Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 2163125 times)

inestima

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #750 on: April 23, 2015, 02:45:39 PM »
Once you start your reply, below where you type your comment you'll see the recent posts on the thread, and each will have an "Insert Quote" button.

So I can't quote earlier posts then?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8287
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #751 on: April 23, 2015, 02:56:45 PM »
So I can't quote earlier posts then?

You can but it's not a single-click action. You may have to use clipboard and mark copied text as quote. Finetuning (= link to the post quoted) has to be done manually.
You may ask why all this circumstances. It's because we had more than our share of full-quotes ...

inestima

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #752 on: April 23, 2015, 04:13:41 PM »
Thanks for the info @kubodhi and @walterschulz

Conaxe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • 70D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #753 on: April 23, 2015, 05:58:28 PM »
   Apporx' 30secs after startup, in Still Mode, the Red Activity LED starts Flashing every 4secs. If startup is done in Vid' Mode this dose not happen ~

                              ORR ~ DeanB ~ 70D+ML111B
"B" version

having the same experience

And the same thing that was said about not pressing "Q" for +/- 5 seconds that ML menu disappears.
70D.111B

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #754 on: April 23, 2015, 06:01:32 PM »
...
do you still need these log files? do I need to do an fps video test before I run the log or no?

yes, I do. One user posted me yesterday a link on google drive but didn't allow me access to it the same time. On the other side: no one tried yet to see which stubs passed??
70D.112 & 100D.101

phengaris

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #755 on: April 23, 2015, 06:02:56 PM »
Hey there!

First off all, thank you for your engagement to run ML on the 70D! I'm already enjoying it on my "old revision camera"!
But there are a few things I'd like to ask you.

First off all: The Canon interface isnt working properly. You'll see it in the attachments.

1. ML Interface (works damn fine!) :)


2. Canon Interface (some elements missing)


3. Canon Interface after pressing the touchscreen on the spots where those elements should be.


Is that a commonly known problem?

The 2nd thing is about the FPS Override:
 I tried several shots today (0,5; 2, and 10 FPS) - there were many lags in every take. Sometimes the recording stopped for some seconds and then it continued.

And the 3rd question for you is about the temperature.
When I was outside it was no problem, the temp of the camera was about 40°C (18°C outside, slightly windy and in the shadow)
I tried it again in my room. Made those pictures you see of my interface and filmed for 13mins on a tripod. So the camera was running for about 20 mins, and the temp rised to 55 - 59°C. Is this still normal? I shut off the cam because the temp sign turned red :)

Thanks in advance,

cheers,
phengaris

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #756 on: April 23, 2015, 06:05:52 PM »
Someone post stubs api logfile for 70D_111B plz
70D.112 & 100D.101

inestima

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #757 on: April 23, 2015, 06:39:04 PM »
Someone post stubs api logfile for 70D_111B plz

The file is 1GB is that right? test.dat?


DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #758 on: April 23, 2015, 06:58:05 PM »
@nikfreak:

Here's the stub-api test log file from 70D_111B per your request...

https://mega.co.nz/#!ytV2TZRZ!TAWT6_BxO9alqpiJrzI36ddu1f79LWh2JAeXMpFF81w

Anyway here's what the Dual-ISO footage are looking like coming straight out of 70D_11B (Alpha 5):

https://vimeo.com/125819311

In this particular clip which shows two regular MLV's and two Dual-ISO MLV's... kind of strange effects? Possible bug?

More testings to come...
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #759 on: April 23, 2015, 07:01:24 PM »
Someone post stubs api logfile for 70D_111B plz
If I run stubs api test, it crashes

ASSERT: IsSuiteSignature( hSuite )
at ./PackMemory/PackMem.c:1115, task run_test
lv:0 mode:2

edit: my next test was without error
https://mega.co.nz/#!BUhx0JCA!fGJprVd0bNAzNXTc4lG5dSOkqoP0lsov4CuEuA1inMM
70D.112

Conaxe

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • 70D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #760 on: April 23, 2015, 07:36:44 PM »
If I run stubs api test, it crashes

ASSERT: IsSuiteSignature( hSuite )
at ./PackMemory/PackMem.c:1115, task run_test
lv:0 mode:2
Same here again

"Creating a 2gb file.  40/130"

Somewhere in the 40' while making those packages, screen went black and it shuts down by its own. No extra modules where installed. Just Plain alpha5
70D.111B

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #761 on: April 23, 2015, 07:54:01 PM »
@nikfreak:

Here's the stub-api test log file from 70D_111B per your request...

https://mega.co.nz/#!ytV2TZRZ!TAWT6_BxO9alqpiJrzI36ddu1f79LWh2JAeXMpFF81w

Anyway here's what the Dual-ISO footage are looking like coming straight out of 70D_11B (Alpha 5):

https://vimeo.com/125819311

In this particular clip which shows two regular MLV's and two Dual-ISO MLV's... kind of strange effects? Possible bug?

More testings to come...

Ok thanx for the stubs logfile. It contains 2 FAILS:

Code: [Select]
[FAIL] ABS((get_us_clock_value() - t0) - 310000) => 0x62d
[FAIL] MEM(dialog->type) => 0x414944

@a1ex which stubs could be wrong? regarding "ASSERT: IsSuiteSignature( hSuite ) I guess some memory / fio stub could be wrong. Would be nice if you could comment on this...

Regarding dualiso in video mode we need to recheck these with adtg_gui.mo:
Code: [Select]
FRAME_CMOS_ISO_START = 0x4045349a; // CMOS register 0000 - for LiveView, ISO 100 (check in movie mode, not photo!)
FRAME_CMOS_ISO_COUNT =          7; // from ISO 100 to 6400 (last real iso!)
FRAME_CMOS_ISO_SIZE  =         46; // distance between ISO 100 and ISO 200 addresses, in bytes

Please find attached a new buid for use with 70D_111B which contains adtg_gui module to check above CMOS register. Try to load adtg_gui.mo. Check CMOS 000 register and distance between ISO 100 and ISO 200 as seen above.
Download these nightlies and extract / overwrite to your sdcard to help checking FRAME_CMOS stuff for 70D_111B.

70D_111B

Afterwards just redownload from 1st post and use that again.
70D.112 & 100D.101

phengaris

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #762 on: April 23, 2015, 07:59:16 PM »
Has someone an idea about my problems? Canon interface, FPS override or the temperature?
Do you need any more infos nikfreak?
Thank you,

cheers,
Phengaris

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #763 on: April 23, 2015, 08:07:59 PM »
FPS override is known to not working read through last pages of this thread to help noting down how and when it works. If that's nothing for you then stop using fps override. Temperature shown is not exact temperature. Your bug with canon interface pic2 looks interesting. How to reproduce exactly? I guess it happens due to:

Code: [Select]
[FAIL] MEM(dialog->type) => 0x414944
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #764 on: April 23, 2015, 08:12:11 PM »
@nikfreak:

Just downloaded the new build per your request and overwrote it in SD card...

Went to Modules and there isn't a adtg_gui.mo enlisted?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #765 on: April 23, 2015, 08:14:26 PM »
Ok Hot Pixels (not dead pixels) findings.
This seem to be related to three things.
1. Possible dirt - either sensor or lens.   If one is bold & careful clean the sensor.  Clean the lens, check if lens specific.
There is a sensor remap of hot/dead pixels trick which some have reported works for video for what cant be cleaned.


2. More hot pixels proportional to duration Liveview is on - some suggest the sensor is being cooked, and the hot pixels may become dead pixels if left on too long.  So one needs to take serious first sign of hot pixels, and try to resolve/clean up.
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1098707

3. Most observe that higher ISO means more hot pixels (via amplification) - But 70D has a high  ISO noise reduction, this is what I think may not be working 100% in rev B.  I will check it out more rigorously to see if different settings reduce it.
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/canon-70d/canon-70dHI_ISO_NR.HTM

There a number of post processing fixes, but clearly one wants to remedy hot pixels to avoid them becoming dead pixels.

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #766 on: April 23, 2015, 08:18:23 PM »
@nikfreak:

Just downloaded the new build per your request and overwrote it in SD card...

Went to Modules and there isn't a adtg_gui.mo enlisted?

My fault:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Mu66yg5QzRZEtadnRFUEdTc0U/view?usp=sharing

Check that!
70D.112 & 100D.101

lojzik

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #767 on: April 23, 2015, 08:28:29 PM »
Your bug with canon interface pic2 looks interesting. How to reproduce exactly? I guess it happens due to:
Code: [Select]
[FAIL] MEM(dialog->type) => 0x414944
I have problem with canon interface too.
start 70D(B) -> start LV -> [info] -> canon screen (ok)-> [info] -> canon screen with histogram (ok)-> [info] -> screen with level indicator (ok)-> [info] -> screen with missing elements
70D.112

phengaris

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #768 on: April 23, 2015, 08:31:07 PM »
Thanks for your answer.
Ok, I'll have a look a the FPS override issue.
Interesting. If there is smth we can do to fix the interface bug / or to help you by giving you any data just tell us.

cheers

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #769 on: April 23, 2015, 08:32:56 PM »
naaah going to check those dozen dialog / display stubs manually. Could take some minutes...
70D.112 & 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #770 on: April 23, 2015, 08:39:40 PM »
Found it:


/** Dialog API **/
NSTUB(0xFF4E20E0,  dialog_redraw)
NSTUB(0xFF393CDC,  dialog_set_property_str)

/** Dialog handlers **/
NSTUB(0xFF4E20E0 NoGo same as above  :P,  ErrCardForLVApp_handler)
70D.112 & 100D.101

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #771 on: April 23, 2015, 08:48:46 PM »
Ok here is a new download for 70D_111B. better now? can you redo "Burn-in test - > Stubs api" and post the file here?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9Mu66yg5QzRWVlWM0hCSzllbGM/view?usp=sharing
70D.112 & 100D.101

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3410
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #772 on: April 23, 2015, 08:49:50 PM »
Should I use this one instead of the previous one you sent from earlier post above?
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1197
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #773 on: April 23, 2015, 08:50:52 PM »
It's the same with adtg_gui just the stub avove fixed. Why not? if you didn't already find the COS register with the older download. The stubs api test with this new download should be ok. Just post the result plz.
70D.112 & 100D.101

phengaris

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha5 21st April)
« Reply #774 on: April 23, 2015, 09:08:39 PM »
Thank you nikfreak!
I just removed ML from my SD card and replaced it with the new version. Still this strange Canon-interface problem...
cheers,
Phengaris