Author Topic: Canon 550D / T2i  (Read 420482 times)

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #275 on: April 15, 2018, 06:21:11 PM »
I have your magiclantern-Nightly.2018Apr10.550D110.zip build and it behaves as mk1174 describes. To be honest i don't remember the last time i used photo mode, so i don't  even remember how it should behave, it displays "screan cleaning" then goes blank and requires either pressing Disp or Live View button (If mk1174 didn't pointed out as a problem, i wouldn't even considered it to be one).

Thank you for the build, going to test it.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #276 on: April 15, 2018, 08:43:18 PM »
so i don't  even remember how it should behave

Yeah, it is def not how it should behave, already made sure of that by downgrading back to 109 to be sure, and my other models do not behave that way, Display you def come back to the setting it was at, or by default, come back as On, you should not need to press Display button to bring it back everytime you restart camera and you should not have to wait either, 109 works fine, this version will to, once the issue is figured out.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #277 on: April 16, 2018, 04:04:45 AM »
Let's see if we can figure this out. I uploaded a lua_fix build for the 1.1.0 firmware to my downloads page.

a1ex has been asking for lua_fix tests for all cameras and it looks like the 550D has never gone through these tests. Maybe this will turn up something?

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #278 on: April 16, 2018, 08:32:29 AM »


loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #281 on: April 16, 2018, 03:38:13 PM »
Looks good except for the autofocus tests. What lens do you have on the camera?

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #282 on: April 16, 2018, 04:53:52 PM »
Standard Canon 50/1.8
Maybe it was too dark around and also it was pointed to a blank wall.
EDIT: Also it started in MF mode. but after a while it asked to be switched to AF mode, so i did.

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #283 on: April 16, 2018, 05:23:18 PM »
Wonder if it is something that changed in focus.c that's causing this.

Code: [Select]
hg diff -r update-to-550D.110:lua_fix_550D.110 src/focus.c

diff -r c24241439cca -r 7d0942dd1108 src/focus.c
--- a/src/focus.c Tue Apr 10 13:39:20 2018 -0700
+++ b/src/focus.c Sun Apr 15 18:53:06 2018 -0700
@@ -262,7 +262,7 @@
     y += 10;
     y += height;
 
-    if (!lens_info.name[0])
+    if (!lens_info.lens_exists)
     {
         y += height;
         bmp_printf( font, x, y,
@@ -278,16 +278,7 @@
         lens_info.aperture / 10,
         lens_info.aperture % 10
     );
-   
-    if (!lv)
-    {
-        y += height;
-        bmp_printf( font, x, y,
-            "Focus distance info is only available in LiveView."
-        );
-        return;
-    }
-   
+
     if (!lens_info.focus_dist)
     {
         y += height;
@@ -997,7 +988,7 @@
     focus_mag_a = buf[2];
     focus_mag_b = buf[3];
     focus_mag_c = buf[4];
-    #if defined(CONFIG_600D) || defined(CONFIG_1100D)
+    #if defined(CONFIG_600D) || defined(CONFIG_1100D) || defined(CONFIG_100D)
     int focus_mag = focus_mag_c;
     #else
     int focus_mag = focus_mag_a + focus_mag_b;
@@ -1050,7 +1041,7 @@
 static MENU_UPDATE_FUNC(trap_focus_display)
 {
     int t = CURRENT_VALUE;
-    if (!lv && !lens_info.name[0])
+    if (!lv && !lens_info.lens_exists)
         MENU_SET_WARNING(MENU_WARN_NOT_WORKING, "Trap focus outside LiveView requires a chipped lens");
     if (t == 2 && cfn_get_af_button_assignment() != AF_BTN_HALFSHUTTER)
         MENU_SET_WARNING(MENU_WARN_NOT_WORKING, "Assign AF button to half-shutter from CFn!");
@@ -1145,7 +1136,7 @@
         .update    = focus_show_a,
         .select_Q    = focus_reset_a,
         .icon_type = IT_BOOL,
-        .edit_mode = EM_MANY_VALUES_LV,
+        .edit_mode = EM_SHOW_LIVEVIEW,
         .help = "[Q]: fix here rack end point. SET+L/R: start point.",
         .depends_on = DEP_LIVEVIEW | DEP_AUTOFOCUS,
     },

STUBTEST.LOG
Code: [Select]
[FAIL] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[FAIL] lv_focus_status => 0x0
[FAIL] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[FAIL] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[FAIL] lv_focus_status => 0x1
[FAIL] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[FAIL] lv_focus_status => 0x0
[FAIL] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0
[FAIL] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[FAIL] lv_focus_status => 0x1
[FAIL] wait_focus_status(1000, 3) => 0x0
[FAIL] lv_focus_status => 0x1
[FAIL] HALFSHUTTER_PRESSED => 0x0

Maybe it was too dark around and also it was pointed to a blank wall.

That might be it. Could you turn on the lights and check if the focus confirmation works before running the test again?

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #284 on: May 04, 2018, 08:29:19 PM »
@loknar - you still sitting in the dark?  :P

Ok--so I looked over this firmware update and can't find anything that seems out of place so I'm not sure what is going on with the issue @mk11174 reported on Reply #273. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #285 on: May 04, 2018, 08:39:21 PM »
I put it on hold. It seems everything is working, apart from issue you mentioned and since during video it still shake every other frame (novelty might be that it shakes in different directions :) ), I'm not currently using it.
Also I've received parts for my future EOS M gimbal so I'm working on that.

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #286 on: May 04, 2018, 08:54:28 PM »
Video on the 550D shakes? Is this something new with the 1.1.0 firmware or is it also on 1.0.9?

Also I've received parts for my future EOS M gimbal so I'm working on that.

Cool -- you're getting some remarkable results on the EOSM. Keep it up!

loknar

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • 550D, EOS M
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #287 on: May 04, 2018, 09:24:46 PM »
It the same thing as before: 10-bit raw video, first shot OK, following shaking, until taking battery out:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13111.msg197019#msg197019
So 1.09 or 1.10, this stays the same.

Thanks, but i didn't wrote any part of ML, i'm just a user. All credit belongs to developers :).

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #288 on: May 04, 2018, 11:32:58 PM »
10-bit raw video, first shot OK, following shaking, until taking battery out:

Got it--that's actually useful information. I was suggesting clearing the ML settings because that also removes the shaking from the first shot. Seems like there is something that isn't being flushed out on shutdown with the Digic 4 cameras.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 930
  • 550D
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #289 on: May 05, 2018, 03:12:33 PM »
I do check up on this topic every time there is a new comment.
I will hopefully test the update soon and I will test before and after updating how 10bit video goes.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #290 on: May 28, 2018, 06:49:36 PM »
I need a couple of startup logs to diagnose a malfunctioning 550D, using this build:

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/view/Experiments/job/startup-log-mpu/

Test conditions:
1) regular startup in M mode, without LiveView
2) same as above, but with the USB cable connected

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 930
  • 550D
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #291 on: May 31, 2018, 11:53:39 AM »
I need a couple of startup logs to diagnose a malfunctioning 550D, using this build:

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/view/Experiments/job/startup-log-mpu/

Test conditions:
1) regular startup in M mode, without LiveView
2) same as above, but with the USB cable connected

Did anybody send these through? If not what is the process? Do I need to compile that build myself?

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #292 on: May 31, 2018, 04:40:57 PM »
...what is the process? Do I need to compile that build myself?

The link explains the process --

Quote
Usage:
  • start the camera;
  • you have 20 seconds to perform some action (e.g. take a picture, open Canon menu, or whatever else you wish to investigate);
  • once the LED stops blinking, you've got a log file on your card.

No need to compile, there's a link for 550D build:

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/view/Experiments/job/startup-log-mpu/lastSuccessfulBuild/artifact/platform/550D.109/magiclantern-startup-log-mpu.2018May29.550D109.zip

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Murkka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Canon 550d Raw Recording Crashes
« Reply #294 on: June 30, 2018, 05:26:15 PM »
I get every time attached error when trying to shoot raw videos. I tried to use lower resos, below the said 21 Mb/s need speed and still I get the error. My card is R/W 45/90 Mb/s and like told the max of the camera card controller should be around 21, so why can I not shoot raw video without error?

I can mostly get the video with mlv app, regardless of the erros. And now when I tested the goodly told 960x540 at 24 fps, frames are dropped too so record stops even automatically. Sad! :(

I can not even use a reso with 16 Mb/s. And in Lantern menus, I can see it green, even about 19 - 20 Mb/s are colored green so shouldn't they work?

E: Adding attachments was impossible. Here they are on my own space: https://1drv.ms/f/s!Arh7px51ORTegysYP2E2RpvVjlws

Murkka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #295 on: July 04, 2018, 01:13:36 PM »
There was some fix said on bug forum. Anyone? How to fix the issue.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #296 on: July 04, 2018, 01:42:03 PM »
Looks like this might be the fix. I'm unable to reproduce this bug; please try and report back.

Murkka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #297 on: July 05, 2018, 05:05:13 PM »
Thanks about that, however I would really like to do what I can to contribute this, just even try the possible fix. How annoying it is I do not know what to do to test the possible fix. I can not comprehend if I need to install something etc.?

Murkka

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #298 on: July 07, 2018, 07:55:06 PM »
Could someone guide what to do to try the 'possible' fix, please?

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #299 on: July 07, 2018, 08:24:26 PM »
@Murkka - If you read through the link a1ex pointed out you'll see this:

Quote
Please try the lua_fix builds and report back. It might be fixed, but I'm unable to test on this model.

Have you tried that yet? You can download it from this page:

https://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html

Also:

Quote
Commit 4cf70155104c appears to fix this issue, too:

You can look up that change and see if the build you are using includes it.


https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/commits/4cf70155104c5e43dd709fd110187a911c318d76