Author Topic: Canon 70D  (Read 1637518 times)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 512
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3375 on: May 21, 2019, 06:57:08 PM »
      &ShootMeAlready

It appears I'm Already doing My SetUp the same as Yours,, Except > I'm unclear on the meaning of this >
 
"- in ML, Sd overclock at 160 MB/s, need to override the warning
- go back check your resolution message, it should be green (or flicker from red to green, I did not always see solid green)
If not reselect the overclock,"

I don't get any visual indication that SD O'C' is active > 41MB/s is indicated Upper Right during Rec.

I have tried activating SD O'C' both Manually & via AutoRun ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3376 on: May 22, 2019, 02:43:41 PM »
Its the same issue as in « Reply #3356 on: May 15, 2019, 12:09:01 PM »

I found the override in two places, in ML menu, there is in Video Menu and again in the Overview of settings menu (on top far right, scroll down).  Sd module has to be loaded, as well as ML raw modules.

Try clean reboot, set-up, then press it once, exit ML, then 5X/AF and record. That's what I generally did.

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 512
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3377 on: May 22, 2019, 05:41:51 PM »
      @ShootMeAlready

"I found the override in two places" > Are You now Calling SD OverClock "the override" or are You now referring to something else?

In My ML Menus there is no reference to SD O'C' in the Video Menu & I do not have an "Overview of settings menu". The Far Right

menu on All My Cams is named "Modified" & SD O'C' does Not appear in that menu ~ To the immediate Left of that menu is a menu

named "Recent" & SD O'C' does appear in that Menu & when that SD O'C' is clicked it does appear to activate the O'C' & subsequent

Rec's of 2560x1090 2.35.1 23.9p 12bit raw lossless in 5X can be acquired Continuous ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3378 on: May 22, 2019, 09:25:16 PM »
As was said in previous reply you can read literal message, but it asks you more or less are you nuts for doing this? (russian roulette with your data)  Then you click - yes, to override. But you are running an experimental build anyways, and your camera came back from the dead so you are fearless.  You should only need to do this once per boot-up.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3379 on: May 23, 2019, 05:48:10 AM »
i dont think you can shoot 60fps in 5X mode. no matter whatever your setting is in canon menu when u zoom in 5X it wil change to 30fps

I was able in 5X to shoot 24 fps.  I was testing 1920x1080 12 bit lossless in 5X, but 5X initially selected goes to 30 fps,
but if you set fps override Timer A to 842 (+170) I was getting 23.9 fps.

I could turn global on, with half shutter press, then set fps override to 23.9 and timer A to +170, and get 24 fps.
Global on you get screen updates every 3s or so.  In camera video playback is slow.  The big problem now is in camera liveview and playback. 

However with 5X cant get higher than 30p.   It would be interesting to compare 70D 12bit raw to 80D H264, to see how 80D sensor DR stacks up.

I suppose to answer my own question,
70D 12 bit raw if shot 1/3 over (expose to right) then it should have better detail. 
80D probably less noise in low light without processing. 
However detail can be traded off, to yield less noise, so it probably is a very fair comparison in the hands of skilled shooter.
I suspect 70D wins via better highlight and overall detail but low light noise about equal for same ISO.   Now for someone to check it out.
The 80D probably wins for high ISO shooting (ISO 3200 in H264) as raw tends to max out around ISO 800 (before hot pixels kick in).

T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3380 on: May 23, 2019, 06:56:26 AM »
got a 5d mark III yesterday. i may soon say goodbye to my 70D
5D Mark III - 70D

theamazingaustin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Would anyone mind updating me?
« Reply #3381 on: June 02, 2019, 12:23:48 AM »
Hey ML community.
It's been a while since I lurked on here and I'm trying to understand exactly what everyone is talking about to update myself. Search didn't resolve my confusion, apologies if I missed it clearly laid out, but if someone has a moment would you mind updating me on the 2.5k / fps / 5x mode recording capabilities in a nutshell?

From what I gather, changing between 14 / 12 / 10 - bit allows recording up to 2.5k resolution, but the camera has to be in the 5x screen zoom / focus check mode?
So the actual recording is not cropped to 5x, but without an external monitor you will be viewing your live preview at 5x zoom?

Sorry for the bother, just trying to get myself updated on the latest ML abilities for the 70D.
Much appreciated!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3382 on: June 02, 2019, 09:34:29 PM »
Actually crop mode is 3x and you get same cropped frames everywhere: recorded data, liveview monitor and HDMI.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3383 on: June 04, 2019, 05:05:21 AM »
Ok 5X mode on 70D, is like a magic zoom. You see 5X on live view, but the actual video is 3X, so its a wider frame on playback.
Not sure about HDMI out???? Its been a while.
I think I recall you get all the LCD output, with the magic lantern screen stuff (as I recall). 
The HDMI out always required no screen extras, and then you could output to a video recorder.
At 5X and 2.5k @ 2.35:1 24fps, the LCD updates with a lag. So I suspect there's a lag.
T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3384 on: June 04, 2019, 04:36:53 PM »
with the HDMi you wil only real time preiview in 5X crop mode. in camera you can choose between framing and real time
5D Mark III - 70D

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3713
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3385 on: June 12, 2019, 09:44:21 PM »
Got some requests to put up a 70D build with lossless compression. I'm getting this when compiling the current crop_rec_4k branch:

Code: [Select]
#error FIXME: please define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_READ
I can either back out the changes that require FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING to create a hacked build or if someone with a 70D that knows how to use adtg_gui could look up ADTG registers 805f and 8061 we can do something a little better. Ideally these addresses eventually won't be hard coded.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5634
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3386 on: June 12, 2019, 10:22:52 PM »
Think these will work:
Code: [Select]
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM   (*(uint16_t*)0x404e6180) // ADTG register 805f
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM (*(uint16_t*)0x404e6184) // ADTG register 8061

#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_READ   (lv_dispsize > 1 ? FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM : FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM)
#define FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_WRITE  (lv_dispsize > 1 ? &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_ZOOM : &FRAME_SHUTTER_BLANKING_NOZOOM)

Arcipl got them from his camera. Don´t remember where to find them but look around. He has his code on bitbucket.

EDIT: Here you go:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=14309.msg213467#msg213467

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3713
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3387 on: June 13, 2019, 07:04:12 PM »
Thanks. Looks like @ArcziPL has a test build on his downloads page. He did some tests on it so I think it is best if I just redirect any requests for 70D builds.

Would be nice to see a pull request for this.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 130
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3388 on: June 13, 2019, 11:23:05 PM »
Think these will work:
Disclaimer: no idea if the addresses of frame shutter blanking times are constant or camera-dependent or maybe even random at power-up. I also didn't test them as I didn't know how.
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

baladev

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 5Dm3 - 6D - 7D - EOS M
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3389 on: June 18, 2019, 06:21:04 PM »
Not sure if this is still relevant. I've just finished smoking the thread to educate myself about nuances of running ML on my recently acquired 70D. I've come across mentioned a couple of times people having difficulty running SD OverClock module on ArcziPL's builds. I also experienced this - the module giving me malloc errors when trying to run it. In my case it gives the error if Raw video is on. If I turn it off, I can enable overclock and then turn Raw video on.

I also did some quick tests today comparing different sd_uhs modules and it seems the one included is slower than Danne's. I will do more tests to confirm this.

TequilaKez

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3390 on: June 19, 2019, 01:51:06 AM »
Hey guys, big ups to everyone getting lossless / sd hacks / 3k going on this cam!

I've been checking this thread fairly regularly since it started, and reread the last 5 pages, + searched the 10bit thread,  but still a couple of things I can't find info on.

1. Why does 14bit lossless say ISO < 100. To me that means choose an ISO smaller than 100, but that doesn't make sense. Why does ISO matter to lossless anyway?
2. Magenta highlights in 12bit /10bit lossless modes. Is this a known issue? What causes it? I remember reading somewhere way back about incorrect white level, I can alleviate it somewhat by messing with it in MLV App, but I've no idea what I'm doing and it seems to hurt other colors. What's needed to fix this on the 70d now and can I help?

thanks

kotofei

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3391 on: June 19, 2019, 06:32:23 AM »
Is it ok to use this installation method :  https://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3628812?page=3       ?
I had the same problem. It took me a while to figure out that there are two ways to install dual iso. The second option is downloading another software called Eoscard. It makes any SD or CF card bootable. I took the second option. The steps are as follows:
1. Download Eoscard from here.
2. Unzip it.
3. Download the nightly build (ML and autoexe.bin files) and unzip it. Transfer both files (ML and autoexe.bin) to the root of the memory card (already formatted in camera).
4. Click on Eoscard (memory card still connected to computer). Its interface will open and it will immediately recognize the memory card. Screenshot of the interface is here.
http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/EOScard
Make sure that only Bootdisk is checked as in the screenshot. Click Refresh. That's it, your memory card is now bootable. You won't have to go through firmware update process. Take the card out of your computer and put it in the camera. You are good to go.


And what should I use - last nightly build or archive from the start msg of this topic? I mean:
nikfreak-magic-lantern-0e6493e8ac5e.zip
or
magiclantern-Nightly.2018Dec24.70D112.zip
It seems that the second one is newer (2018-04-30 vs 2018-12-24)

tnx ahead

PS hmm.. may be from here? But which archive should I use?
https://bitbucket.org/ArcziPL/magic-lantern/downloads/
Looks like @ArcziPL has a test build on his downloads page
Canon EOS 70D (1.1.2)
Nightly.2018Dec24.70D112

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3392 on: June 19, 2019, 09:10:46 PM »
Today EOScard's role is mostly reduced to unbrick (semi)-bricked cams after panicking owners formatted their cards prematurely.

Go to top of page -> Downloads -> Download nightly builds
and follow installation instructions.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Ingerson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3393 on: July 07, 2019, 12:27:19 PM »
Hey guys, long time on and off lurker here looking to finally get back into ML and raw after like 8 years ago.

First off: I've read all post a year back, but I'm not a techie and this is all a bit difficult for me to comprehend.

Trying to decide between a 70D and an EOS-M. Found amazing info about the M since there seems to have a very dedicated following who are really pushing the limits. But not so much love for the 70D.

Obvious differences are of course form factor, articulating screen and DPAF, but how "stable" is ML on the 70D compared to M? From what I've read displaying crop mode is a bit wonky compared to mcm rewire on the M.

I already have a couple of EF(s) lenses from my old camera, so the more expensive 70D would be the same as the M + new lenses and adapters. I'm not a slow motion guy, 30 for 24 fps for slight over cranking is all. But I do longer takes (5-10 min) and like to move the camera and getting more into dynamic blocking and would like DPAF since it's usually myself and manual focus is just one thing to many.

I guess what I like to know are the top 5 reasons to go with the 70D and the top 5 things you wish you knew before buying the camera.

All the best!

ShootMeAlready

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3394 on: July 10, 2019, 06:53:12 PM »
5 Reasons to use a 70D
- DPAF tracking is required, fast moving objects that you want to track in mostly centre of screen.
- pull focus off the screen, natural speed
- Use the LCD not the viewfinder for menu & touch focus
- Great stills camera and you already have quality Canon mount glass

Video
Well here's where things get really interesting
Its H264 All-I is good to ISO 1600 but the 80D has a better sensor for DR
Lots of free picture profiles for 70D, some even shoot flaat, all good for H264
Anti-aliasing at 3X, with MF (mostly).  This mode requires noise reduction and grading in post (IMHE). 
MLRAW video : APS-C so its 1.6X compared to FF, you may have some quality DSLR glass
- you can shoot 14bit ML raw FHD with MF
- you can shoot 12/10 bit raw most resolutions up to 2.5k at 2:39 24fps, but its MF
- Max AF resolution is around 90% of FHD, 2:39 at 24fps (10/12/14 bit). So with AF you would always need to up-res. for FHD.
- Any resolutions higher than about 90% of FHD, with LCD live-view tracking is zoomed, it shows 3X on LCD, of a 5X frame captured.  So its not the ideal FHD to 2.5k live-view. 
- 720p raw works 24/30 fps 10-14bit, with many ML goodies.
- 60p is only 720p, H264.

Sorry I dont know the M-series, so compare against this general profile.






T3i+ML & 70D.112+ML, Tokina 11-16 2.8, Sigma 18-35 1.8, 50-150 II 2.8, 50 1.4, Canon 28 1.8, 35 2, 50 1.8, 85 1.8"Shoot Long and Prosper"

Ingerson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3395 on: July 18, 2019, 03:36:32 PM »
thanks ShootMeAlready! I got an M, but don't really like the ergonomics, miss my 1000D I have for stills, haha. Gonna see if I can find a good deal on a 70D :)

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3396 on: July 18, 2019, 07:30:51 PM »
Im a 70d owner and i would highly suggest you not to buy 70D if you already own a M.
5D Mark III - 70D

Ingerson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3397 on: July 19, 2019, 05:32:05 PM »
Im a 70d owner and i would highly suggest you not to buy 70D if you already own a M.

care to elaborate? I got a cheap M, but miss the DSLR form factor and would like better AF since I'm a single shooter coming from street photography.

andy kh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3398 on: July 21, 2019, 06:44:01 AM »
care to elaborate? I got a cheap M, but miss the DSLR form factor and would like better AF since I'm a single shooter coming from street photography.

af is really good. i also bought one because of this feature. there are some ML features missing in this camera. i dont kno if those missing features are important to you or not  and i get some terrible moire and aliasing. i am not sure if its because of the lens i use which is tamron 17-50mm f2.8 non VC
5D Mark III - 70D

Ingerson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 70D
« Reply #3399 on: July 21, 2019, 04:13:36 PM »
af is really good. i also bought one because of this feature. there are some ML features missing in this camera. i dont kno if those missing features are important to you or not  and i get some terrible moire and aliasing. i am not sure if its because of the lens i use which is tamron 17-50mm f2.8 non VC

What features is that? I don't really care about slowmotion, sometimes I do 30 to 25 fps for a subtle effects, but that's it. And I don't go for crop modes or higher resolution. Besides AF and swivel screen all I want is continuous recording for a few minutes since I like longer takes.