Author Topic: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?  (Read 3295 times)

TehThird

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« on: July 05, 2014, 03:22:55 AM »
Hey all. I recorded some raw footage with the 5D mk3 v1.2.3 and newest magic lantern, and the fps recorded was 25 fps on some clips, 29,776 on some clips, I have no idea why. Anyone have an idea why? If i want it to stick to 25, then I use the fps override, correct?

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 928
  • 550D
Re: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2014, 04:50:53 AM »
25 is when the camera is in PAL mode, 29.97 (30*0.999) is when the camera is in NTSC.
You can put the camera in PAL and fps override to 30fps and vice versa.
Although if you want to record at 25fps you're better off being in PAL mode than overriding NTSC.

TehThird

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2014, 07:24:02 PM »
Thanks Lenny. Yeah I know the difference between Pal and Ntsc, but the strange thing is that I didnt change anything between the clips. I just pressed record, zoomed and focused, 14 times. 8 times it recorded in 25p the rest of the clips were recorded in 29,776.

goran

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2014, 08:08:06 PM »
One click on zoom in Live View enters crop mode which is always 30fps unless you set fps over ride. Another click enters regular x10 zoom for focusing.
Maybe you recorded some clips in crop mode?

Goran

TehThird

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2014, 11:02:17 PM »
Yes I did! Thank you, so thats why! So fps override fixes that? Thanks again!

goran

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: Recording in raw switches from 25 to 29,776 fps, why?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2014, 10:58:17 AM »
Yes I did! Thank you, so thats why! So fps override fixes that? Thanks again!

Yes fps override changes the fps to whatever you want even when in crop mode.