Custom frame rate sync for telecine use

Started by richardtallent, December 18, 2014, 08:41:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

richardtallent

I'm a photographer (5D Mk II) and I've inherited around 30 rolls of family 8mm film made in the 50's-70's that I want to convert to HD video. I have a projector I'm restoring for this.

While I believe ML will allow me to set the frame rate to 16fps, neither my projector nor ML will allow on-the-fly changes to sync them, so it's basically random chance whether I'll end up capturing while the projector's shutter is fully open, fully closed, or somewhere in between. I'm also concerned that this ancient analog projector is not going to be *precisely* 16fps and I'm going to end up with an image that slowly rolls.

Solution #1 (easier):

Being able to assign a button that will delay the next frame capture in the movie by some fraction of a second each time it is pressed. That way once I start the projector and video, I can "tweak" the timing during the first few seconds of video and eliminate any strobing/rolling in the image.

Solution #2 (impossible?):

Have the video automatically tweak its shutter timing to correspond with the timing of the brightest image over the last few seconds. That way I could set it at 16fps, but it would "auto-track" so it captures each of those 16 frames when the projector shutter is wide open (and, thus, the film is centered).

I'm guessing that the digital (LCD) shutter is closed between video frame grabs and thus there may be no information about the overall brightness of the scene, but what I'm hoping is that the metering sensor is still streaming information that could be used for this.

Solution #3 (maybe not as impossible?):

Time the exact capture of each frame in the video to an incoming signal, such as from a hall effect sensor or optical sensor that I can hack into the projector to close when the shutter is fully open.