Best picture and video quality with Magic Lantern -

Started by Samanthasara, July 07, 2014, 11:45:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Samanthasara

Hi there, I'm a total newb to this site, so please be gentle with me. ;)

Hopefully I'm in the right section..

I am just wanting some advice on which camera to get between a Canon T5i and a Nikon D5200.

I like the ease of use of the T5i but prefer the image quality of the Nikon D5200.

I am needing to shoot video interviews, portraits, landscapes and documentary style + nature videos.

Would someone be kind enough to let me know if the T5i will be up to scratch with the D5200 after it has had Magic Lantern installed on it?

Thank you so much

:-*

SteveScout

With ML installed shooting raw your image quality will be definitely higher than any other DSLR - because they are internally heavily compressing the footage to achieve the low datarates.

But if you´re shooting documentaries you´ll probably NOT want to shoot raw - it is quite an undertaking when shooting narrative work, but for a doc, where you collect footage rather than precisely capture it, or for an interview .. it´s absolulte overkill and you´ll have to invest five times the money of your camera for storage. So for you purporses don´t even consider shooting raw. ML is nice, though, but it does not really improve image quality much when not shooting raw.

I don´t know about the D5200 precisely, but some of the Nikons had clean HDMI out with a nice downsampled 1080p image, this will be better for you then. My advice if you don´t have lenses yet for interviews, nature, landscapes, docs: Panasonic GH4.

Jackeatley

The difference in use in video mode is negligible. The T5i isn't really up to decent ML raw, so you'll be at the standard video mode.

Slight differences in video modes on DSLRs mean nothing, the various downsides mean that these cameras are so technically bad they all end up looking very much the same, so it comes down to aesthetic.