Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1693549 times)

danagiesbrecht

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1025 on: May 14, 2015, 01:21:47 AM »
Hi All,

So I have magic lantern finally installed properly and working but I don't see any settings for monitoring audio. Can someone help me out please?

Thanks,

Dana

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1026 on: May 14, 2015, 01:38:47 AM »
Hi All,

So I have magic lantern finally installed properly and working but I don't see any settings for monitoring audio. Can someone help me out please?

Thanks,

Dana

There is no AudioMonitoring in currebt release.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3366
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1027 on: May 14, 2015, 10:18:13 AM »
*Feedbacks*

Decided to test out the HDR feature...

70D shot in:
- RAW 60fps HDR mode iso 100/1600 (I know I could have done it in 48fps but wanted to push it for this test with 70D) and plus FPS override isn't quite working yet, obviously.

I also snapped a CR2 photo (thinking I had proper white balance on it) to use it as a "grey card" for HDR files but had it in the wrong WB settings. My fault will do another proper test.














Lots of aliasing w these HDR 70D files, eh?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1028 on: May 14, 2015, 09:39:44 PM »
is this RAW dual iso video or hdr video?
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6207
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1029 on: May 14, 2015, 10:00:34 PM »
I think he shot this in RAW HDR iso 100/1600 60fps. Frames are then halfed and automatically upscaled to 30fps when merged in cr2hdr-r.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3366
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1030 on: May 15, 2015, 01:10:53 AM »
Correct @Danne!
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

LightMan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1031 on: May 15, 2015, 08:20:55 AM »
Hello

I don't know if someone else notice that but I notice that ML corrupt the SD card and I finally have to format it. I can't read the card on my computer (card not initialized) or on my 70D (card unreadable).
When I succeed to format it and restore videos from it, videos are corrupted. I see that ML was deleted when reformating the card.
I record hours of video without any problem with ML but sometimes, without any reason, the card is unreadable and I have to format her.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1032 on: May 15, 2015, 09:30:28 AM »
ML doesn't reprogram SD-card interface but uses what Canon built in (hardware and software). Your case may be just coincidence or you treated card wrong. You have to wait a while after shutting down the cam before opening SD-card compartment. Otherwise you may disrupt ML shutdown.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

LightMan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1033 on: May 15, 2015, 01:45:48 PM »
ML doesn't reprogram SD-card interface but uses what Canon built in
I know it ! :)
Maybe I don't wait enough after shutting down... However I waited 5 sec before opening SD-CARD door.

Yuppa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 61
  • 60D + ML (Nightly)
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1034 on: May 15, 2015, 05:47:44 PM »
Quote from: LightMan: Today at 08:20:55 AM
When I succeed to format it and restore videos from it, videos are corrupted. I see that ML was deleted when reformating the card.

What do you mean by, "format?" On your computer? Of course all the files will be gone.

After EACH file transfer (session) from my camera (a 60D) to my computer, I put the SD card back in my camera and perform a "low level" format (ML restores itself unless I press the "Q" button to switch the option to remove).

But this is just me.

Cards do NOT last forever.  It might be time for new/better card.  In-camera SD card formatting should be part of your regular maintenance routine.

When you care more about capturing DATA, as opposed to WONDERMENT, you've lost your creative SOUL.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1035 on: May 15, 2015, 06:10:36 PM »
There are exceptions to the rule. Formatting in camera with cards up to 32 GByte will give you FAT32 file system. If you want to preserve ExFAT on those cards do *not* format in cam or you have to reformat them using cardreader. And use EOScard/Macboot to make card bootable again (or install ML again). And restore ML settings.
Could be routine, too but one I'd rather try to avoid.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

jman2015

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1036 on: May 16, 2015, 04:19:15 AM »
has anyone tried slow motion 60fps with ML, if you can only get a minute i assume you can only slow mo for 30 seconds?

debating if i want to install this might be the one to push me over the edge...

chmteacher

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1037 on: May 16, 2015, 06:54:44 AM »
I'm doing some experimenting, how do I actually uninstall ML from my 70D? Will I brick it if I just format the card?
Thx in advance,

xsghost

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 70D.111A
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1038 on: May 16, 2015, 08:17:17 AM »
has anyone tried slow motion 60fps with ML, if you can only get a minute i assume you can only slow mo for 30 seconds?

debating if i want to install this might be the one to push me over the edge...

How does one do slow motion 60fps with ML? Are you talking about fps override?
70D.111A     - 600D, 70D, Canon 50 1.8 II, Sigma 30 1.4, Sigma 18-35 1.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 VC

chann

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1039 on: May 16, 2015, 08:24:37 PM »
chmteacher, reply # 1037
ML resides in the sd card. Deleting ML or formatting card will uninstall - should not brick eos

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1040 on: May 16, 2015, 08:39:51 PM »
Formatting the card will *not* uninstall ML from the cam. It will render card non-bootable and ML files gone but cam's bootflag will still be set. But you will not see ML starting up using this card, that's true.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1041 on: May 16, 2015, 10:48:50 PM »
I formatted my card and tried to run the may version A but wouldn't let me update firmware or run ML. The previous version A worked fine for me. 
70D.112

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1042 on: May 16, 2015, 11:05:17 PM »
1) Format card using cardreader.
2) Format card using cam
3) Copy extracted nightly contents to card
4) Run firmware update
Report back
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

chmteacher

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1043 on: May 16, 2015, 11:09:09 PM »
Walter, your message would have been more helpful if it included actually how to reset the bootflag, i.e. truly "uninstall" ML....

Posted by: Walter Schulz
« on: Today at 08:39:51 PM » Insert Quote
Formatting the card will *not* uninstall ML from the cam. It will render card non-bootable and ML files gone but cam's bootflag will still be set. But you will not see ML starting up using this card, that's true.

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1044 on: May 16, 2015, 11:12:49 PM »
1) Format card using cardreader.
2) Format card using cam
3) Copy extracted nightly contents to card
4) Run firmware update
Report back
That's what I did the first time but did it again anyway and I am still getting the message 'Memory card containing firmware is required to update'.

I might try version B but seeing as A worked before I don't imagine that it would work either.
70D.112

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1045 on: May 16, 2015, 11:19:00 PM »
Walter, your message would have been more helpful if it included actually how to reset the bootflag, i.e. truly "uninstall" ML....

Read first post in this thread.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1046 on: May 16, 2015, 11:22:04 PM »
3) Copy extracted nightly contents to card
3) Copy extracted alpha-a contents to card
That's what I did the first time but did it again anyway and I am still getting the message 'Memory card containing firmware is required to update'.

FIR file present in card's root directory?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Frarike

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1047 on: May 16, 2015, 11:25:21 PM »
Ok that was it, thanks. :-[

70D.112

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1048 on: May 17, 2015, 01:50:27 AM »
In movie tweaks, their is an enable option to keep recording by starting another clip after 29.59min. 
When I shoot raw and it skips a frame, the next clip does not start when enabled.  It would be verrry useful to start the next movie after a skipped frame. This would effectively increase the raw video time (ok I realize might be 0.5 sec. lost between stop/restart)
but for 1824x776 @ 2.35 aspect which runs about 15s on a 70D, this would make a huge difference ... almost increasing the raw video time for free.

I also wonder if you entered a value like start/stop after X frames, if the stop present/start next clip time could be reduced to like 0.1sec.
Not sure about what happens after you hit stop.  How fast can one cue up the next video if its preprogrammed???
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

chmteacher

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5b 23rd April)
« Reply #1049 on: May 17, 2015, 02:13:01 AM »
Walter, I have read the stupid first post about 10,000 times. It does not state how to uninstall. Unfortunately this forum has a terrible way of actually searching within this particular thread. Instead of being a d&ck why not actually post how to uninstall it if you know how?