Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1900921 times)

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #525 on: March 17, 2015, 07:49:34 PM »
On 64 GB card I usually record 4+ hours without any need to control bitrate.

ga83

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #526 on: March 17, 2015, 08:02:51 PM »
You shoot videos with battery grip installed? Do you have any overheating issue?

grey

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #527 on: March 17, 2015, 09:47:18 PM »
You shoot videos with battery grip installed? Do you have any overheating issue?

No. I change batteries. I have 6 pcs. LP-E6 from DSTE. Never had overheating problems with 70D, and with 6D too. My friend have 5D3, and when we record long videos he has problems with temperature. We record at same time with 5D3 + 650D + 6D and only 5D3 overheat.

TKF Productions

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #528 on: March 18, 2015, 06:57:21 PM »
This Alpha4b release is amazing!  I had the Alpha3 build and it literally took me 30 seconds to update it with the new installation/bootable process.  Thank you for your continued hard work on this!

dbox

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #529 on: March 19, 2015, 12:57:10 AM »
Hi everybody

Any news about ML for 70D with low s/n?

flou

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #530 on: March 19, 2015, 12:05:36 PM »
My serial start with #065 , I had se the smaller than #068 is not possible to use the ML.

So my questions is? When we will have a version for all serials? is possible? Or not?
70D.111B

kubodhi

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #531 on: March 19, 2015, 02:26:35 PM »
Hi everybody

Any news about ML for 70D with low s/n?

My serial start with #065 , I had se the smaller than #068 is not possible to use the ML.

So my questions is? When we will have a version for all serials? is possible? Or not?


Welcome to the community!  :)  Just watch the first post of this thread.  I'm sure information will be posted there when the effort swings from getting ML working on the 70D that the developer has in his hands to making the necessary adjustments for it to work on other versions.  Asking this question over and over for 20+ pages won't accelerate the development or even likely get you an ETA.
550D->70D.111A, Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 DC HSM, Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X116 Pro DX, Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II, YongNuo YN-468 II E-TTL Speedlite With LCD

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3401
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #532 on: March 19, 2015, 03:55:47 PM »
Seriously enough with these questions -- It'll most likely sabotage the developments so please be patience and respect the dev's otherwise...
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

AsevenX

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #533 on: March 20, 2015, 04:44:18 PM »
Signed up to show support for this and wish the devs the best of luck! You guys are awesome.

Apologies if this is inappropriate for the thread. I've been following this for a few months now and thought I'd say something.

n00p

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #534 on: March 20, 2015, 07:37:48 PM »
Hi folks,
seems I have the "wrong" rev with my 70D.
What can I do to support the development except sending my cam (I need it myself)?
Is there a possibility to get a dump of my cam OS or whatever you need?
Since I'm not a developer, please give me a hint how to extract it from the cam and I'll see what I can do.

Thanks in advance!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #535 on: March 20, 2015, 07:57:58 PM »
Please read this thread. It makes no sense trying to support both firmware versions during this early state of development. Once the bugs for the "later" version are sorted out and port is complete it's supposed to be a matter of days for a port coming up for the "early" version.
Until then: Stay calm and carry on!

PanzerMamba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #536 on: March 21, 2015, 12:37:34 PM »
Overlays
-Zebras: ok
-Focus Peak: ok
-magic zoom: ok
-cropmarks: ok
-ghost img: not tested
-spotmeter: seems ok
-false color: seems ok
-histogram: ok
-waveform: ok
-vectorscope: ok

Movie:
-grad expo: not tested
-fps override: not sure
-hdr video: seems ok
-vignetting: not tested
-fine tuning:  seems ok
-raw video: almost ok*
-movie tweaks: ok
-dual iso: almost ok**

Shoot
-Intervalometer: ok
-Bracketing: ok
-bulb: not tested
-motion detect: ok
-silent picture: ok

Focus:
-Trap focus: works ok, but i can't stop this function, i had to restart camera (because trash button didn't leads to ml menu)

* AF box disappears after pressing shutter button, and won't appear again.  Sometimes AF works (after pressing shutter button), sometimes not, sometimes camera focus on whole frame, sometimes nothing happening  (stays out of focus)
** Camera heated up intensely, image in liveview is really hard to focus manually, AF is not working.

ML menu kicks out randomly- really annoying sometimes. But generally its stabile. 

X-STATE

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 76
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #537 on: March 21, 2015, 03:39:41 PM »
@PanzerMamba, upload the result of dual iso video, plz
Body: Canon EOS 70D Lenses: Sigma 18-35mm f1.8 DC HSM Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM
70D.112

Ryan1singer

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #538 on: March 23, 2015, 02:31:08 AM »
I have been following this thread as amazing progress has unfolded. Has this alpha enabled the possibility of 60fps/1080p?

falllengh

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #539 on: March 23, 2015, 03:29:02 AM »
waiting for the support of all revisions!

crirus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #540 on: March 23, 2015, 06:32:16 PM »
Hello

Just installed the alpha 4b. Installation was just peachy, fast, no issues. However it's not staying in ML menu if I let it inactive for 2-3 seconds.
It heats up to about 64-68C in 30-40 minutes of playing with it, I suppose that's it?
I can't see the green bars on magic zoom focus confirm, should I be in some specific mode/setting?

Otherwise I have no complains, I can already use it in production, with the long time use reserve for now :)

Thank you

Cristian

MattNoir

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #541 on: March 23, 2015, 07:29:04 PM »
Crirus - if you want to stay in ML menu, try it without liveview, I didn't have any problems.
70D.111A
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, Helios 44M-4

jpturner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #542 on: March 23, 2015, 09:50:26 PM »
YES!!!! Please add support the other revisions of 1.1.1...  Thanks for your work and diligence in bringing ML to the 70D!!!

crirus

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #543 on: March 24, 2015, 10:01:19 AM »
Hello,

well yes, that could be a temporary solution but I rather not close live view each time I jump to menu. Not a deal breaker right now anyways, just a nice fix when everything else works.

One other thing I keep getting asked by people that didn't dare yet to install ML is that if ML can keep the live view open while a hdmi or USB cable is plugged in.

@nikfreak, Do you plan to look into that ?


Regards.

ubermood

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #544 on: March 25, 2015, 08:26:08 AM »
I installed and tested Alpha4b yesterday.

One thing that I noticed is that.. after every shot taken, when it previews my picture for 2 sec(s), the preview image is slowly filled up with white garbage pixels from top to bottom before the preview disappears again. I can't remember that it did behave like this before.

Another thing I realised is that, ML:s global draw / onscreen layers are not working when WIFI is set to ON. Had hard time figuring out what was wrong before I figured this out.

Also, the on-screen level meter (in form of a line) erases/eats up my AF-points from the screen when it passes over them.

And last, but not least... it's very annoying when ML menu suddenly disappears after a couple of seconds. It's also not possible to go back to the menu again and change the setting you fiddled with before without first moving (with the keypad) to another setting and then back to the setting that was marked when ML-menu opened with.


Thanks (!!) and keep on working..! :)

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1186
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #545 on: March 25, 2015, 08:44:38 AM »

One thing that I noticed is that.. after every shot taken, when it previews my picture for 2 sec(s), the preview image is slowly filled up with white garbage pixels from top to bottom before the preview disappears again. I can't remember that it did behave like this before.

This "garbage" only appears when RAW zebras are selected to show after taking a pic. So either disable that in ML menu (no raw zebras for QR) or use "Luma Fast" for now.
70D.112 & 100D.101

tuxfoto

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #546 on: March 25, 2015, 09:37:59 AM »
Another thing I realised is that, ML:s global draw / onscreen layers are not working when WIFI is set to ON. Had hard time figuring out what was wrong before I figured this out.

Hi,
i have same effect.
There isnĀ“t Picture in Display, mac only.

Greetings und Thanks for your work nikfreak

martijnsx

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #547 on: March 26, 2015, 07:46:46 PM »
Good to see that there is progress being made  :)

Approximately how long do you (who are working on it) think we have to wait for the final release/version?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #548 on: March 26, 2015, 07:57:09 PM »
It takes how long it takes.

ciriuss925

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha4 14th March)
« Reply #549 on: March 26, 2015, 11:10:31 PM »
I am new member of this post - just got my 70D last week (upgrading from Canon T1i - initially wanted the 7DMark ii but decided against it - I'm on a budget thus the 70D).   

Just dropping a note to thank the ML coders and testers for their hard work -  I am looking forward (no rush!)  to use Magic Lantern once the first version comes out :)  In the meantime I am going through the other posts to read the wonderful features of ML  (currently am interested in dualISO and intervalometer as I am primarily into photography, but looking to experiment with ML video features - raw video or HDR video - when I become more acquainted with the 70D camera).