Author Topic: Canon 700D / T5i  (Read 669316 times)

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1125 on: February 13, 2018, 08:51:48 PM »
Can other 700D users confirm the issue? Was it also present on 1.1.4?

I can't reproduce the issue but it looks like there might be a difference between cameras. This doesn't make any sense to me but here is what I found out:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7139.msg197238#msg197238
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

Edgley

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1126 on: April 06, 2018, 12:52:55 AM »
Hi,
I have a chance to return a Nikon (D3200) I'm not very happy with its video quality, and swap for a 700D and 50mm 1/8 lens.
As I have been a Nikon owner since forever, I have no idea how good this combo is.

I am looking to do limited video work, want depth of field and that creamy look.
Any video will be used along with footage shot with a Blackmagic Cinema Camera, everything run through Resolve to edit/colour/grade.

thanks for any advice :)
Simon.
700D + 50mm 1.8 / Mac / Resolve

kye

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1127 on: April 07, 2018, 03:03:45 PM »
Hi,
I have a chance to return a Nikon (D3200) I'm not very happy with its video quality, and swap for a 700D and 50mm 1/8 lens.
As I have been a Nikon owner since forever, I have no idea how good this combo is.

I am looking to do limited video work, want depth of field and that creamy look.
Any video will be used along with footage shot with a Blackmagic Cinema Camera, everything run through Resolve to edit/colour/grade.

thanks for any advice :)
Simon.

700D + 50mm 1.8 is a great combo, but depends on what you are shooting. 
50mm on this camera is equivalent to 80mm on full-frame, so it's not an all-purpose lens.
If you get a fast card ML with quality setting of 3x can be used, but I've found it's not that much better than 1x quality.
ML RAW works at lower resolutions and is great.

If you want to see image quality, just google for test footage.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1128 on: April 18, 2018, 10:10:29 PM »
Since the 700D is very similar to the 650D I used it to help with some firmware update testing on the 650D. Finally got a complete lua Scripts API Tests log:

Code: [Select]
===============================================================================
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA - 2018-4-18 12:40:37
===============================================================================

Strict mode tests...
Strict mode tests passed.

Generic tests...
arg = table:
  [0] = "API_TEST.LUA"
camera = table:
  shutter = table:
    raw = 112
    apex = 7.
    ms = 8
    value = 0.007812
  aperture = table:
    raw = 48
    apex = 5.
    value = 5.6
    min = table:
      raw = 37
      apex = 3.625
      value = 3.5
    max = table:
      raw = 80
      apex = 9.
      value = 22.6
  iso = table:
    raw = 0
    apex = 0
    value = 0
  ec = table:
    raw = 0
    value = 0
  flash = true
  flash_ec = table:
    raw = 0
    value = 0
  kelvin = 5200
  mode = 3
  metering_mode = 3
  drive_mode = 0
  model = "Canon EOS REBEL T5i"
  model_short = "700D"
  firmware = "1.1.5"
  temperature = 156
  gui = table:
    menu = false
    play = false
    play_photo = false
    play_movie = false
    qr = false
    idle = true
  reboot = function: p
  shoot = function: p
  bulb = function: p
  burst = function: p
  wait = function: p
event = table:
  pre_shoot = nil
  post_shoot = nil
  shoot_task = nil
  seconds_clock = nil
  keypress = nil
  custom_picture_taking = nil
  intervalometer = nil
  config_save = nil
console = table:
  hide = function: p
  show = function: p
  write = function: p
  clear = function: p
lv = table:
  enabled = true
  paused = false
  running = true
  zoom = 1
  overlays = 2
  pause = function: p
  stop = function: p
  info = function: p
  resume = function: p
  start = function: p
  wait = function: p
lens = table:
  name = "EF28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM"
  focal_length = 30
  focus_distance = 1410
  hyperfocal = 8518
  dof_near = 1224
  dof_far = 1666
  af = true
  af_mode = 0
  autofocus = function: p
  focus = function: p
display = table:
  idle = nil
  height = 480
  width = 720
  on = function: p
  screenshot = function: p
  pixel = function: p
  draw = function: p
  clear = function: p
  rect = function: p
  print = function: p
  off = function: p
  line = function: p
  load = function: p
  circle = function: p
  notify_box = function: p
key = table:
  last = 10
  press = function: p
  wait = function: p
menu = table:
  visible = false
  new = function: p
  set = function: p
  close = function: p
  block = function: p
  select = function: p
  open = function: p
  get = function: p
movie = table:
  recording = false
  start = function: p
  stop = function: p
dryos = table:
  clock = 133
  ms_clock = 133087
  image_prefix = "IMG_"
  dcim_dir = table:
    exists = true
    create = function: p
    children = function: p
    files = function: p
    parent = table:
      exists = true
      create = function: p
      children = function: p
      files = function: p
      parent = table:
        exists = true
        create = function: p
        children = function: p
        files = function: p
        parent = nil
        path = "B:/"
      path = "B:/DCIM/"
    path = "B:/DCIM/100CANON/"
  config_dir = table:
    exists = true
    create = function: p
    children = function: p
    files = function: p
    parent = table:
      exists = true
      create = function: p
      children = function: p
      files = function: p
      parent = table:
        exists = true
        create = function: p
        children = function: p
        files = function: p
        parent = nil
        path = "B:/"
      path = "ML/"
    path = "ML/SETTINGS/"
  ml_card = table:
    cluster_size = 32768
    drive_letter = "B"
    file_number = 2949
    folder_number = 100
    free_space = 30504160
    type = "SD"
    path = "B:/"
    _card_ptr = userdata
  shooting_card = table:
    cluster_size = 32768
    drive_letter = "B"
    file_number = 2949
    folder_number = 100
    free_space = 30504160
    type = "SD"
    path = "B:/"
    _card_ptr = userdata
  date = table:
    yday = 108
    sec = 42
    isdst = false
    year = 2018
    hour = 12
    day = 18
    wday = 4
    month = 4
    min = 40
  directory = function: p
  remove = function: p
  call = function: p
  rename = function: p
interval = table:
  time = 10
  count = 0
  running = false
  stop = function: p
battery = table:
function not available on this camera
stack traceback:
[C]: in ?
[C]: in for iterator 'for iterator'
ML/SCRIPTS/LIB/logger.lua:125: in function 'logger.serialize'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:36: in function <ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:35>
[C]: in function 'globals.xpcall'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:35: in function 'globals.print_table'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:81: in function 'globals.generic_tests'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:1338: in function 'globals.api_tests'
ML/SCRIPTS/API_TEST.LUA:1364: in main chunktask = table:
  create = function: p
  yield = function: p
property = table:
Generic tests completed.

Module tests...
Testing file I/O...
Copy test: autoexec.bin -> tmp.bin
Copy test OK
Append test: tmp.txt
Append test OK
Rename test: apple.txt -> banana.txt
Rename test OK
Rename test: apple.txt -> ML/banana.txt
Rename test OK
File I/O tests completed.

Testing Canon GUI functions...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Pause LiveView...
Resume LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Pause LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Pause LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Pause LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Pause LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Stop LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Start LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Pause LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Stop LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Start LiveView...
Pause LiveView...
Resume LiveView...
Pause LiveView...
Resume LiveView...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Stop LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter MENU mode...
Enter PLAY mode...
Exit PLAY mode...
Start LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Exit MENU mode...
Pause LiveView...
Resume LiveView...
Enter MENU mode...
Canon GUI tests completed.

Testing ML menu API...
Menu tests completed.

Testing picture taking functions...
Snap simulation test...
Single picture...
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2950.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2950.JPG: 1092363
Two burst pictures...
Ideally, the camera should be in some continuous shooting mode (not checked).
B:/DCIM/100CANON/ABC_2951.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/ABC_2951.JPG: 1157974
B:/DCIM/100CANON/ABC_2952.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/ABC_2952.JPG: 1163068
Bracketed pictures...
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2953.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2953.JPG: 3670080
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2954.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2954.JPG: 1127978
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2955.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2955.JPG: 365945
Bulb picture...
Elapsed time: 12134
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2956.CR2 not found.
B:/DCIM/100CANON/IMG_2956.JPG: 365945
Picture taking tests completed.

Testing multitasking...
Only one task allowed to interrupt...
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Main task yielding.
Task C started.
Task C finished.
Main task back.
Multitasking tests completed.

Testing half-shutter...
Half-shutter test OK.

Testing module 'lv'...
LiveView is running; stopping...
Starting LiveView...
Overlays: ML
Overlays: ML
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: ML
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: ML
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: ML
Overlays: disabled
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: Canon
Overlays: Canon
Setting zoom to x1...
Setting zoom to x5...
Setting zoom to x10...
Setting zoom to x5...
Setting zoom to x1...
Setting zoom to x10...
Setting zoom to x1...
Pausing LiveView...
Resuming LiveView...
Stopping LiveView...
LiveView tests completed.


Testing lens focus functionality...
Autofocus outside LiveView...
Focus distance: 655350
Autofocus in LiveView...
Please trigger autofocus (half-shutter / AF-ON / * ).
19...18...Autofocus triggered.
Autofocus completed.
Focus distance: 3900
Focusing backward...
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing forward with step size 3, wait=true...
....
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 3, wait=true...
..
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 4 steps forward, 2 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.
Focusing forward with step size 3, wait=false...
..........
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 3, wait=false...
..........
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 10 steps forward, 10 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.
Focusing forward with step size 2, wait=true...
................
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 2, wait=true...
...............
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 16 steps forward, 15 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.
Focusing forward with step size 2, wait=false...
................................................
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 2, wait=false...
.........................................
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 48 steps forward, 41 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.
Focusing forward with step size 1, wait=true...
.............................................................
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 1, wait=true...
...........................................................
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 61 steps forward, 59 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.
Focusing forward with step size 1, wait=false...
...
Focus distance: 470
Focus motor position: 0
Focusing backward with step size 1, wait=false...
...
Focus distance: 655350
Focus motor position: 0
Focus range: 109 steps forward, 107 steps backward.
Motor steps: 0 forward, 0 backward, 0 lost.

Focus test completed.

Testing exposure settings...
Camera    : Canon EOS REBEL T5i (700D) 1.1.5
Lens      : EF28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM
Shoot mode: 3
Shutter   : Ç5 (raw 75, 0.192776s, 193ms, apex 2.375)
Aperture  : Å5.6 (raw 48, f/5.6, apex 5.)
Av range  : Å3.5..Å22 (raw 37..80, f/3.5..f/22.6, apex 3.625..9.)
ISO       : Ä1600 (raw 104, 1600, apex 9.)
EC        : 0.0 (raw 0, 0 EV)
Flash EC  : 0.0 (raw 0, 0 EV)
Setting shutter to random values...
Setting ISO to random values...
Setting aperture to random values...
Please switch to Av mode.
Setting EC to random values...
Setting Flash EC to random values...
Exposure tests completed.


Testing movie recording...
Please switch to Movie mode.
Movie recording tests completed.

Done!
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1129 on: May 28, 2018, 10:02:25 PM »
Let's try the new resolutions on 700D

1. 2520x1384 16:9 @ 24fps
2. 3K  3072x1304 2.35:1 @ 20fps

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg202049#msg202049
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

hecz0r

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1130 on: June 20, 2018, 05:37:46 PM »
Since I had to dig a bit too much for my patience to find an up to date and or exhaustive guide for 700d raw video, this is mine.

Requirements: UHS I or better SD Card. I've a SanDisk Extreme PRO UHS II which is definitely overkill, gets me around 60mb/s.

Ten easy steps:
1. Get latest build from here and install as usual https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/
2. Enable all modules and reboot.
3. Under Scripts, press Q on "enable SD overclocking" and enable "Autorun". You could do the same for any of the recording modes listed, if you plan to use only one in particular and wanna make sure it's always working properly. Reboot.
4. Set your exposure correctly (make sure ISO as low as possible, over 1000 you start artifacting a bit, shutter speed to 1/48 if shooting in 24 or double of any framerated needed, finetune it to exactly that through Movie - Image Fine-tuning - Shutter fine-tuning)
5. Set up MLVFS on Win/Mac, guide here : https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13152.0
6. If you get any pink dots, chroma smooth with 2x2.
7. Use Adobe Camera RAW to grade the image sequence, by importing it directly from the MLVFS virtual drive. I usually just hit "auto" on exposure and white balance, and select my lens from the profiles to remove any distortion / vignetting.
8. Render uncompressed avis or dnxhd movs in order to edit, directly from SD. It's faster for me this way, than copying files and then exporting, since it happens at the same time. You need to prerender - on a 250gb EVO SSD I can't edit smoothly in Premiere or After Effects without prerendering, maybe Final Cut handles image sequences better?
9. Edit your clip. Add grading. Upscale to 8k when rendering, YouTube allows for higher bitrate and better grain display. I use .mov dnxhr hq 8 bit in After Effects to render 8k. H.265 works fine as well, renders much slower in my experience, and I have a good upload speed so I afford uploading gigabytes.
10. Enjoy near 4k quality from your $500 camera lol.

A couple of examples: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fwEpsWXQ04 - clean footage. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYVwqTO7Blo - heavily edited footage.

Ballinger

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1131 on: June 28, 2018, 08:34:17 PM »
Let's try the new resolutions on 700D

1. 2520x1384 16:9 @ 24fps
2. 3K  3072x1304 2.35:1 @ 20fps

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg202049#msg202049

I cannot get this to work on the 700D no matter what I try.   :'(  Is your module designed to be used in concert with the SD UHD hack?  Could you please be more specific as to how and when to switch from Liveview to Play mode during the process?  Most of the time I simply experience a lockup when trying your module, but the one time I actually did get it to almost work in 3x crop mode it immediately frame-skipped and stopped recording. 

I'm running the latest Crop 4k branch for the 700D with firmware 1.15.  Thank you so much for your efforts - if you're successful with this module it would be the biggest accomplishment yet with Magic Lantern and the 700D. 

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1132 on: June 29, 2018, 04:51:32 PM »
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

Ballinger

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1133 on: July 01, 2018, 07:18:07 AM »
Since I had to dig a bit too much for my patience to find an up to date and or exhaustive guide for 700d raw video, this is mine.

Requirements: UHS I or better SD Card. I've a SanDisk Extreme PRO UHS II which is definitely overkill, gets me around 60mb/s.

Ten easy steps:
1. Get latest build from here and install as usual https://bitbucket.org/Dannephoto/magic-lantern/downloads/
2. Enable all modules and reboot.
3. Under Scripts, press Q on "enable SD overclocking" and enable "Autorun". You could do the same for any of the recording modes listed, if you plan to use only one in particular and wanna make sure it's always working properly. Reboot.
4. Set your exposure correctly (make sure ISO as low as possible, over 1000 you start artifacting a bit, shutter speed to 1/48 if shooting in 24 or double of any framerated needed, finetune it to exactly that through Movie - Image Fine-tuning - Shutter fine-tuning)
5. Set up MLVFS on Win/Mac, guide here : https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=13152.0
6. If you get any pink dots, chroma smooth with 2x2.
7. Use Adobe Camera RAW to grade the image sequence, by importing it directly from the MLVFS virtual drive. I usually just hit "auto" on exposure and white balance, and select my lens from the profiles to remove any distortion / vignetting.
8. Render uncompressed avis or dnxhd movs in order to edit, directly from SD. It's faster for me this way, than copying files and then exporting, since it happens at the same time. You need to prerender - on a 250gb EVO SSD I can't edit smoothly in Premiere or After Effects without prerendering, maybe Final Cut handles image sequences better?
9. Edit your clip. Add grading. Upscale to 8k when rendering, YouTube allows for higher bitrate and better grain display. I use .mov dnxhr hq 8 bit in After Effects to render 8k. H.265 works fine as well, renders much slower in my experience, and I have a good upload speed so I afford uploading gigabytes.
10. Enjoy near 4k quality from your $500 camera lol.

A couple of examples: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fwEpsWXQ04 - clean footage. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYVwqTO7Blo - heavily edited footage.

Thank you for sharing!  IMHO, your method is by far the most practical and useful way to accomplish 4k rendering on the 700D.  SD_UHD overclocking is the only way to achieve useful UHD footage with the 700D at present. 

Levas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1188
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1134 on: July 04, 2018, 09:32:23 AM »
@all, dener.3id needs some help getting crop mode working on the t5i.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=22429.msg203283#msg203283

@dener.3id

Almost there, weird live view is perfectly normal in these high resolution crop modes, everybody is hoping on a fix in the future  :P
These crop presets are all made for use in 5x zoom mode, you're still in 1080p mode, not zoomed in.
Try to go into 5x zoom mode with the magnify button.

Once in 5x zoom mode, you can use 'half shutter press' to see a sort of live view made by magic lantern.
Use the half shutter press for framing your shot, once set right, leave half shutter press and press the record button.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1135 on: July 04, 2018, 11:23:24 AM »
@all, dener.3id needs some help getting crop mode working on the t5i.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=22429.msg203283#msg203283

@dener.3id

Almost there, weird live view is perfectly normal in these high resolution crop modes, everybody is hoping on a fix in the future  :P
These crop presets are all made for use in 5x zoom mode, you're still in 1080p mode, not zoomed in.
Try to go into 5x zoom mode with the magnify button.

Once in 5x zoom mode, you can use 'half shutter press' to see a sort of live view made by magic lantern.
Use the half shutter press for framing your shot, once set right, leave half shutter press and press the record button.

Thanks it seems to work now. anyway I change the bit depth, or dualiso? I only get about a second of recording at 2.5 k, how do I enable the sd_uhs hack?

Levas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1188
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1136 on: July 04, 2018, 11:42:34 AM »
If you go to 'raw video' menu (enter q button on camera to enter this menu)
You can choose 'data format', set this to 14-bit lossless.

Now for sd_uhs hack, not sure if your version has it, but if it has.
Enable module 'sd_uhs'.
Once it is enabled and camera is restarted, you'll find a new option in the 'Debug' tab, in magic lantern menu.
You'll see the option 'SD overclock'.
Click this option(must be in photo mode, clicking it in video mode doesn't work).
When clicked on this option, you'll see the card reader led blink a few times, when the red light doesn't blink anymore, it's safe to switch to video mode and use it.

You have to click the sd_uhs option everytime you switch on your camera (when camera is turned off, sd_uhs is disabled)

alameen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1137 on: July 04, 2018, 01:39:17 PM »
I just download and install the latest ML on my cannon 700d and seems it's working fine. Does any one know how to record a video in zoom level. It's there any Step by stepb procedure kindly track me please...

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1138 on: July 05, 2018, 01:34:52 AM »
If you go to 'raw video' menu (enter q button on camera to enter this menu)
You can choose 'data format', set this to 14-bit lossless.

Now for sd_uhs hack, not sure if your version has it, but if it has.
Enable module 'sd_uhs'.
Once it is enabled and camera is restarted, you'll find a new option in the 'Debug' tab, in magic lantern menu.
You'll see the option 'SD overclock'.
Click this option(must be in photo mode, clicking it in video mode doesn't work).
When clicked on this option, you'll see the card reader led blink a few times, when the red light doesn't blink anymore, it's safe to switch to video mode and use it.

You have to click the sd_uhs option everytime you switch on your camera (when camera is turned off, sd_uhs is disabled)

mine dose not have it. I'm looking for where I can download a copy of the module.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1139 on: July 06, 2018, 05:00:33 AM »
mine dose not have it. I'm looking for where I can download a copy of the module.

Any ideas?

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1140 on: July 06, 2018, 06:32:48 AM »
Any ideas?

Here's an idea--read the responses to your posts.

If you really want to go cutting edge with the sd-uhs module and a lua script that sets everything on startup look up Danne's builds.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1141 on: July 06, 2018, 08:12:26 AM »
Found some stubs that were off on the EOSM and in the process might have found one on the 700D too. I'm pretty sure this needs to be adjusted but am not sure how to test it.

Code: [Select]
-NSTUB(0xFFA73C58 - RAM_OFFSET,  TryPostEvent_end)
+NSTUB(0xFFA73C5C - RAM_OFFSET,  TryPostEvent_end)
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1142 on: July 06, 2018, 09:36:32 AM »
It's no longer used; it was an early experiment to trace the calls to that function.

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3031
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1143 on: July 07, 2018, 06:27:29 PM »
Ok--it isn't being used but it is obviously the wrong address so how about we fix it in case we need to get back to it in the future?

Hey, that gives me an idea for a movie  8)

Pull request respectfully submitted:

https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/934/700d-fix-trypostevent_end-stub-address/diff
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 500D.112

honeybager

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 700D / T5i
« Reply #1144 on: July 09, 2018, 08:59:50 PM »
Complete Noob here. We've got a T5i and a Pix E7. We're trying to output video from the T5i to the Pix E7. We've got magic lantern installed on the T5i and have gotten rid of the overlays but the video is still cropped with a black border around it.

How do we get rid of that?