Author Topic: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file  (Read 43798 times)

clapalm

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Thru a friend I discovered how to join files on a Mac using Terminal.  Here is the link to the article:

http://shar.es/zOvt1

It worked! Was able to join my .RAW, .R00 and R01 file together into a single file that raw2dng was able to create .dng files with! Happy Day.

alexp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2013, 01:21:41 AM »
So I was referred to this thread by the ML twitter to fix what appears to be corrupted RAW files. Anyone know if this works? I see that there are a ton of FFFFFFF hexs at the end of my file but also sporadic patches throughout the file. Fixing the end enables me to run through the process of converting and then to lightroom but it's just Digital pink noise in LR.

I was able to join .R00 and .RAW files together using Terminal. I was also able to extract DNGs by pasting footer using Hex Friend. But all my DNGs have pink noise now. Any ideas?

silvertonesx24

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • 5Dii
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #27 on: September 07, 2013, 09:24:22 PM »
But all my DNGs have pink noise now. Any ideas?

Same exact thing here each time I've tried this method.

ifleeter

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #28 on: September 10, 2013, 07:24:44 PM »
My RAW file wouldn't work in the RAW2DNG.exe so I downloaded HxD and put the numbers in the footer. My RAW file now converts to DNG but after the first frame all the rest have Pink in them.


dangerh33@mac.com

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #29 on: September 12, 2013, 02:17:11 AM »
Same issue, here need help! Is there any way to salvage this footage? The RAW files appear full size to what we shot, just getting all jumbled pink craziness.

pedrosuarez

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #30 on: September 15, 2013, 04:14:37 AM »
I posted a workflow in this thread that I believe solves the "neon pink" photo issue.. Hopefully it's beneficial for you.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=8237.0

vprocessing

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #31 on: September 17, 2013, 09:37:30 AM »
Hi to all !

I'm discovering RAW with the 50D…AND It is Awesome !!!!!!!!!
I had on my 2nd time test shooting 2 problems with the "This ain't a lv_rec RAW file"
First was with a splitted file so I joined them with terminal and it was OK for use with RawMagic
The second is a clip who had "skipped frame"…the 50D just got blocked on the skippinng frame I had to pull out battery.
Then I have a 4,29 .RAW file and a 807ko .R00 file…
I've tried to change the footer with the 4GB one like before on this thread…
I just pasted it at the end of the file with Hexfiend…so the file was recognized by RawMagic but it is all purple crazyness !!!!
Am I doing the procedure bad ?
To finish, As I had this skipped frame I wanted to benchmark my Komputerbay x1000 UDMA7 64Go…the 5min benchmark never ends…
The buffer card bench give me results about 43,7MB/s, 40,1MB/s,44,1MB/s, 46,1MB/s (for this value buffer=19371k)
Should I send it back for exchange ?

Spring Pictures

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
I posted a workflow in this thread that I believe solves the "neon pink" photo issue.. Hopefully it's beneficial for you.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=8237.0

Hi pedrosuarez
I have had no luck trying your technique.  My clips were cut short when the camera shut off automatically at 4mins. Also one when the battery died.
They are all approx 15GB in size, I have used the appropriate Hex code each time I've tried your technique (in thread above).
I'm working on Mac and didn't receive "Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file" they simply just don't create anything inside the DNG folder when placed in raw2dng, no ProRes either.  I also tried RAWMagic.
I have tried with both the merged files and the original files straight from camera.
These files are very very important to me so any help with be deeply appreciated.  I'm also happy to Paypal anyone who is willing to work it through with me. Thanks, Dylan

santogallo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Hi... I'm new to all of this, I mean shooting with ML hack on the MkIII which I find truly AWESOME, quality of the DNG files are just amazing compared to the H264 native codec, I've been looking for that cine look for years, so anyways I've been testing my camera for the first time and I've got the same situation with corrupt files either when the file gets larger than 4gb or when the card is full, so first of all I had to reformat all my CF cards to the exFAT format on Mac, then my solution after looking and trying several times was the easiest and obvious (Yeah 2 days later of trying), copy the footer of a non-corrupted file that weighs aprox. the same than the corrupted one, all of this with the Hex program, and just copy/paste the footer, that's all.

Dimasan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #34 on: February 18, 2014, 11:20:24 PM »
Here's what worked for me:
Been running across the issue of pink/flashing frames when trying to convert my spanned RAW files to DNGs. I've been recording to FAT32 cards, so file size was limited and files spanned to multiple RAW files (RAW, R00, R01, etc)
All of my problem files have been at the end of the card, when the card filled up and the camera rolled out, before it had a chance to write the footer.
None of the converters even recognized these files, labeling them with crazy resolutions (23453x51246) and Framerates (-69.345).
I looked around and found this forum, which was a godsend.
Shield's Hex fix worked flawlessly for the files that did not span across multiple 4GB files - Thank you!

Those that did span, however, still provided a corrupted image.
I cross-checked similar takes from the card, and noticed that the footer for spanned files is actually longer than the one posted by Shield, so I grabbed the longer length of the footer, making sure to choose a take that was similar length, but slightly longer to compensate for the extra frames, and pasted it at the end of the corrupted spanned file.
Then, I used RAWanizer to open the file and convert to DNG+Cineform Proxy.

Been checking out the proxies, and the problem has been resolved!
And the converter actually truncates the file automatically, so there are no extra frames to worry about at the end.
Here are the steps again:

1. Open the last spanned file of the corrupted clip in HxD or another Hex editor (the ones with extension .R04, .R05, etc. Not the .RAW file)
2. Open the last spanned file of a non-corrupted clip in HxD. Preferably one of the same extension and slightly larger file size (ie. if you opened M16-1700.R05 in Step 1 with a size of 1GB, then this file would ideally be something like M16-1646.R05 with a size of 1.1GB or larger.)
3. Copy the footer from the non-corrupted file to the end of the corrupted file. For me it was the last 28 lines, starting with the tags A5 A5 A5 A5... - see image below.
4. Open the file in the converter, and it should recognize it and be able to process it. RAWanizer was the only one I have tried so far, but I'm sure it would work with any of them after this point.

If you're in doubt, I suggest repeating Step 2 for several non-corrupted files and checking for similarities in the footer.

Hope this helps!

Code: [Select]
A5 A5 A5 A5 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
55 55 AA AA 55 55 AA AA 55 55 55 55 AA AA AA AA
52 41 57 4D 80 07 38 04 00 60 37 00 87 1F 00 00
01 00 00 00 A8 5D 00 00 48 48 04 00 00 00 00 00
01 00 00 00 00 20 15 0B 26 05 00 00 20 08 00 00
38 0E 00 00 50 34 49 00 0E 00 00 00 FE 07 00 00
98 3A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 88 07 00 00
08 05 00 00 1E 00 00 00 92 00 00 00 26 05 00 00
1A 08 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 01 02
01 00 00 00 42 1A 00 00 10 27 00 00 85 FD FF FF
10 27 00 00 3D FC FF FF 10 27 00 00 41 EF FF FF
10 27 00 00 AC 30 00 00 10 27 00 00 EC 07 00 00
10 27 00 00 74 FC FF FF 10 27 00 00 72 08 00 00
10 27 00 00 24 16 00 00 10 27 00 00 EF 03 00 00


psiconauta

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: How to replace file footer, aka fix the Error: This ain't a lv_rec RAW file
« Reply #35 on: February 26, 2014, 05:51:08 PM »
Hi everyone, I've been using 0xED to correct the hex with the footer i found on this forum and I was able to convert all my "NAN" RAW files into cinema DNG. Now I do have a new situation:
I purchased a 128gb 1000x lexar CF and my corrupt files is over 64gb, around 86gb. Is anyone able to help me out with that?
I mean to calculate the footer for such a big file or to teach me how to do it myself?
Thanks a lot,
Psiconauta

LEVISDAVIS

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
This technique is rock solid for recovering files! I simply re-recorded another file with the same resolution and frame rate and took the last lines of information from that file and pasted it to the original corrupt file. Now I don't even have one pink-frame or skipped frame throughout the entire shot or nearly 15 minutes! Thanks.
Levi S. Davis

sines

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Director
When pasting the footer from another spanned file of shorter length, both raw2dng and RAWMagic Lite on the Mac truncate the sequence to the number of frames of the shorter sequence of 827 frames. So instead showing the entire 19 GB clip [spanned over an original 5 files] I am only seeing 827 frames instead of ... 2400 or so.

So I tried the hex value in the code from above, which would create a sequence of 1920x1080, 8071 frames [23.976fps]. Since I am shooting at 1.85:1, the res is 1920x1038, 23.976 fps, but a unknown sequence length since the clip got trimmed. Any idea on how to change the Y res in hex to 1038 so that RAWMagic thinks it's of a sequence longer than 827 frames?

I did a search of 0x438 in hex [1080] and there are just too many values & instances of it to sift through to have it make any sense.
Director | DoP | Creative Director
Arri Alexa · Arri IIC · Arritechno 35-90 · Blackmagic Pocket Cinema 6K · Canon 5D MKIII · DJI Focus, Matrice 600, Inspire 2, Ronin, Ronin-MX · Zeiss Standard Speeds · Zeiss Superspeed Contax Primes

phamnguyendo

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
I also have some similar problem like Sines. I have 3 .RAW files and each is 4.29GB, the camera stopped recording. Instead of recording at 1920x1080, I shot at 1920x768, and when I pasted the code, it allows me to unpack the files again. But it doesn't turn out right, the resolution is at 1920x1080 and the smaller images in this frame keep overlaying each other. Is there a code to paste that would be fitting for 1920x768? Please help! I'd much appreciate your awesomeness. 

patdosanjh

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Preferably one of the same extension and slightly larger file size[/b] (ie. if you opened M16-1700.R05 in Step 1 with a size of 1GB, then this file would ideally be something like M16-1646.R05 with a size of 1.1GB or larger.)

That turned out for me to be a very important thing!!! Otherwise I would end in getting pink frames! So be sure to copy the footer from a .R0? - File with the same file ending!

Else I had some mistakes in the beginning not letting the Terminal (Mac-User!) merging the files to the end. Because there is no process displayed in the terminal and the file is created in the first second you may think terminal is finished but it is not! Depending on the file sizes it took up to 7 minutes and more! Two ways to find out if Terminal has finished:
1) When done Terminal shows up a new line beginning with your mac username+$
2) If you try to close Terminal while being in a progress it will give you a warning which says that the current action is not finished: cat

Maybe that can help somebody, I finally got all my clips working and was very happy about non-repeatable footage :)

Good luck!