Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1663581 times)

flou

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1250 on: June 13, 2015, 03:44:32 PM »
in Alpha6 how can se the Temperature of my 70D?
70D.111B

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6871
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1251 on: June 13, 2015, 03:50:28 PM »
You cannot. It was removed because there is some kind of confusion about the sensor's behauviour.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

TechnoPilot

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 90
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1252 on: June 13, 2015, 10:06:56 PM »
in Alpha6 how can se the Temperature of my 70D?
You can still access the raw sensor values however from the Magic Lantern menu, though this is the raw value and not a true unit.
Cameras: Canon 70D - 70D.111B (Beta 2B)
Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm F1.8, Sigma 50-150mm F2.8 II
Video Gear: Shure Lenshopper VP83F, Rode Filmmaker Kit, DSLR Controller w/ TPLink MR3040

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1253 on: June 15, 2015, 04:31:05 AM »
I noticed the longer I ran Alpha 6, the more hot pixels I was seeing?  Probably needed to reset it all but agreed with Nik, so left it.

I switched back to May 10th, Alpha 5.B and this is my general observation.
Max. res 1824 ISO even 3200 did not produce hot pixels (OK 1 or 2) or shadow noise. Sure it was very grainy.
However in 3X crop mode, any ISO above 400, generated hot pixels and shadow noise.  Did not matter how fast the shutter was or low the f-stop.
The 3X crop signal is noisier and the higher ISO just amplifies the noise.  My guess is the dead/hot pixel remap is not applied during 3X crop mode.

Until variable fps is working, the higher res. settings are hard  to use, as frame skipping does not produce consistent timed skips. 
With variable frame rate one could set the fps low enough until its continuous, with a fast shutter and frame interpolation in post,
one could recover to 24fps.

Presently your best bet is to up res. from 1824 if you want a higher res. clip.     
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1254 on: June 16, 2015, 09:26:31 AM »
*fun stuff*

Shot MLV with 70D.111B (Alpha5b) in 1280 x 720, 23.971fps with EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM @ ISO 200 (fireplace scene's @ ISO 800) and workflow as it follows:

cr2hdr-r_2.3 > AE (Smart Import 2 + Cinelog-C) > FCPX (colorgrade)

Pre_Cinelog-C:


Post_Cinelog-C (ungraded):


Post_Cinelog-C (graded in FCPX):




Koji Sony SLog3Sgamut3Cine to SLog2709 2383 @76.79% + @Danne's Dan_log_01_warm_+15 @ 100% along with 03_cr2hdr-r_dan_log_bluey_contrast @ 16.07%:

Kodak Vision Premiem 2393 Grade 03:

*Update*
Koji Arri LogC to Rec709 2383:
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5914
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1255 on: June 16, 2015, 11:39:24 AM »
Nice. Did you add a warm lut in the dannes customized luts movie?

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1256 on: June 16, 2015, 02:28:10 PM »
Shot some variable rate frames.
Canon 1280p 60fps, in ML set  2048 @2.39, dialed fps to 30 fps, 3X crop, the number of frames was fine for 30 fps.
So I continued and dialed to 12 fps, but notice via number of frames the lowest it could shoot was 20 fps.
I tried 6 fps, but again the lowest via number of frames was 20 fps. 

So the bug is the min. fps, is 20, as it wont go slower.

Ideally we want  to hit 12fps, as that's the min. acceptable for frame interpolation if you want to recover to 24 fps.
I suspect one could recover to 2K video @ 24fps, with a 12fps we should get 2K continuous.  Presently at 20 fps, its 13 sec. before frame skips.
 
 
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1139
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1257 on: June 16, 2015, 03:40:49 PM »
@ShootMeAlready: Not possible at the moment. It's either min. 16,666 or min. ~20fps due to the "fps override bug". We aren't able to set timer B. 70D differs from all other cams and I have no solution atm other than setting fps_timer_b_max = fps_timer_b_org (hint: old CONFIG FPS_TIMER_A_ONLY).

If you need lower FPS just use HiJelloFastTV mode. That should work as it only uses FPS timer A
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1258 on: June 16, 2015, 06:38:58 PM »
Nice. Did you add a warm lut in the dannes customized luts movie?
Yes, Dan_log_01_warm_+15 @ 100% along with 03_cr2hdr-r_dan_log_bluey_contrast @ 16.07%
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

sweetshoot15

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1259 on: June 16, 2015, 09:31:50 PM »
@DeafEye  how do you like that 10-18mm on the 70D?  I was thinking of picking one up, although all my other lenses are f/2.8

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3307
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1260 on: June 16, 2015, 09:40:37 PM »
@DeafEye  how do you like that 10-18mm on the 70D?  I was thinking of picking one up, although all my other lenses are f/2.8

TBH, I think it's an OKAY lens (the only reason why I use it is for Gimbal purpose because its STM works well for AF on 70D) and it's extremely LIGHT but I learn that its best to close it down to 5.6 so when zooming in/out it doesnt change the exposure otherwise you will see what you saw in my clip above going from f4.5 to 5.6 during the zoom in... a major turn off for me!

Which 2.8 do you own?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

sweetshoot15

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1261 on: June 16, 2015, 09:47:58 PM »
TBH, I think it's an OKAY lens (the only reason why I use it is for Gimbal purpose because its STM works well for AF on 70D) and it's extremely LIGHT but I learn that its best to close it down to 5.6 so when zooming in/out it doesnt change the exposure otherwise you will see what you saw in my clip above going from f4.5 to 5.6 during the zoom in... a major turn off for me!

Which 2.8 do you own?

Thanks for the info!  Looking for a reasonably priced wide angle lens.   I currently have a Tamron SP 17-50mm f/2.8 VC  and a Tamron SP 70-200mm f/2.8 DI VC USD.  The 17-50 hunts a bit in low light as compared to the 70-200.

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1262 on: June 18, 2015, 10:33:30 AM »
Hi!
Aliasing and moiré make me cry :'( :'( :'(
Shot RAW with 70D.111A (Alpha5b) in 1824 x 776, 25fps ISO 100
Lens: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM
Graded in Adobe After Effects
Edited in Adobe Premiere pro
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112

Jaquen

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1263 on: June 18, 2015, 09:51:05 PM »
The installation of alpha6 on my 70d was pretty smooth. But when i'm reading thru the ML menu it switches back to live view sometimes after a second sometimes after 4 seconds. The magic zoom flickers continuously. Zebra stripes only show in Rec mode not live view (not sure if thats normal). I had one crash today and it wouldnt power off i had to take out the battery. How do i submit the log? How can i get previous verions of more stable ML? Also later that day in rec mode the screen had a magenta over cast and flickered terribly. the last picture also was showing on the live view screen but somewhat transparent somehow.

pulec7

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1264 on: June 18, 2015, 10:04:05 PM »
Hello, Now I have a week to play with ML 600D and now I dared to install ML on my other body 70D. Most of the stuff is ok but I can not find bitrate settings to 600D I had set 1.5x my body did not manage to 70D, I read that you can 3x on fast card.

Can you tell me where I can find this setting, I climbed almost everything and found nothing. I have the version 1.1.1 Alpha 6

rOOmUSh

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1265 on: June 18, 2015, 11:06:21 PM »
Hello all.

I wonder if anyone else have the problem with loading the FULL RES SILENT DNGs into Lightroom 6. It shows that the format is unsupported. LR 5 is fine. Same problem in Photoshop CC ACR 9. I guess it's the same engine. No problem with ACR 8.7.1

Thank you!

morningfox

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1266 on: June 20, 2015, 04:44:46 AM »
Sorry but I'm a total noob with ML.  I installed the b version of the Alpha program and even with Global Drawing OFF I get 2 horizontal parallel bars left after the Focus box clears.  I am looking for a way to get a clean display for a live feed.  Thanks in advance!

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1267 on: June 21, 2015, 10:39:40 AM »
If i use
mlv_rec -> mlrawviewer 1.3.3 -> dng -> lightroom 6 -> import -> error (preview unavailable)
raw_rec -> mlrawviewer 1.3.3 -> dng -> lightroom 6 -> import -> OK
is it bug or feature?
70D.112

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1268 on: June 21, 2015, 01:03:55 PM »
If i use
mlv_rec -> mlrawviewer 1.3.3 -> dng -> lightroom 6 -> import -> error (preview unavailable)
raw_rec -> mlrawviewer 1.3.3 -> dng -> lightroom 6 -> import -> OK
is it bug or feature?

Pretty sure light room doesn't support sound files so thats why mlv won't work.
70D.112

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1269 on: June 21, 2015, 02:44:59 PM »
mlrawviewer 1.3.3 generates wav + many dng files. Problem is with import dng file into lightroom. But DNG profile editor (from adobe too) opens this file.
70D.112

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1270 on: June 21, 2015, 05:35:49 PM »
MLV format has a lot of metadata that plain RAW does not. This metadata is also added to DNGs produced from the MLV file. The extra metadata appears to be causing problems for Lr.

You can try other converters including mlv_dump or MLVFS. If the problem persists please upload a MLV file and/or DNGs produced from the various converters.

snakec

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1271 on: June 21, 2015, 07:07:17 PM »
EXIF disappear when exporting with the plugin magic lantern.
Canon 70D with ML Alpha6B 111A - Canon 10-22 - Canon 50 1.8 - Tamron 17-50 2.8 - Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC USD

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 48
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1272 on: June 22, 2015, 10:15:09 AM »
MLV format has a lot of metadata that plain RAW does not. This metadata is also added to DNGs produced from the MLV file. The extra metadata appears to be causing problems for Lr.

You can try other converters including mlv_dump or MLVFS. If the problem persists please upload a MLV file and/or DNGs produced from the various converters.
I try mlv_dump.
mlv_dump and mlvrawviewer generate different outputs. mlv_dump dng has thumbnail readable from lightroom. Both dngs have errors in metadata (exposure time)
generated dng: https://mega.nz/#!xURVgATD!HDu84i1AzCMmOdOzvfsPY0uFYS3d-qd-5vbBuo2kDQ4

edit: mlvfs (on win) generates problem in LR too
70D.112

SuperDosh

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1273 on: June 22, 2015, 11:02:34 PM »
Noob-ish questions - How do you know whether your camera is 70D 111a or 111b?

Thanks in advance,
- Joe

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6871
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha6 31st May)
« Reply #1274 on: June 22, 2015, 11:04:41 PM »
Installing the wrong version will tell you to use the other one.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!