Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1620415 times)

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3375 on: May 21, 2019, 06:57:08 PM »
      &ShootMeAlready

It appears I'm Already doing My SetUp the same as Yours,, Except > I'm unclear on the meaning of this >
 
"- in ML, Sd overclock at 160 MB/s, need to override the warning
- go back check your resolution message, it should be green (or flicker from red to green, I did not always see solid green)
If not reselect the overclock,"

I don't get any visual indication that SD O'C' is active > 41MB/s is indicated Upper Right during Rec.

I have tried activating SD O'C' both Manually & via AutoRun ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3376 on: May 22, 2019, 02:43:41 PM »
Its the same issue as in « Reply #3356 on: May 15, 2019, 12:09:01 PM »

I found the override in two places, in ML menu, there is in Video Menu and again in the Overview of settings menu (on top far right, scroll down).  Sd module has to be loaded, as well as ML raw modules.

Try clean reboot, set-up, then press it once, exit ML, then 5X/AF and record. That's what I generally did.

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

OlRivrRat

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 483
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3377 on: May 22, 2019, 05:41:51 PM »
      @ShootMeAlready

"I found the override in two places" > Are You now Calling SD OverClock "the override" or are You now referring to something else?

In My ML Menus there is no reference to SD O'C' in the Video Menu & I do not have an "Overview of settings menu". The Far Right

menu on All My Cams is named "Modified" & SD O'C' does Not appear in that menu ~ To the immediate Left of that menu is a menu

named "Recent" & SD O'C' does appear in that Menu & when that SD O'C' is clicked it does appear to activate the O'C' & subsequent

Rec's of 2560x1090 2.35.1 23.9p 12bit raw lossless in 5X can be acquired Continuous ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3378 on: May 22, 2019, 09:25:16 PM »
As was said in previous reply you can read literal message, but it asks you more or less are you nuts for doing this? (russian roulette with your data)  Then you click - yes, to override. But you are running an experimental build anyways, and your camera came back from the dead so you are fearless.  You should only need to do this once per boot-up.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3379 on: May 23, 2019, 05:48:10 AM »
i dont think you can shoot 60fps in 5X mode. no matter whatever your setting is in canon menu when u zoom in 5X it wil change to 30fps

I was able in 5X to shoot 24 fps.  I was testing 1920x1080 12 bit lossless in 5X, but 5X initially selected goes to 30 fps,
but if you set fps override Timer A to 842 (+170) I was getting 23.9 fps.

I could turn global on, with half shutter press, then set fps override to 23.9 and timer A to +170, and get 24 fps.
Global on you get screen updates every 3s or so.  In camera video playback is slow.  The big problem now is in camera liveview and playback. 

However with 5X cant get higher than 30p.   It would be interesting to compare 70D 12bit raw to 80D H264, to see how 80D sensor DR stacks up.

I suppose to answer my own question,
70D 12 bit raw if shot 1/3 over (expose to right) then it should have better detail. 
80D probably less noise in low light without processing. 
However detail can be traded off, to yield less noise, so it probably is a very fair comparison in the hands of skilled shooter.
I suspect 70D wins via better highlight and overall detail but low light noise about equal for same ISO.   Now for someone to check it out.
The 80D probably wins for high ISO shooting (ISO 3200 in H264) as raw tends to max out around ISO 800 (before hot pixels kick in).

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

andy kh

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3380 on: May 23, 2019, 06:56:26 AM »
got a 5d mark III yesterday. i may soon say goodbye to my 70D

theamazingaustin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Would anyone mind updating me?
« Reply #3381 on: June 02, 2019, 12:23:48 AM »
Hey ML community.
It's been a while since I lurked on here and I'm trying to understand exactly what everyone is talking about to update myself. Search didn't resolve my confusion, apologies if I missed it clearly laid out, but if someone has a moment would you mind updating me on the 2.5k / fps / 5x mode recording capabilities in a nutshell?

From what I gather, changing between 14 / 12 / 10 - bit allows recording up to 2.5k resolution, but the camera has to be in the 5x screen zoom / focus check mode?
So the actual recording is not cropped to 5x, but without an external monitor you will be viewing your live preview at 5x zoom?

Sorry for the bother, just trying to get myself updated on the latest ML abilities for the 70D.
Much appreciated!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6700
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3382 on: June 02, 2019, 09:34:29 PM »
Actually crop mode is 3x and you get same cropped frames everywhere: recorded data, liveview monitor and HDMI.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3383 on: June 04, 2019, 05:05:21 AM »
Ok 5X mode on 70D, is like a magic zoom. You see 5X on live view, but the actual video is 3X, so its a wider frame on playback.
Not sure about HDMI out???? Its been a while.
I think I recall you get all the LCD output, with the magic lantern screen stuff (as I recall). 
The HDMI out always required no screen extras, and then you could output to a video recorder.
At 5X and 2.5k @ 2.35:1 24fps, the LCD updates with a lag. So I suspect there's a lag.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

andy kh

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3384 on: June 04, 2019, 04:36:53 PM »
with the HDMi you wil only real time preiview in 5X crop mode. in camera you can choose between framing and real time

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3677
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3385 on: June 12, 2019, 09:44:21 PM »
Got some requests to put up a 70D build with lossless compression. I'm getting this when compiling the current crop_rec_4k branch:

Code: [Select]
#error FIXME: please define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_READ
I can either back out the changes that require FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING to create a hacked build or if someone with a 70D that knows how to use adtg_gui could look up ADTG registers 805f and 8061 we can do something a little better. Ideally these addresses eventually won't be hard coded.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3386 on: June 12, 2019, 10:22:52 PM »
Think these will work:
Code: [Select]
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM   (*(uint16_t*)0x404e6180) // ADTG register 805f
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM (*(uint16_t*)0x404e6184) // ADTG register 8061

#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_READ   (lv_dispsize > 1 ? FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM : FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM)
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_WRITE  (lv_dispsize > 1 ? &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM : &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM)

Arcipl got them from his camera. Don´t remember where to find them but look around. He has his code on bitbucket.

EDIT: Here you go:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg213467#msg213467

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3677
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3387 on: June 13, 2019, 07:04:12 PM »
Thanks. Looks like @ArcziPL has a test build on his downloads page. He did some tests on it so I think it is best if I just redirect any requests for 70D builds.

Would be nice to see a pull request for this.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3388 on: June 13, 2019, 11:23:05 PM »
Think these will work:
Disclaimer: no idea if the addresses of frame shutter blanking times are constant or camera-dependent or maybe even random at power-up. I also didn't test them as I didn't know how.
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202