Which Cameras are Capable of 4k Video? MAX Res of Your Camera at 24+fps?

Started by sumpm1, November 06, 2014, 10:52:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sumpm1

Can people please weigh in on which cameras they have been able to shoot ~4k resolution at 24+fps h264?

I will outline the reason for my question and what I intend to film. But please just let me know what the max resolution your 550d/T2i, 600d, 650d, so on HAS BEEN ABLE to record 24+fps h264. I would not like to deflect the discussion away to "you don't need that resolution, you can just use x resolution/format..." I want to know the answer to this question. Thank you.

----

So what will I be filming. I am a musician. I will be recording video of myself and band members performing individually in front of green screen. With the intention of being able to choose fancy background sets. Also I would enjoy the experience learning about the chroma key process and editing process. So yes my chosen camera would be used with the main intention of chroma key work.

My final edits will be intended for youtube. The final resolution will most likely be only 1280x720. But I would like to give chroma keying a shot at 4k. This is probably pretty new to the scene. Not many hobbyists have had the opportunity to film at 4k because of the budget. So there is probably not much public info about "chroma keying using 4k vs chroma keying at 1080p. But the VideoAlchemy youtube channel did a decent trial of 4k chroma key using the GH4 here: http://youtu.be/-bUUNL6Zhvg

I am sure I could get great results with ~1080p original footage. But I am a geek. I want to try 4k h264 out for chroma key.

----

BTW: I am new to the boards so this is my first post. Hello!

dmilligan

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=list+of+4k+capable+video+cameras&l=1