, 2015, 06:29:54 AM »
Remove SD-card and format it in your PC.
Hi hate to say, but that is probably not the best option as it would leave the boot flag intact on his 70D.

If you are just trying to roll back simply delete all the ML files from the SD card and replace them with the version you are wanting to load.  Just remember to ensure it is the correct A or B build.

If you are wanting to uninstall ML then simply go to the update firmware option in the Canon menu and wait for the timer on ML to run out (60 seconds).  If that is not working on the newest build then try rolling back first as I know Alpha5b worked for this.
Cameras: Canon 70D - 70D.111B (Beta 2B)
Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8, Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 II
Video Gear: Shure Lenshopper VP83F, Rode Filmmaker Kit, DSLR Controller w/ TPLink MR3040

KsCanon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1427 on: July 22, 2015, 06:35:54 AM »
I made the post bout not being able to remove ML,
It was a lame brain moment on my part. I didn't have my camera in Manual. I figured it out. Tried to delete my post before anyone replied.

Thank you for your help
Canon 70D A

sergey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1428 on: July 22, 2015, 01:01:21 PM »
Help!
File.DNG (size 35.1 MB , 20 MPix)  received in ML should open in  LR 6.1 or PS 2015 CC (Windows) ?
Or it is necessary to convert than ?
70D_111A

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1429 on: July 22, 2015, 05:18:32 PM »
sergey,

Are your DNGs not opening in those programs?

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1430 on: July 22, 2015, 07:04:49 PM »
@sergey:

Which converters did you use that spitted out DNG's that wouldn't open?

Sounds Iike you didn't replace the cr2hdr binary to the latest to work with 70D files.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1431 on: July 22, 2015, 09:35:55 PM »

Got same results with dualiso in moviemode like seen in your video. I rechecked again but the cmos registers are ok and I have no clue atm what is causing the mangled lcd colors.
70D.112 & 100D.101

mrpanda

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1432 on: July 22, 2015, 10:57:24 PM »
Hello,
I do not know if this is the right place for this question but my English is not very good and I know that this subject on the 70D on this forum.
I wanted to know Max resolution that could save the 70D in RAW and the most aproprier SD card for this use (speed Writing )
RAW because I see the video on YT 70d and wanted to know the resolution used when recording
thanking you

Best regards

Bonjour,
je sais pas si c'est le bon endroit pour cette question mais mon anglais n'est pas tres bon et je connais que ce sujet sur le 70D sur ce forum.
je voulais savoir la resolution Max que pouvais enregistrer le 70D en RAW et la carte SD la plus aproprier pour cette utilisation (vitesse d'ecriture)
car je vois des video RAW du 70d sur YT et je voulais savoir la résolution utiliser lors de l'enregistrement
en vous remerciant

cordialement

JonnyG70D

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1433 on: July 23, 2015, 03:10:50 AM »
I just successfully installed ML 111A on my 70D.  One of the major reasons I was interested in ML was to shoot raw video.

Unfortunately I don't have any cards that read the higher speed.

I am buying some tomorrow, but I wasn't sure the best way to start using them.  Should I clone the root files onto the new card?

Should I do a fresh install of ML when I buy the new cards?

Should I un-install ML and re-install it?

I am brand new at this and just want to make sure I do it the right way the first time.

Thanks,

Jon

Via47126

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1434 on: July 23, 2015, 05:53:29 AM »
Just downloaded ML on my 70D and the settings in ML only last a couple seconds before it switches back to live view. Anyway of fixing this? Thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6873
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1435 on: July 23, 2015, 06:23:54 AM »
First page, first post -> What's not working
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

chmteacher

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1436 on: July 23, 2015, 07:34:03 AM »
Crash:

ASSERT: err == SUCCESS
at ./MainCtrl/MainCtrl.c:127, task ?
lv:0 mode:0


Magic Lantern version : Nightly.2015May31.70D111A
Mercurial changeset   : 8a4bc95af250+ (70D-merge) tip
Built on 2015-05-31 07:23:14 UTC by ml@ml-pc.
Free Memory  : 207K + 1594K

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1437 on: July 23, 2015, 07:42:37 AM »
70D.112 & 100D.101

sergey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1438 on: July 23, 2015, 08:49:04 AM »
In  The  File.DNG  ( received in mode     Silent Picture - maximum resolution )  have over exposure ( very light). 
Not work sunny day  --- (iso100,aperture 2.8 , time  1/100) or  (iso100,aperture 2.8 , time 1/2000)    --  snapshots  identical--very light.
as it should be ?
70D_111A

camslide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1439 on: July 23, 2015, 08:59:46 AM »
In  The  File.DNG  ( received in mode     Silent Picture - maximum resolution )  have over exposure ( very light). 
Not work sunny day  --- (iso100,aperture 2.8 , time  1/100) or  (iso100,aperture 2.8 , time 1/2000)    --  snapshots  identical--very light
Max Shutter Speed is around 1/15. For more information read here:
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12523.0
70D.112

sergey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1440 on: July 23, 2015, 09:22:17 AM »
-
70D_111A

can-on

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1441 on: July 23, 2015, 11:26:14 AM »
Dear nikfreak, thank ML job.

70D 111A installed, much of the problem is sometimes interrupted freeze the motion detection machine
70 indicates the error, take out battery to place it back again after some time.
Unfortunately, it is not stable
I think there is a lot of work with him, and if time permits would be needed "audio remote"
function would be necessary.
You could then be integrated audio remote ??

thank you

mrpanda

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1442 on: July 23, 2015, 11:32:21 AM »
Hello,

nobody knows the answer to my question ?

because I can not find anything on the internet

camslide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1443 on: July 23, 2015, 02:54:03 PM »
Hello,

nobody knows the answer to my question ?

because I can not find anything on the internet
Max resolution is 1824x1026. But I can only record for about 6s as the card slot only has a max write speed of 40MB/s and calculated write speed is 74.9MB/s.
70D.112

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1444 on: July 23, 2015, 05:07:09 PM »
Camslide, MrPanda

If you want 1080p FHD then I suggest H264, its quite usable with ISO max of 1600 the graininess is under control.  This is also your most ISO friendly for low light shooting.  Once variable bit rate is working fine detail will be more awesome, and once Dual ISO  in video mode is working you will be able to shoot HDR.

If you want to shoot raw, here's some resolutions/recommended use. 
Use an aspect ratio to extend your clip times.  I suggest 2.39 or 2.35 (this is used to master to 2.39).
Use 24fps to extend your clip times, and if you dont like motion blur and want sharpness use a faster shutter (I like to use 1/160s).
Hot pixels (HP) can be a problem as raw clip time extends, check your HP against ISO it varies, but ISO max. of 400 should be clean.
Shadow noise can be a problem in rather low light raw, but 400 ISO max should be clean.  Higher ISO shadow noise appears in low light shots.
This was measured using Sandisk extreme pro 32GB card with 95Mb/s read/ 90MB/s write.

1824 x 776 @ 2.35 / 24fps got 14s.   Good for master shots / pans (90% of 1920 @ 2.35) typically pans are 7s.
1792x762 @ 2.35 /24fps   got 16s.  Good for most dialogue.  Probably very usable for most cut dialogue shots.
1728x736 @ 2.35 /24fps   got 22s. Good for extended dialogue.  Rarely does one talk for 22s in a shot without need for a cut.
1600 x 680 @ 2.35 / 24fps got 62s.  Good for scenes. Wow!  This pretty much is same as continuous as rare to shoot past 30s in a scene.

Now here are some continuous raw resolutions, which is good for documentary shoots or web streaming.
1504x640 @ 2.35 /24fps  is continuous.
720p @ 16:9 /24fps is continuous, and cuts nicely with 720p @16:9 60fps H264 for slow motion frame rate.

Until variable fps is working better, I would suggest avoid the higher 3X zoom resolutions.  Once variable fps is working better, you may be able
to shoot 2k for about 7s clips for what that is worth.   
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

camslide

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1445 on: July 23, 2015, 10:01:55 PM »
@ShootMeAlready
Thanks for this very informative post! I just wanted to answer the max resolution question from mrpanda.
I will try some of your settings to check whether my SD card is fast enough or if I have to upgrade.
70D.112

snakec

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Canon 70D with ML Alpha6B 111A - Canon 10-22 - Canon 50 1.8 - Tamron 17-50 2.8 - Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC USD

can-on

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1447 on: July 24, 2015, 07:03:27 PM »
Hi all,

Anyone know when to expect "audio remote" feature ?
and will have refined "motion detection" error 70 about  ?
(111A)

thanks for the answers

tryanbran

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1448 on: July 25, 2015, 06:27:28 AM »
Attempted to install ML with the instructions given, this error turned up:

http://i.imgur.com/HjVxGHO.jpg

I tried it with both versions to no avail. I confirmed that all necessary files were present on the SD card prior to hitting the firmware update option, as well as that the SD card was formatted properly in camera.

Card used:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00I3BQJNA/ref=s9_psimh_gw_p147_d0_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=desktop-1&pf_rd_r=07P7HA62AE5MG0X1JWS0&pf_rd_t=36701&pf_rd_p=2079475242&pf_rd_i=desktop

Any suggestions as to how I can fix this problem?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6873
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6b 13th July)
« Reply #1449 on: July 25, 2015, 09:25:58 AM »
Download file linked in first post, extract them and copy extracted contents to card. If it fails with an error message about version you have to try the other file.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!