Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1759726 times)

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #250 on: January 30, 2015, 03:36:34 AM »
Hello All,


I'm sorry to ask this question once more but didn't get any answer... Is the advanced bracketing available on this ML? I don't talk about HDR video, just the ability to make more brackets.

Thanks a lot,
VFero

maxxens

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #251 on: January 30, 2015, 09:28:18 AM »
I have a general question. What exactly happens when the first step (the Firmwareupdate) is executed and are the changes reversible?

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #252 on: January 30, 2015, 09:42:21 AM »
There is a thingy called "bootflag" set in the camera. This is - at time of writing - non-reversible and causes a delay (about 1.5 seconds) at startup and exiting powersave mode.
The rest (executable code) is stored in the card.

maxxens

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #253 on: January 30, 2015, 10:23:27 AM »
I expected that there would be some flag. The question was only, if setting this flag is reversible and if you could get problems with cps.

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #254 on: January 30, 2015, 10:31:23 AM »
See FAQ. There is not a single report about problems with CPS and/or other support departments since ML is in the wild.

But this piece of code is in alpha stage.
 

maxxens

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #255 on: January 30, 2015, 11:44:54 AM »
I know, that it is an alpha right now. Unfortunately I don't have time to help with the debugging myself but I am thankful for all who help improving ML and of course also the programmer :)
Until then I wait for a more stable version and/or more time to test myself..

Piggy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #256 on: January 30, 2015, 04:17:42 PM »
New here, and just want to say HUGE thanks to the devs working on the 70D. So stoked and looking forward to a stable / beta build!

Quick question for y'all, is / will 1080p @ 60fps be possible with ML on the 70D? SO sorry if this was asked / there is an obvious answer, search didn't turn up anything that I could see.

Thanks guys!
Actually I misunderstood your question, I thought you were talking about RAW, it is possible, but FPS override is not available right now

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #257 on: January 31, 2015, 08:11:40 PM »
Installation of ML is OK but i can't follow step 11 ( eoscard say: Write Failed ). Does somebody knows how to make it work? So close to make it run :)

Thanks
Vince

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7300
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #258 on: January 31, 2015, 08:14:55 PM »
EOScard version?
OS used?
Internal/external writer?
Card type?

Have you tried different cardreaders?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #259 on: January 31, 2015, 08:19:03 PM »
Sorry:

Eos Card 1.40
Windows 7
External Reader
Tried on another one and makes the same

SanDisk SDSDX-016G-FFP 16 GB 45 MB/s Extreme

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7300
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #260 on: January 31, 2015, 08:25:55 PM »
Maybe (as in "maybe") your antivirus software is doing this. Are you able to deactivate your suite temporarily?
Or do you have another cam supported by ML?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #261 on: January 31, 2015, 08:32:38 PM »
Antivirus off, it doesn't work. Gonna try another card

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #262 on: January 31, 2015, 08:54:49 PM »
~Don't work with another card... Still trying!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #263 on: January 31, 2015, 09:46:16 PM »
It will not be possible to shoot 1080p @ 60fps with the 70D in camera.
If you put it in 1280p at 60fps, then there is no 3X crop.
Without the crop you will get limitted by the camera max. res. which I am not sure for 70D, but its less than 1920x1080.
If you put it in 1920p at 24/30 fps and try to override fps to 60, you find actual fps is less than 60 fps.
So there is no way to do that.  Best bet is to shoot, 1280p at 60fps with higher bit rate, then up res. to 1080p.

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 85 1.8 "Shoot Wide and Prosper"

vfero

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #264 on: January 31, 2015, 10:11:49 PM »
Got it. Comodo was blocking eoscard... Sorry

I've got now ML on my 70D :)

As i've said before, my 600D+ML does have advanced bracketing.
How to know if it's planned for 70D too?

Thanks all

chrbhm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #265 on: February 01, 2015, 10:08:38 AM »
Guys,

since I installed Alpha2 I encountered probs with TrapFocus. Worked mostly fine on Alpha1.
Shutter does not release on focus confirmation anymore.

Rgds
Christian

P.S.: Switching back to Alpha1 and Trap Focus works like a charm.

cryptyk

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #266 on: February 01, 2015, 07:25:05 PM »
It looks like ettr.mo isn't included in the Alpha2 release.  Is that intentional?  I see the module source in the repo...

Thanks!
Ryan

hi2gage.pdx

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #267 on: February 01, 2015, 07:50:09 PM »
So whats the plan with the early serial numbers?
Are we just in the dark or are they working on ours too?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7300
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #268 on: February 01, 2015, 07:56:09 PM »
Calm down and show patience. Current state is Alpha 2 and supporting two different firmware versions right now doesn't make that much sense.
In fact: You and all others with "the other" firmware version will benefit from those having to struggle with this alpha.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

nikfreak

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1171
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #269 on: February 01, 2015, 08:07:48 PM »
P.S.: Switching back to Alpha1 and Trap Focus works like a charm.

Ok found it and thx for reporting. Once I got some steps further i will include it but it may take some time. Actually I am kinda stuck on some bugs and that makes headaches plus rubs all time...
70D.112 & 100D.101

DaaC234

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #270 on: February 02, 2015, 09:10:23 AM »
@nikfreak



PanzerMamba

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #271 on: February 02, 2015, 02:29:57 PM »
How to uninstall ml alpha?

walter_schulz

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #272 on: February 02, 2015, 02:37:43 PM »
At time of writing you will be unable to remove cam's bootflag.
To wipe all ML content from card: Insert into cardreader and format it. There are some other ways to disable ML from running but this will work for sure.

Teran0vA

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #273 on: February 02, 2015, 04:45:10 PM »
“Guys,

since I installed Alpha2 I encountered probs with TrapFocus. Worked mostly fine on Alpha1.
Shutter does not release on focus confirmation anymore.

Rgds
Christian

P.S.: Switching back to Alpha1 and Trap Focus works like a charm.” - chrbhm

Alpha 1’s Trap Focus is much slower compared to my 60D (same lens and settings) and starts to get very unresponsive after a bit of use, even sometimes randomly taking a picture a while (1 – 2 min) after the last focus confirmation. I haven’t tried alpha 2 yet but it seems the same problem is still happening according to chrbhm. Strange that its fine on his Alpha 1. I’ll try Alpha 2 later tonight when I get a chance.

Thanks for the hard work. Can’t wait for the complete build ;)

pkrskr

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 70D (Alpha2 28th January)
« Reply #274 on: February 03, 2015, 09:06:22 AM »
Hi,

I'm working on Computational Photography, specifically focal stack acquisition, and I'm looking to buy a new camera specifically to be able to use MagicLantern. Is this feature already working on the Canon 70D or should I purchase the older 60D just to be sure that the release is stable and everything works well.

Thanks in anticipation for your replies. I apologize if I'm on the wrong thread. I would love to contribute to development. Please guide me to where and how I can start.