Author Topic: DSLR Host Controller?  (Read 15696 times)

javapop

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 33
DSLR Host Controller?
« on: July 08, 2012, 09:56:13 PM »
Is anyone using DSLR Host Controller on a Device running Magic Lantern? http://dslrcontroller.com/

scrax

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Code monkey
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 11:19:46 PM »
I don't know, my phone can't do OTG
There is also a more specific app for ML under development by sztupy
Here the app:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=hu.sztupy.android.mlcontroller
Here the topic on XDA:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1527773
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus - EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX Lion, Photoshop & Lightroom -no video experience- MLTools

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 02:44:05 PM »
Hey I see the Galaxy S3 can run as a USB host, I wonder if I can use it to display the screen for remote image framing? For low angles or tight spaces that is.
550D on ML-roids

scrax

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1417
  • Code monkey
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2012, 06:06:40 PM »
If you have it try and report back ;)
I think yes if some lag is not a problem for you
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus - EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX Lion, Photoshop & Lightroom -no video experience- MLTools

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2012, 11:20:19 AM »
Sadly I have to wait out my current contract :( I haver a friend with an SIII but I dont think he will test it for me...
550D on ML-roids

Datadogie

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • I have a picture memory exept I forgot the sd card
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2012, 09:53:35 PM »
The dslr controller works with the Galaxy S2 albeit without ML.
T3i and Kiss X4 (550d (T2i)) Tamron 18-200mm, Sigma 28-70mm f2.8 (need firmware upgrade) Olympus 50mm f1.8  Olympus 28mm f2.8 and Olympus 24mm f2.8
Fancier 370 tripod and LCD hinged loupe. DIY Slider and crane.

softimage69

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2012, 10:30:38 AM »
I have a Samsung Galaxy SIII, and am using DSLR Controller from Chainfire.  All I had to do was buy a OTG cable ($5) and simply plug it in to my phone/60D.  Works like a charm.
 
Now I just have to find a way to mount my phone to the hotshoe somehow...

Rick W

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2012, 09:05:44 PM »
I could not get DSLR controller to work with ML installed. Bummer.

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2012, 03:17:58 AM »
Softimage69 heres what I did with my ipod. http://t.co/7CfrCbdq to be honest the friction arm isn't a great idea as it looses tension all the time.
550D on ML-roids

vargham

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #9 on: October 03, 2012, 04:12:07 PM »
DSLR Controller works for me with ML on 60D and on 550D.
I have built a holder for the phone from LEGO bricks. :-)

specter

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #10 on: October 06, 2012, 08:34:49 AM »
my phone is galaxy note(android 4.0.4), DSLR controller works perfect in my 60D with ML.
BUT, the connection will dead after my camera sleep(power saving), and i have 2 restart it.
Besides, it wouldn't work with USB extension cable, neither DSLR controller  nor  EOS Utility.

diy-greenenergy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Arduino advanced camera control
« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2012, 02:56:01 PM »
Few years ago, I made a device called APCC (advanced photo camera control) for my canon 400 (xti).
It was based in atmega328p microcontroller (arduino).
I integrated alot of future like:
 -timelapse, long exposure
 -sound trigger
 -light trigger
 -ir remote controll for canon 400d and nikon 50d
If you are intrested you can read more about this advanced photo camera control on my web site

Gyuri
400D with 400Plus, 650D with ML, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5, Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 100mm 2.8 macro, Canon 55-250mm IS, DIY Macro Ring, Nissin Di622

diy-greenenergy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #12 on: December 23, 2012, 02:59:43 PM »
Small video with my arduino camera control diy device
400D with 400Plus, 650D with ML, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5, Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 100mm 2.8 macro, Canon 55-250mm IS, DIY Macro Ring, Nissin Di622

albert-e

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2013, 04:09:03 PM »
You have not mentioned anything about w/c camera (Canon, Nikon, Sony, etc.) can be controlled by IR or wired control through what kind of interface?

SDX

  • Moderators
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 288
  • Medialogist
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2013, 10:46:51 PM »
diy-greenenergy: that reminds me of this: http://www.circuitsathome.com/camera-control/

It uses a wired USB connection to the camera, an Arduino, USB Host shield and a PTP implementation specially for ATmega.
Here some thoughts from my side to that: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=1705.msg11758#msg11758
600D, EOS M - Flickr

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2013, 11:34:57 PM »
6D can do this through wifi but none of the apps support it yet. I don't have an OTG cable so I have not tested these yet. Why wouldn't it work with ML? Wouldn't you just need to not compile ML PTP?

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2013, 09:31:26 AM »
Well I bought an SIII and an OTG. They are both in the mail. I hope that recent ML works with DSLR Controler? Would like to use ML features and DSLR Controler features too. But mostly for screen framing, can't be any worse than GoPro framing :P
550D on ML-roids

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
R: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #17 on: January 03, 2013, 11:15:32 AM »
Got the cable.. Will report back in a couple of hours :-)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #18 on: January 03, 2013, 01:22:02 PM »
Cool, I have an old 550D so I hope it works ok. Seems everyone has 60 or 600s
550D on ML-roids

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2013, 11:04:30 AM »
Tested on the 1100D , didn't work. Camera complained about bitmap buffer
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #20 on: January 05, 2013, 01:50:31 PM »
:( oh dear that doesnt sound to good. Is it a buffer to serve USB?
550D on ML-roids

diy-greenenergy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2013, 08:38:38 PM »
You have not mentioned anything about w/c camera (Canon, Nikon, Sony, etc.) can be controlled by IR or wired control through what kind of interface?
I integratet IR remote codes from canon rc-5, tested on canon 400d and ML5 tested on nikon D50
Wire trigger is simple focus/shutter mode (simulate wired remote Canon RS-60E3)
400D with 400Plus, 650D with ML, Sigma 17-70 2.8-4.5, Canon 50mm f1.8, Canon 100mm 2.8 macro, Canon 55-250mm IS, DIY Macro Ring, Nissin Di622

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #22 on: January 14, 2013, 11:58:09 AM »
I have managed to get dslr controller to work with ml on a 550d. It will run up to 24 fps so I get very close to a real time screen. I like tap to focus on my old 550d so I won't be buying a 650d just yet;) but I miss HDR video mode that a1ex created.
550D on ML-roids

3pointedit

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • 550D
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2013, 04:05:19 AM »
Further to success, now the bad news :( While I could get DSLR controler to recognise the ML on my 550D in movie mode, all other modes fail. So no live view for taking photos. Although HDR recording and off speed shutter effects all work ok in movie mode. And I can take photos in movie mode too. Just that DSLR Controler complains in any other mode and cannot locate the camera...
550D on ML-roids

gjpierrot

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DSLR Host Controller?
« Reply #24 on: March 04, 2017, 04:47:39 AM »
I used this app on my S7 edge with 6d and don`t work. Suddenly monitoring freezes. It would seem that the problem is the bitrate.
if I wrote something wrong, sorry but I`m not an english speaker.