Author Topic: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.  (Read 8924 times)

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Dear friends,
I had a magic lantern issue (my guess) when loaded magic lantern for Mark 2 in my 550D I pressed "dont click me!" button in the debug menu. (I dont know why but this button came so mysterious to me :)...) anyway now I cannot taking photo with shutter buton when camera on it take a shot himself but after that shutter button doesnt work... AF is working menu and magic lantern menu is working but shutter button wont. Beside when I press the live view buton is remove shutter and taking a picture but it will be blurry and motion blurred (should be bulb effect)
I was remove the battery for few days, uninstall and reinstall MagicLantern but I cannot reinstall firmware couse I cannot downgrade from 1.0.9 and recover fabric setting dozen times in menu.

is there anyone know what is the solution. Is there any way to recover my 550D
Kindest regards.

Rewind

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2014, 09:11:09 PM »

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2014, 09:36:35 PM »
its done, I did remove the ML clearly but shooting buton still not stable..I can shot once every time open camera on but after that it focusing but wont shooting. :(

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 927
  • 550D
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2014, 03:44:30 AM »
Why did you put '5D mark 2' firmware on you '550D'.
And why did you press the 'don't click me'. (It says *don't* click me.)

Please explain your problem again, as I am unsure what the actual problem is.

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 10:35:48 PM »
Why?..I dont know actually maybe I'm just dummy and curious :(
My real problem is my camera is cant shooting photo now. I can shoot video but when try to shot photo focus is working well but release button wont shoot.
It can take a shot randomly when I close camera and reopen, but it keep shutter open and..you know, shot came is so motion-blurred.
I remove the ML from the card and machine, I'd wait take off battery almost 3 week. I try reload original 1.09 but I cant couse its already 1.09
İs there anyone has any solution :(
Thank you indeed.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7581
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 10:45:03 PM »
Reset your camera settings to factory defaults, including Fn settings.

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2014, 06:48:19 PM »
I did it many times :( not working. Now one of my friend give me another trick that I will try.
I will try reload magiclanten but in same time I will include cannon original firmware in he card...He said magic lantern will be reload original version...I dont think so but nothing to loose anymore :( I'll try.

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2014, 07:07:47 PM »
Nope,
it wont let me reload original 1.09. Not even after magic lanthern installation. I think I brake my camera :(

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7581
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2014, 07:29:07 PM »
Well, your friend seems to have a lot of experience. Let him demonstrate this process with whatever cam at hand.
<vbeg>.



EDIT: Even it it would work (and it won't) it would not help to solve your problem. Changing firmware will not overwrite those settings.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7581
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2014, 07:57:58 PM »
May I ask if you used some kind of remote control software accessing the cam by USB?

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2014, 10:27:41 PM »
No...i didn't use even cannon's self software.. I just connect with usb sometime but mostly I use it with card reader..

My friend didn't make it with same tactics. When he's try to reload original software it just cant move your selection over "ok" button..you can sellect it but cant press accept button.

Can I find any solution with whole open the camera?


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7581
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2014, 10:33:09 PM »
First retry resetting cam's settings to factory default. Don't forget to reset Fn-settings, too.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12457
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2014, 10:37:03 PM »
Have a video showing the issue?

I smell some contact problems in the shutter button, though I could not really understand the problem description.

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #13 on: June 12, 2014, 10:43:37 PM »
Nope video just fine, but its strange camera can take one shot if I change the manual to any mode but I think I need do this for every one shot...
Actually I can take one sho every open camera but just one...and it would be somettimes take randomly I didnt press any buton...strange huh?
If I resolve this I never play with magic lantern dont click me button :(....

nick.p

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2014, 02:49:04 AM »
Does that button actually do something?

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2014, 06:03:42 PM »
Nope video just fine
No, a1ex means take and post a video of this camera's strange behavior (with another camera).

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2014, 09:59:43 AM »
He cant of loaded MK2 onto his 550D as a wrong .bin message appears to stop this... unless he found a way round it, sounds to me he was trying to convert his crop sensor full frame  :P

Datadogie

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 186
  • I have a picture memory exept I forgot the sd card
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2014, 01:09:31 PM »
try loading ML onto a new SD card with the 1.0.9 firmware. Might just might be a corrupt card. Also when you say mark 2 do you mean Tragic Lantern. If so try Magic Lantern 2.3
T3i and Kiss X4 (550d (T2i)) Tamron 18-200mm, Sigma 28-70mm f2.8 (need firmware upgrade) Olympus 50mm f1.8  Olympus 28mm f2.8 and Olympus 24mm f2.8
Fancier 370 tripod and LCD hinged loupe. DIY Slider and crane.

memetemin

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #18 on: July 04, 2014, 11:56:17 AM »
Actually yes fist magic lantern version I'd installed was build for Mark 2.
Ill try reload ML 2.3 by the way I was realize when I change the mod it takes shot just for once. After that I need the change mode again....its weird :(

msz

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2016, 03:08:24 AM »
Hi, has been your problem solved?
I have the same issue. I didnt clicked the dont click me menu and I use my 550D for ages with ML, and I'm not sure its an issue with ML, but 3 days ago my cam went crazy. Exactly the same issues you wrote.

ItsMeLenny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 927
  • 550D
Re: My 550D shutter buton doesnt work stable after magic lantern.
« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2016, 06:26:19 AM »
Hi, has been your problem solved?
I have the same issue. I didnt clicked the dont click me menu and I use my 550D for ages with ML, and I'm not sure its an issue with ML, but 3 days ago my cam went crazy. Exactly the same issues you wrote.

Put your camera in M mode, and then press "menu" to get into the canon menu.
Go into the spanner with 3 dots, you should see a menu called "Custom Functions (C.Fn)".
In there, go to number 8, and make sure C.FnIII: Autofocus/Drive Mirror lockup is set to 0 (disabled).
Also check those other custom functions, something might have changed.
Originally they all start on 0.