Author Topic: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects  (Read 22567 times)

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« on: September 20, 2014, 05:42:26 AM »
Previously, step 1 of my workflow was converting my MLVs to DNGs.
Now, thanks to MLVFS (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13152.0), I can skip this step, which saves time and potentially space. Many thanks to dmilligan, ayshih, g3gg0 and anyone else who contributed to its development so far, and to SteveScout for his "Smart Import 2.jsx" After Effects script.

Before describing my workflow, I'll tell you what I'm working with so you can get an idea of how applicable this information may be to you.
OS: Windows Vista 64bit
Software: Adobe Production Premium CS5 (Premiere, After Effects)
Media:  MLV with sound

The overview is:
You "mount" MLV files to become virtual directories containing virtual DNGs (this is temporary and doesn't alter the MLV files).
You import the (virtual) DNG sequences into After Effects along with audio (if any) and render out files to edit with (either proxies or high-quality intermediates, your choice).

To use this workflow, you will need to install the Pismo File Mount Audit Package, as described by ayshih in the above link. This is quick and painless. Also, download and register mlvfs.dll, as described by ayshih. Note that MLVFS is still being developed, so keep an eye out for future possible improvements (or improve it yourself if you have the know-how and inclination).

Also, get the After Effects script "Smart Import 2.jsx" found here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12422.msg119832#msg119832

Here's the workflow:

1. Put MLVs in a subfolder of the project folder (I name mine "vDNGs" for "Virtual DNGs").

2. Quick Mount them by right-clicking and choosing "Quick mount" (don't select spanned files, i.e. .M00, .M01 etc.). You can select multiple MLVs and do them all at once if you like. You can select just some of the MLVs if you don't want to process them all. Now you should have a virtual folder for each MLV, containing virtual DNGs (CDNGs, to be exact), which behave very much like actual DNGs. The virtual folders will be named the same as the MLVs were.

3. Make a new After Effects project.

4. Run "Smart Import 2.jsx" (File / Scripts / Smart Import 2.jsx). This is used to import the (virtual) DNG sequences and wav files (if any) and generate compositions and output modules for rendering (if desired). In the "Import" field, type or browse to your MLV directory ("vDNGs" in my case). Choose an Output Module and a File Name format and an Output location. Note that there is a default audio sync compensation which may or may not be needed for your video. Set it to "0" if you don't need it. When you have the script settings the way you want them, click the "Run" button at the very bottom.

5. Each sequence will open up in Adobe Camera Raw. Make any initial adjustments you want to white balance, exposure etc.

6. The ACR settings you used when opening the DNG sequences will have been saved to .MLD folders, which stick around even after you unmount the MLVs.

7. Unmount the MLV virtual folders when you're finished with them by right-clicking and choosing "Unmount". Note that they must be mounted for After Effects to recognize them.

This workflow might seem complicated or technical when you see it written out, but it's actually a breeze to use once it's set up. Let me know if anything doesn't work the way you expect it to, or if you have any other comments. Thanks!

surami

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2014, 10:47:11 AM »
Your batch scripts are very effective/useful, they speed up the workflow. Thanks!

I recommend it for everyone, it's not hard to setup.
550D + nightly ML

senzazn12

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2014, 06:39:21 PM »
Is there a way I could use MLVFS workflow with Lightroom instead of After Effects? Don't have After Effects installed.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2014, 06:44:59 PM »
I've never used Lightroom, but if it requires the dngs to be writable than you can use the "Make_Writable.bat" file, and if it uses .xmp sidecars like Camera Raw does, than you can use the "Save_XMPs.bat" and "CopyBack_XMPs.bat" files.

ayshih

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2014, 10:37:35 PM »
I just uploaded a new version of the DLL with a couple of small improvements.

3. Get rid of the IDX files that will appear in the MLV directory. You can delete them or move them. You need to do this or the After Effects script will get confused. I run the batch file "Save_IDXs.bat" to move them to another folder (named "IDXs" in my case) just in case they might be useful for something. If you don't use the script, be careful not to accidentally delete or move any spanned files that might be in the MLV directory.
For MLV files without sound, the IDX file will no longer be created.  Because of how the code is currently structured, MLV files with sound still need the IDX file.  There's no particular reason to save these files; they're generated on the fly whenever they're needed.

4. Make all the virtual DNGs writable. This is necessary in order to import them into After Effects. To do it manually means right-clicking on each virtual folder, which can be tedious if you have a lot of them. For a quick and easy alternative, run "Make_Writable.bat"
Read-only attributes are no longer set, so you can skip this step.  ACR somehow "knows" to use XMP sidecar files for the virtual DNGs, even when they are not read-only.  I'm not going to question it.
Canon EOS 50D | 17–40mm f/4L & 70–300mm f/4.5–5.6 DO IS | Lexar 1066x

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2014, 10:48:42 PM »
Thanks ayshih! I'll try it out when I get the chance.

Note to all: The "Smart Import 2.jsx" script isn't working for me with spanned files, though I could swear it was yesterday when I used it. It's giving me the same error messages I was getting before I starting removing the IDX files. I'm trying to track down the issue now. If anyone knows javascript and wants to take a crack at it, that would be great.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2014, 08:00:13 AM »
So I figured out (kind of) what is happening with the "Smart Import 2.jsx" script. If I have more than one file with the same extension in the "vDNGs" folder, i.e. spanned files such as "M20-1636.M00", "M20-1658.M00" etc., the script thinks they belong to an image sequence, and complains about missing frames before just stopping because it is unable to import MLVs directly. The non-spanned files are fine, because the script sees them as folders. I need to figure out the rule it is using to determine what is an image sequence it should try to import.

In the meantime, don't use "Smart Import 2.jsx" with multiple spanned files that share the same extension (ones that are different, like .M00, .M01, .M02, will hopefully be fine).

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2014, 08:36:34 AM »
I updated the workflow at the top with the latest info.

ayshih

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2014, 12:56:10 AM »
I've uploaded a new version of the DLL that now saves the XMP sidecar files to an associated .MLD directory.  Thus, you shouldn't need the scripts to save and restore the XMP files.  *However*, the existence of the .MLD directory may guarantee that the "Smart Import 2.jsx" script will fail.  Can you give the new DLL a try?
Canon EOS 50D | 17–40mm f/4L & 70–300mm f/4.5–5.6 DO IS | Lexar 1066x

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2014, 07:21:46 PM »
The latest version of mlvfs.dll has elimated two more steps in the workflow (thanks ayshih!); see changes in the first post.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2014, 09:20:58 AM »
Figured out how to get the smart import 2 script to work with spanned files and, as a bonus, now the script ignores .IDX files so you don't need to delete them. See the orignal post for the solution.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #11 on: September 30, 2014, 02:47:17 AM »
Added dmilligan's improvement to the "Smart Import 2" script modification (see OP). Also allowed for unmounted .MLVs, .IDX files, .XMPs and .INI files.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2014, 05:58:41 PM »
SteveScout updated his "Smart Import 2" script, so the downloaded version will work fine now without being edited.

ayshih

  • Contributor
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 266
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2014, 06:30:42 PM »
Heh, at this point, you may want to clean up the initial post since the majority of it is struck through!
Canon EOS 50D | 17–40mm f/4L & 70–300mm f/4.5–5.6 DO IS | Lexar 1066x

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2014, 06:56:19 PM »
ayshih, good point; I updated the OP.

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #15 on: November 06, 2016, 06:47:24 AM »
Hello everyone,

     Just figured I would let you know that Smart Import 2 in After Effects 2017 has an issue where changing Composition Frame Rate doesn't work. The Import Preference fps has to be changed in the After Effects Preferences in order for the composition to have the correct frame rate. Otherwise if you have 59.94 fps or 48 fps it can be comformed in a 23.976 fps timeline, which is something I don't want. I like to fine tune the extra frames later in Premiere Pro. Hope this helps!

- Paul Harwood

D_Odell

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2016, 09:45:33 AM »
Does this nice script exist for Davinci somehow? I don't think Davinchi uses scripts or am I wrong?
5D3 (OLPF removed) :: 1.1.3 :: Canon FD L Serie

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2016, 12:18:27 AM »
Hey D_Odell,

     I'm not too familiar with Davinci Resolve, but I'm pretty sure this script is just for After Effects. Might be worth starting a new topic though!

- Paul Harwood

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #18 on: November 17, 2016, 07:44:28 PM »
Posting to be notified.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #19 on: November 17, 2016, 07:47:29 PM »
Test.

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #20 on: November 29, 2016, 08:06:22 PM »
I have a strange "bug" when using After Effects and Camera Raw. When i change something with Camera Raw i.e. white balance, it only changes the first frame. What am i missing here? I've watched many tutorials but never saw anything like this. Can anyone help?

Thanks!
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #21 on: December 01, 2016, 07:16:01 AM »
canneloni, I don't know. Are you opening the image sequence in After Effects and making the white balance change in the Camera Raw window that opens up there?

hyalinejim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #22 on: December 01, 2016, 12:09:26 PM »
Maybe try right clicking on the DNG sequence in the Project window and select Reload Footage.

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #23 on: December 04, 2016, 11:37:46 AM »
@Frank7D
Yes, thats exactly what i do. The Strange thing is, that it happens on my Laptop and on my pc, so im pretty sure there is some kind of mistake i'm making but i have no clue which one.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #24 on: December 08, 2016, 01:05:29 AM »
Hey canneloni,

     This problem has been going on for quite some time. I called Adobe around a year ago, and apparently they still haven't fixed this. Premiere Pro supports 8 bit and 10 bit. After Effects supports 14 bit. What I suggest you do is use the Smart Import 2 script in After Effects by Frank7D. You will be able to open up Adobe Camera Raw for each dng sequence, and apply color grading. I suggest using Cinelog C by Andy600. This will give you a flat log profile which retains detail and dynamic range. Transcode in After Effects as ProRes 4444 XQ and when brought into Premiere Pro, apply an S Curve and Saturation to bring the flat image to REC 709. Hope this helps, and please let me know if you have any other questions.

- Paul Harwood

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5639
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2016, 10:37:40 AM »
Premiere works with 14-bit. MLP and cr2hdr.app produces cdng files 14bit. (Kudos dmilligan ml-dng branch).

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #26 on: December 08, 2016, 02:28:40 PM »
Hey Paul,
thanks for your reply! I used the SmartImport Script 2 or at least i tried. Sometimes it won't open anything but doesn't crash either. But when it works and opens Camera Raw, it is still the same. I apply my changes but they are only applied to the first image of the sequence.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #27 on: December 08, 2016, 03:09:14 PM »
Hey Danne,

     Thanks for your reply. The biggest problem I had with editing 14 bit dng files in Premiere was the inability to remove dead pixels, even with MLVFS. The only solution was to use Adobe Camera Raw, via After Effects. Also the color did not look accurate in Premiere. Is it only with MLP and cr2hdr.app that the case is different?

- Paul Harwood

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #28 on: December 08, 2016, 03:10:52 PM »
Hey canneloni,

     You're welcome! Do me a favor, watch this video done by DeafEyeJedi: https://vimeo.com/188219725

     See if there's anything he's doing different than what you currently are trying. Please report back.

- Paul Harwood

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5639
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #29 on: December 08, 2016, 04:11:03 PM »
Hi!
Quote
Also the color did not look accurate in Premiere. Is it only with MLP and cr2hdr.app that the case is different?
I don,t work in premiere myself. You stated premiere only supports with 8bit and 10bit but apparently also 14 and 16bit files.
Color not accurate as in white balance?
I use this when in ACR(linear dcp profile) DNG files otherwise are treated as display referred files loosing a lot of good dynamic range.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13512.msg172443#msg172443

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #30 on: December 08, 2016, 05:00:50 PM »
A 'linear' DCP created with DNGPE is linear only in terms of the tone curve. You could call this 'perceptually linear' but it is still display-referred and will clip values outside 0.0 - 1.0.

You can't get a full range unclamped scene-referred linear image directly from ACR. Exporting a linear profile from DNGPE also affects color (sometimes by a lot depending on the camera) because the 1 or 2 HSV luts in most DCPs are contrast-referred corrections i.e. they need the tone curve. If you just remove the HSV components you need to factor in a degree of additional calibration when calculating new forward matrices.
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5639
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #31 on: December 08, 2016, 05:10:52 PM »
Finally some quality knowlede meeting my loosely based ranting.
However I cannot get the same results without this profile only with the tone curve tool in acr.
A theory on what adobe calls 'linear' in this case seems more like a nicer highlight recovery much like -H 2 in dcraw. Now adobe has been using part of dcraw code right?
Why would I alter matrices if all I do is setting the dcp profile to linear? Every cam would work with their cam matrices and linear would be the same for every cam, whatever it is adobe calls linear.
Anyway, this profile still beats the flicker workarounds going on otherwise.


Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #32 on: December 08, 2016, 06:06:11 PM »
I don't know about Adobe using DCRaw. They invented DNG and have access to developer SDKs for Canon, Nikon etc so why would they?

re: altering matrices: As, I said, you need to compensate if you remove the contrast-referred HSV luts used in most DCP profiles just to maintain a degree of calibration. The color matrices are intended for white balance - color is just a fallback function if no forward matrices are included. The HSV luts are contast-referred (tone curve dependent) so switching the tone curve off (i.e. creating a DNGPE linear profile) makes those HueSatDelta tables invalid because DNGPE doesn't dynamically adjust their values to account for the new 'linear' tone curve.


Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5639
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #33 on: December 08, 2016, 06:11:43 PM »
Ok, other things in the pipe but thanks a lot for sharing your information.

PaulHarwood856

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #34 on: December 10, 2016, 12:18:17 AM »
Hey Danne,

     I'll have to look into Premiere Pro's specs again, but Adobe had told me Premiere Pro only accept 8 bit or 10 bit correctly. So if you're trying to edit the colors, you need to see them as they are, which is only in After Effects for Adobe. This was over a year ago, so Adobe has upped their game. I'm aware 14 bit is accepted in Premiere Pro, but I remember getting the colors right was a lot more difficult since After Effects has Adobe Camera Raw.

- Paul Harwood

canneloni

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 87
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #35 on: January 23, 2017, 08:37:38 PM »
Hey canneloni,

     You're welcome! Do me a favor, watch this video done by DeafEyeJedi:
     See if there's anything he's doing different than what you currently are trying. Please report back.

- Paul Harwood

Hey Paul,

it seems like it is an error with MLVFS. If i copy the folders from the virtual harddrive to any other place and open them in after effects i can apply changes to all frames, not just the first. I also used MLVProducer and exported DNGs and everything worked fine too. I use MLVFS excactly like in the video you linked.
100D.100B ; Canon 18-55 STM ; Canon 50 1,8 II ; Canon 75-300 4,0 - 5,6 III ; Sigma 17-50 2,8

Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #36 on: March 24, 2019, 01:07:36 AM »
Hi all,

I have a problem which I haven't seen tackled in this thread.

I was excited to use the Smart Import 2 script on some dngs as I thought it might enable me to 'output' them as Pro Res, as in this video
(screenshot included)

I, on the other hand, don't have this option (screenshot also included :)).

Would anyone know how I install the Pro Res codec to Adobe AE?

Full disclosure, I have the Adobe Cloud version of Adobe Softwares, all paid for, so not hacked version or anything like that, and up to date. Really confused as to why I don't have the Pro Res option...

Thanks guys.









Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #37 on: March 24, 2019, 01:23:46 AM »
Specify version info for AE and macOS, please!
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #38 on: March 24, 2019, 02:03:16 AM »
Hiya,

Mac: macOS Sierra 10.12.6

Adobe After Effects: 16.01

Thank you.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #39 on: March 24, 2019, 08:47:24 AM »
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #40 on: March 24, 2019, 01:05:52 PM »
Thanks for the link Walter, unfortunately, it doesn't work because I don't have final cut... I have also tried extracting it using unpackage 4.5, but weirdly it makes no difference to the available formats when I run the script. Later on, in Adobe Encoder, I can use ProRes, but not at the time of running the script.

Best,
A

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #41 on: March 24, 2019, 01:35:01 PM »
Bring it to the appropriate Adobe forum then.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #42 on: March 24, 2019, 02:43:25 PM »
Will do, many thanks.

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #43 on: March 24, 2019, 03:52:33 PM »
Aleks, have you tried making an Output Module?

Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #44 on: March 24, 2019, 10:52:23 PM »
I tried that too and similarly, can't make an output module with pro res - pro res doesn't show up as an option. This is odd as I do have it as an option of the final export...
I don't want to spam the thread so will investigate further independently :) Thank you both for your time and advice, I really do appreciate it - learning something every day.

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2045
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #45 on: March 25, 2019, 04:50:06 AM »
@ Aleks94 , Install the demo of final cut pro X that should install the pro codec pack .
in fact even demo of compressor & motion 5 should do the same thing.
Though you my still have to copy the codec in to adobe support file in A.E.
We have to do this to get prores 4444 xq to export .
I few years ago (2014) I made a video tutorial on getting prores4444xq in to A.E. CC 2014 & premiere pro
Start watching at the 5:00 minute mark to see how it's  done . Hope it helps

Edit: some more info on A.E. & prores
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12455.msg158549#msg158549
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12455.msg159182#msg159182
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12455.msg142987#msg142987
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12455.msg143109#msg143109
link to Pro App Codec


Aleks94

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #46 on: March 28, 2019, 01:33:48 AM »
Thank you for this - it did not work with the Smart Import 2 script.
I hope I've made it clear that the problem I have is that the Pro Res format doesn't appear as an output option during the smart import - however, it is an option as a final export. I may just Smart Import as DV Pal, then render as Pro Res. I am guessing this affects the quality somehow but seems to be the best option for now. A lossless format and an attempted Pro Res output (made through edit - preset, then selection Apple Pro Res) both resulted in bizarre vertical stripes across image...

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2045
Re: Workflow using MLVFS and After Effects
« Reply #47 on: March 28, 2019, 03:39:17 AM »
DV Pal is SD (standard definition) not HD ,  totally different color space etc. ......
If you don't have ProRes to work with ,  export Tiff's image sequence then you can
import in to apple compressor (or what ever you have) and render to ProResXQ or what ever you like for codec .
I do know Apple Compressor has batching and you can even setup a quick render farm and use as many
old mac computers as you have access to .
I have 2 old MP 1.1 & a MP 5.1 that I use just for that , makes quick work out of a large job .
So with my late model 2013 that makes 4 computer render farm .
sorry to off topic a little bit .
It may be a problem with your OS "macOS Sierra 10.12.6" not being compatible with Smart Import 2 script .