Author Topic: Canon 1200D  (Read 372284 times)

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #275 on: July 29, 2016, 02:33:33 PM »
From my test along with my SD Card from kit, I think is about 16-17Mb/s so I gess the limit will be at 864x486 or 960x540 at 24/25fps. Similar to 500D, 550D, 600D and 60D
5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #276 on: July 29, 2016, 02:38:07 PM »
Maybe, depends on buffer though, if it doesn't hold many frames, I think it has to write faster to keep up.

Refer to this post about silent trigger test.
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12627.msg170427#msg170427
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #277 on: July 29, 2016, 03:10:41 PM »
Before this thread gets crazy, I dont want this issue to get lost, lets focus on this: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12627.msg170413#msg170413

Here is my recommendation : http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12627.msg170424#msg170424
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #278 on: July 29, 2016, 05:15:40 PM »
I was testing the last changes and I've seen two problems:

The zebra/focus peaking is misaligned at image review mode (immediately after shooting). Even if the image is displayed with canon histogram and photo info the orverlay covers all the screen (not only the thumbnail)



Using my CZ Distagon 28/2 (C/Y mount + adapter + AF chip) I have ~ -3 stops at LV screen compared to the actual photo, so zebras, histogram and image references are useless. That's for photo, Movie mode (manual, same parameters) LV looks correct.

I've tested also with and old 28-80 USM without problems with LV (overlay problem persists). I don't have my L lenses here and the other two Zeiss primes for testing now
5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #279 on: July 29, 2016, 06:12:34 PM »
Looks like I need to come in just a tad more on the skip values, can you send me a decent silent DNG, the one I had to work with was hard to check. I got as close as I thought, but may of had to chop off a few more.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

gulwantgill

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #280 on: July 29, 2016, 06:39:43 PM »
Finally we are at this point.Just recorded first raw video form 1200D at 720p 15 fps with dual iso.Because of slow writing speed , It is as high as it can go.

Without DUAL ISO Filtered


With DUAL ISO Filtered


Bugs :

We are getting pink frames at every 23rd frame or better say last frame.It happen every time we record raw video.All modules off and still , pink frame dose not go away.


Big thanks to mk11174 and alex!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #281 on: July 29, 2016, 07:07:37 PM »
Using my CZ Distagon 28/2 (C/Y mount + adapter + AF chip) I have ~ -3 stops at LV screen compared to the actual photo, so zebras, histogram and image references are useless. That's for photo, Movie mode (manual, same parameters) LV looks correct.

Sounds like the "well-known" LiveView underexposure bug (Canon issue with manual lenses).

If you have an AF chip, the issue might go away if you try to change the aperture back and forth a few times. Otherwise, attach a Canon lens and set the aperture to widest position before removing it. Or, enable exposure override in ML menu.

@gulwantgill: please watch your font.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #282 on: July 29, 2016, 08:48:51 PM »
If someone can please send me a Full Res Silent picture so I can adjust the settings to align focus and zebra in photo review mode.

Instructions, get build here: http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12627.msg170329#msg170329

Enable silent.mo and restart camera.

Go to Photo Live view mode, and go in the silent feature settings and set top one to Full Res, make sure bottom is DNG.

Now make sure in Canon, Review is set to something other then OFF, so you can see it took one.

Now just aim, expose at something even lit, and half press shutter button, it will tell you it took one.

Send me that image please? Only way I can fix it.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #283 on: July 30, 2016, 02:17:11 AM »
Raw error. No file created  :-[


5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #284 on: July 30, 2016, 03:17:48 AM »
I updated build, can you download it once more and see if you still get raw_error for full res silent picture?
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #285 on: July 30, 2016, 07:18:14 AM »
mk11174,

Since you seem to have taken this port under your wing, it's probably best if you control the OP. 
Feel free to start a new thread when you have some time.

Cheers.

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #286 on: July 30, 2016, 08:11:22 AM »
I was actually thinking that would make it easier to control the updated test builds, but School is starting here soon, so my efforts will probably have to end at that point, which is why I might seem rushy trying to get testers to help out sooner rather then later in case noone else can come along in the future to work things out.

I don't know much more I will be able to do at this point since I don't have this camera, I really just wanted to get this full res silent picture just so I can finally get those Raw Photo skip values in as maybe one last final deed to tidy everything up, I hate knowing something so simple to fix is incomplete right now just cause of one picture, LOL!
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #287 on: July 30, 2016, 11:17:04 AM »
I updated build, can you download it once more and see if you still get raw_error for full res silent picture?
Same error  :-\
5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #288 on: July 30, 2016, 11:56:46 AM »
hmm, weird, if you in Photo Mode and switch to Live View, and have your knob set to M so camera can be in Manual control, and your have your picture quality in Canon set to RAW, or RAW+jpg, or jpg, Just RAW, and try a shutter of say 1/10 and aperture whatever and iso at 100, this should work, just press half shutter once and release, still nothing?

If still dont work, I am not sure what the deal is?
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #289 on: July 30, 2016, 12:04:48 PM »
M 1/10 f2.0  ISO 100 RAW LV Full-Res DNG

5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #290 on: July 30, 2016, 12:26:09 PM »
Well that stinks  :-\

Thanks for trying at least.

Is Image Review off by chance in Canon, if so, try making it anything but Off, like 2 seconds, or Hold.
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #291 on: July 30, 2016, 01:37:45 PM »
All I could get it's a black DNG (RGB values 0 or 1)

And then...



I cannot repeat this behavior

I'm trying with simple (not full-res) and half shutter works fine in LV, but it closes the review mode.
5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #292 on: July 30, 2016, 01:43:04 PM »
I didn't see another DNG generated with the misalignment (corrupted)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2UvFnfao5GKQ3RDMTlhcEtaTmM/view?usp=sharing

5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #293 on: July 30, 2016, 05:03:39 PM »
Cool, thats what I needed!

And wait, this was from simple????

This is what you want to select if your doing it right, but whatever you did, gave you the correct text on screen and image at one point. You by chance try with and without Exp Override to see if you have more success, or with histo and waveform and other things off, just to see if you have better luck, I will need another test when I set the settings in new build to make sure they are correct.


500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #294 on: July 30, 2016, 05:18:10 PM »
Ok, updated it, can you check again, also check if the overlay for Histogram and focus peaking in Photo Review mode are aligned since that is what this test was really for?

Just upload from Latest link again : http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12627.msg170329#msg170329
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

Sergio de la Torre

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #295 on: July 30, 2016, 05:26:06 PM »
And wait, this was from simple???
No, it's from full-res. With simple parameter it seems that there is no problem.

Ok, updated it, can you check again, also check if the overlay for Histogram and focus peaking in Photo Review mode are aligned since that is what this test was really for?

Review mode overlay it's aligned.
Silent.mo gives error at full-res

Thanks a lot for your time :)
5Dc - 1200D - 20D - 350D InfraRed

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #296 on: July 30, 2016, 05:42:38 PM »
Great!, good to hear regular silent is working fine.

Am curious why you got the one picture the one time but cant repeat?

Maybe Alex will see this and save the day? LOL

At least you got the one shot to get overlay aligned, so thats good news!
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

mk11174

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 809
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #297 on: July 30, 2016, 08:36:58 PM »
Ran this in debug: In hopes it will help a developer see why Full_Res gives raw error and seemed to take a picture at one point and only one successful image another time, most of the time its a raw error.

Thanks Sergio de la Torre for running test.

Code: [Select]
static void run_test()
{
    msleep(2000);

    void debug_intercept();
    debug_intercept();
    info_led_on();
    void* job = (void*) call("FA_CreateTestImage");
    call("FA_CaptureTestImage", job);
    call("FA_DeleteTestImage", job);
    info_led_off();
    debug_intercept();
}

DM.LOG
http://dropcanvas.com/052mi/1
500D/T1i  550D/T2i  600D/T3i  700D/T5i

islonina

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #298 on: July 31, 2016, 08:22:33 PM »
Hi

I tested the ML for 1200d and love it but now i need to uninstall it. The only problem is that i cant do that. On the other camera 5dII when i install firmware there is a option for change mode <P AV M >to disable bootdisk flag on the camera. On the 1200d there is no option for that.

BallisticHugs

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 1200D
« Reply #299 on: August 03, 2016, 12:32:08 AM »
I have the 1200D Camera. Is there anyway I can help as far as testing, and if I can what are the risk for the camera?