cr2hdr "Permission Denied" / HDR Wokflow

Started by MadScience, December 07, 2014, 03:57:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MadScience

Hello. First of all, I'm a giant noob, so sorry about that.

I'm trying to successfully render a RAW HDR video I just shot with ML on the 5D3.

I have used raw2dng on the RAW video to separate the frames into dng files. If I just press Ctrl+A and select all the dng files and try to drag those onto cr2hdr, it says the path is too long and won't let me do it. I tried to drag the folder containing the DNG files onto cr2hdr, and it looks like it wants to work, but I get the following "Permission Denied" error.

On Windows 7 obviously.. 64 bit.

I have gone into the properties of the parent folder of cr2hdr.exe as well as all of the .exe files involved, and set all of their permissions to "Run As Administrator" for all users, and still permission is denied. Any ideas?

I'm pursuing this route because it seems easy enough, but am just looking for a way in general to get my dual iso dng files converted to HDR, so I'm open to any and all suggestions as to how people are currently doing so.

Danne

Are you selecting HDR or dual iso in magic lantern menu? They are two different things.
Conversion can also be made with the lightroom plugin from a developer Kitchehof. If you are using mlv you can use dmilligan MLVFS application. Search the apps here in the forum.

MadScience

I'm selecting RAW video + HDR Video. Made sense to me since I want to shoot a RAW HDR video. The screen strobes during recording and you end up with a RAW file. Just to clarify, I have converted the video frames from that video to dng and I can see the alternating isos. Now I just want to finish the job. So, any other ideas on how to do that? Like I said, I'm a noob, so the more detailed you can be, the better.

So what is the difference between HDR video and Dual iso then?

And while we're at it, is there any compression/loss of quality when recording raw video to MLV?