Author Topic: Canon 550D / T2i  (Read 271501 times)

jc+

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #175 on: March 21, 2016, 05:34:37 PM »
Thank you for your answer.

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #176 on: March 22, 2016, 04:18:56 AM »
I don't know if anyone asked this question in on this thread but here goes.

Q: Is it possible to shoot slow motion (RAW) with the 550D? 50/60 fps?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #177 on: March 22, 2016, 10:03:01 AM »
Canon menu -> Select 1280 resolution.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #178 on: March 24, 2016, 02:34:29 AM »
Thanks for your reply.

I tried shooting 60fps, it work on the camera; however, the resolution I was forced to shoot in (960x216) isn't good enough and when I try playing back the footage in Premiere Pro CC, it wouldn't.

Is there any way to get acceptable slow-motion with the Canon 550d (Sandisk X3M Pro 32g 95m/s)?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #179 on: March 24, 2016, 05:14:16 AM »
when I try playing back the footage in Premiere Pro CC, it wouldn't.

Workflow used?

Is there any way to get acceptable slow-motion with the Canon 550d (Sandisk X3M Pro 32g 95m/s)?

Define "acceptable".
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #180 on: March 26, 2016, 03:04:19 PM »
I shoot with ML RAW, use MLRawViewer to preview and convert the files to DNG then import the DNGs into Premiere Pro CC.

Is that where the problem is?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #181 on: March 26, 2016, 03:22:40 PM »
MlRawViewer development stopped. Use MLVFS instead.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Frank7D

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #182 on: March 26, 2016, 06:04:01 PM »
TK2290, are you using raw or mlv?
If mlv, then +1 to using mlvfs.
If raw, then mlvfs (afaik) won't work.
In which case you might want to consider switching to mlv for future shoots.

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3171
  • 5D3 / M1 / 7D / 70D / SL1 / M2
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #183 on: March 26, 2016, 06:20:45 PM »
If shot in RAW then perhaps try using @Danne's MLP which does wonders for literally everything on OS X.
5D3.113 • 5D3.123 • EOSM.203 • 7D.203 • 70D.112 • 100D.101 • EOSM2.*

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #184 on: March 27, 2016, 06:08:00 AM »
Hey Guys thanks for all the help, it's greatly appreciated, I do use ML RAW. Where can I find this MLVFS? Is there a link or post on how to get it and also use it?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #185 on: March 27, 2016, 07:55:26 AM »
Using search (close to Home) or another search engine would do fine.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #186 on: March 27, 2016, 08:14:56 AM »
I found it, read through, downloaded and installed and so far everything seems to be working fine. I'm trying to understand everything as I go by and so far I had some test files on my desktop, I loaded them into MLVFS and they all worked in Premier Pro CC. Is there anything I should know before progressing, for example to get the most out of my MLV Raw Footage, should I alter any of the configuration option? 

TK2290

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • IG: @theKRUDDY
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #187 on: March 28, 2016, 09:59:17 PM »
Hey guys,

It's me again and I've now gotten a chance to try shooting 60fps with my 550d (Sandsk X3M Pro 95m/s 32g), I tried the MLVFS workflow and I must say the quality of my footage is much better: However, the first problem I had with shooting slow motion with ML on the camera is still there, the footage after imported into "Premiere Pro CC" looks somewhat skewed and squeezed, I know I don't have the anamorphic feature turned on so I'm troubled as to why this happens. That's basically what I mean by acceptable slow-mo footage.

Anyone having or ever had this problem?

Bansl

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #188 on: April 20, 2016, 10:24:23 PM »
Hi,

So, I tried to get around a problem where my 550D didn’t do anything when I pressed the “Q” button.

I low level formatted the card, copied the ML Directory (build 2016Apr19) to the card, and created the fir file using the v1.0.9 firmware from Canon’s website.

I ran the Firmware Update, and got the green screen at the end.

I reset the camera (assuming that means power down/up).

Now it is just the same as it was before – it doesn’t seem to recognize that ML is there.

I tried rerunning the Firmware update, same result.

Anything I missed?

Must have been something, but I have no idea what it is.

Any Help appreciated,

Bryan.


Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #189 on: April 20, 2016, 10:27:50 PM »
Format card in cardreader.
Format card in cam.
Copy extracted nightly build contents to card
Insert card into cam and run firmware update and reboot before timeout.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Bansl

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #190 on: April 20, 2016, 10:44:12 PM »
Thanks for that - seems like what I did, except for the "Format in the card reader" piece.

I'll give it a try when I get off work.

Thanks.

Bansl

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #191 on: April 24, 2016, 10:34:40 PM »
When I last used Magic Lantern, a few years ago, I used the Shoot menu; "HDR Bracketing" a lot.

Now I need it again, so I loaded the latest nightly download.

However, it seems that the options in the Shoot menu have changed, and I have things like Advanced Bracketing, which has only one option - QAx2EV

Do I need a stable version of the LM Firmware which might still have "HDR Bracketing"??

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bryan.

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #192 on: April 25, 2016, 04:30:02 AM »
If there is a "Q" character shown on the right you may have to press Q button to access menu options.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Bansl

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #193 on: April 25, 2016, 05:40:24 AM »
Hi Walter,

Thanks for the 'Q' tip.
So, now I get a sub-menu "Advanced Bracket"

This rolls around to give options; "Bracket Type" with the following options;
  DOF(Aperture)
  Exposure(Tv,Ae)
  Exposure(Flash)

Still no mention of HDR though.

Thanks,

Bryan

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #194 on: April 25, 2016, 05:45:49 AM »
"Exposure (Tv,Ae)" translates to HDR.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Bansl

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #195 on: April 25, 2016, 07:20:40 AM »
Thanks Walter.

Just what I needed to know.

Bryan.

davholla

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #196 on: April 28, 2016, 03:59:36 PM »
This is my first post so I hope this is the right place.  With Magic Lantern can I use live view with an external flash?  I cannot under the default firmware.

chrleon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #197 on: May 05, 2016, 08:57:05 AM »
Is there some setting that lets me keep the liveview open indefinitely? Will try to livestream with the 550D, via the HDMI port.

Also how can I remove all the overlays, like iso, audio etc from the liveview screen via hdmi?

Gmc

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #198 on: May 06, 2016, 07:08:04 PM »
Hie I'm New to using magic lantern with the 550d.  I would like to ask how do i shoot Raw (MLV) with a higher resolution? I'm only able to record continuosly at 800x600 but my card can write at 60Mb/s?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6569
Re: Canon 550D / T2i
« Reply #199 on: May 06, 2016, 07:21:55 PM »
Card interface in 550D is limited to about 21 MByte/s. Nothing you can do about it.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!