Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1741200 times)

rihardsg

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #600 on: April 03, 2015, 12:14:54 PM »
Just tried on my 053022016xxx.
Doesn't work out.
After patching live view get frozen and after rebooting Err 80.

MattNoir

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #601 on: April 03, 2015, 12:48:10 PM »
CommanderHT
I am afraid 1080p 60fps would not be possible because of hardware limitations (write speed) and petition would do nothing. i whink they know well what people want, they must roam the internet and see our wishes. But if they implement it, it would cost much more, because *MARKETING*
70D.111A
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, Helios 44M-4

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #602 on: April 03, 2015, 07:36:21 PM »
1080 60fps - hmmm how about h264 write to usb for clean outs.  That's a bit more interesting. 
Once I get 70D raw loading, I am interested in the write to card & usb dual approach ... if that works that can increase performance for all ML cameras. 
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #603 on: April 03, 2015, 07:43:35 PM »
Isn't All-I for 70D at 25 fps something around 12 MByte/s write rate? That should not be a problem with SD-card interface even at 60 fps with H.264 and there is no need to fool around with USB.
Correct me if my calculations are wrong.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

xsghost

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • 70D.111A
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #604 on: April 04, 2015, 11:15:22 AM »
So I just installed ML on my 70D and I'm looking at the functions for arrow keys (ISO, WB), but I can't toggle the function to come on. It says I should use the LIGHT key, but pressing it does nothing while recording, and it just toggles the.. lcd light in liveview. Is there something I'm missing, or is it just not working yet?

Also, i'm missing the display of the rec time, or remaining rec time while recording.
And the DigitalZoom shortcut (1x,3x) that I grew accustomed to on my 600D.
70D.111A     - 600D, 70D, Canon 50 1.8 II, Sigma 30 1.4, Sigma 18-35 1.8, Tamron 17-50 2.8 VC

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #605 on: April 04, 2015, 08:29:21 PM »
Walter I get IPB compression (1920x1080x24x30=1492MB vs 85MB) as 17.6MB/S  well under the 40MB/s card writer speed.  based on http://learn.usa.canon.com/resources/articles/2012/ipp_ipb_all_i_compare.htmlp

So 1920x1080x60=3732.5 MB and with IPB compression applied write speed needed is 44 MB/s. Note quite sustainable on a 70D.  Check if I am wrong.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #606 on: April 04, 2015, 09:20:23 PM »
Sorry, I cannot follow your maths.
"1920x1080x24x30=1492MB"
The source you linked got a file 106 MByte big after 30 seconds in All-I 1080p24. -> My math gives me about 3.5 MByte/s (rather low. I had higher rates in IPB ...)

Canon tells about 5 minutes for each 4 GByte. Math tells me it's about 13.3 MByte/s.
Following that number 60 fps will require about 33.3 MByte/s. Sufficient with the SD-card interface.

I have no idea where you got that 1492 number.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

SgtIcetea

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #607 on: April 04, 2015, 10:22:52 PM »
Any new info for not working 70Ds? Was it an April's fool or is ML coming for anyone now? I could not find any download or test version for this and couldn't figure out whats true now

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7244
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #608 on: April 04, 2015, 10:28:34 PM »
There indeed was a pull request *before* April Fools Day but Nikfreak fell for the prank and chickened out. Pull request got re-instated after he found out what was actually going on.
But "We are not there yet" applies as long this pull request is in review.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

SgtIcetea

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #609 on: April 04, 2015, 10:54:42 PM »
Okay thanks, I will wait for test versions

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #610 on: April 05, 2015, 02:01:53 PM »
Hi could someone help me. I had the First Nightly ML and then i changed to the new one. It worked now i can't get anything. Ive formatted the card on my mac and in my 70d and tried to start a fresh but alas nothing. Press the trash can and nothing happens anymore. Is there something that has changed or something different that i need to do. Ive copied the files across onto the card like i did originally. I took a picture before copying the files across just incase so it made the DCIM folder etc. Any help would be appreciated greatly

chris_overseas

  • Moderators
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 223
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #611 on: April 05, 2015, 02:05:52 PM »
@Mallowsm: sounds like your card is no longer marked as bootable.
5D Mark IV 1.1.2 | 5D Mark III v1.2.3 | Canon 16-35mm f4.0L | Tamron SP 24-70mm f/2.8 Di VC USD G2 | Canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS II | Canon 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L II | Canon 800mm f5.6L | Canon 100mm f2.8L macro | Sigma 14mm f/1.8 DG HSM Art | Yongnuo YN600EX-RT II

Mallowsm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #612 on: April 05, 2015, 02:08:43 PM »
@Mallowsm: sounds like your card is no longer marked as bootable.
Yeah i completely formatted the thing like highest level on the disk utility it took forever but its all sorted now, Running ML again. Thanks

anthonykeane

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #613 on: April 06, 2015, 06:40:07 AM »
BUG REPORT:

Motion Detect:

Err 70 happens after several successful shots, locks the camera with an err 70, powering off causes the LCD to show battery, the number 1 ( in the shots remaining) and a single bar from the exposure gradient.

requires the removal of the battery to recover Alpha 4b



20D, 70D, 50mm 1.4, 18-135

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #614 on: April 06, 2015, 03:31:40 PM »
So I just installed ML on my 70D and I'm looking at the functions for arrow keys (ISO, WB), but I can't toggle the function to come on. It says I should use the LIGHT key, but pressing it does nothing while recording, and it just toggles the.. lcd light in liveview. Is there something I'm missing, or is it just not working yet?

nice find while playing around with that I discovered that SET+MAINDIAL wouldn't work too. Fixed it by using a different Apphandler stub while reviewing images...
70D.112 & 100D.101

yoyo75011

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #615 on: April 07, 2015, 12:20:48 PM »
Hi everyone, I am new on the forum.
I installed ML on my 70D (098024000xxx) two days ago. So far, it seems to work fine. I use it almost only on video mode and I will test it tomorrow during a 2 hours show.
Thanks for the job you all are doing.

Guitarshredder1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #616 on: April 07, 2015, 08:04:32 PM »

Hi everyone, I am new on the forum.
I installed ML on my 70D (098024000xxx) two days ago. So far, it seems to work fine. I use it almost only on video mode and I will test it tomorrow during a 2 hours show.
Thanks for the job you all are doing.

Make sure to thoroughly test out all settings before the show in order to avoid recording issues.

muc2810

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #617 on: April 07, 2015, 11:15:45 PM »
on my 70D "Motion Detect" works fine. There is no error. I did about 50 RAW's in a line. No Problems Using the latest build.

What about Audio? Any chance to get it in the next alpha? Would be great.

Thanks
Stefan
70D - FW 1.1.1 Rev. A.

Stigliano

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #618 on: April 08, 2015, 09:13:14 PM »
Excuse my English. Google Translate.  ;D ;D
I need to use a TV as video assist, connected by HDMI.
Its out image on TV and continue on the LCD?
hug

yoyo75011

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #619 on: April 09, 2015, 10:59:01 AM »
Hi Stigliano,
no, you will only have the image on your field/external monitor, and pay attention to this, if you are out of battery on your monitor or disconnect it, it will stop recording.

yoyo75011

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #620 on: April 09, 2015, 11:17:05 AM »
Hi
back from my first vidéo shooting using ML. Works fine even if I couldn't test everything...It changes a bit to have all these information on the screen but so far, I had no trouble during recording.
There is one thing I would mention, even if I mostly use manual focus, when I tried with auto focus, the square mark disappeared automatically after 2 sec. Is it normal?

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1163
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #621 on: April 09, 2015, 12:54:34 PM »
Hi
back from my first vidéo shooting using ML. Works fine even if I couldn't test everything...It changes a bit to have all these information on the screen but so far, I had no trouble during recording.
There is one thing I would mention, even if I mostly use manual focus, when I tried with auto focus, the square mark disappeared automatically after 2 sec. Is it normal?

Check ML settings. autofocus box is set to "auto-hide" by default. Change it to "show" and that's it.
70D.112 & 100D.101

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6487
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #622 on: April 09, 2015, 02:31:31 PM »
Hi Nikfreak! Nice work on 70D. The cr2hdr20bit version you provide, does it lack the option gramymed, graymax? Couldn,t find the options from N/A compilation.

yoyo75011

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #623 on: April 09, 2015, 06:29:56 PM »
Great, thanks for your passion.

snakec

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #624 on: April 10, 2015, 05:52:31 AM »
Where is bitratre ..X for movie?
Canon 70D with ML Alpha6B 111A - Canon 10-22 - Canon 50 1.8 - Tamron 17-50 2.8 - Tamron 70-200 2.8 VC USD