Author Topic: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?  (Read 3833 times)

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« on: May 27, 2014, 02:19:41 AM »
Can anyone help?  Been shooting raw for about a year; happily with various builds.  My 64 1000x computerbay card is not quite writing as fast as it used too, despite low level formats and trying all sorts of things.

So I pulled down the May 24 build for the 113 5d3 and decided to enable spanning.

On my CF card, I have:
M26-1853.MLV
M26-1853.M00
through
M26-1853.M08

all 4GB files except for the last, where I ran out of space.

On my SD card I have:
M26-1853.M00 (almost 1 gb)
M26-1853.M01
trhough
M26-1853.M08 (all 1k in file size)

Normally in the past I used mlvbrowsesharp.exe and just right clicked - extract with dng + wav.

Now what do I need to do to put this all back together again, and especially the M26-1853.M01-.M08 (1k size) files on my SD card?

I've tried searching and will continue to do so.

Thanks,
Shawn

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2014, 04:50:22 AM »
Dump all of the files together on a HDD.  Use "mlv_dump --dng".

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2014, 05:22:37 AM »
Dump all of the files together on a HDD.  Use "mlv_dump --dng".

I have a 900 meg file on the SD card and a 4 GB one on the CF with the exact same filename though.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2014, 05:48:17 AM »
Oh yes, I'm not sure how to handle that.

You could try one of the processors from this section.

Shield

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2014, 03:44:15 PM »
Oh yes, I'm not sure how to handle that.

You could try one of the processors from this section.

I tried concatenating the files and no go.

Here's what I found to fix this:

Use the EXFAT option, then on the CF you get "moviename.mlv" and on the SD card "moviename.m00".


Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5996
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2014, 04:19:50 PM »
Erased, dont know the answer

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3565
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: MLV and spanning - how do I put this back together?
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2014, 05:31:55 PM »
Here's what I found to fix this:

Use the EXFAT option, then on the CF you get "moviename.mlv" and on the SD card "moviename.m00".

Yes, that doesn't help with the current files though.  The option needs to be changed so that spanning enabled, requires > 4GiB.

It looks to me like there is code in place to do just that, but it isn't working.

Code: [Select]
    /* not all models support exFAT filesystem */
    uint32_t exFAT = 1;
    if(cam_5d2 || cam_50d || cam_7d)
    {
        exFAT = 0;
        large_file_support = 0;
    }
    for (struct menu_entry * e = raw_video_menu[0].children; !MENU_IS_EOL(e); e++)
    {
        /* customize menus for each camera here (e.g. hide what doesn't work) */
        if (!cam_eos_m && streq(e->name, "Rec Key") )
            e->shidden = 1;
        if (cam_eos_m && streq(e->name, "Digital dolly") )
            e->shidden = 1;

        if (!cam_5d3 && streq(e->name, "CF-only buffers") )
            e->shidden = 1;
        if (!cam_5d3 && streq(e->name, "Card spanning") )
            e->shidden = 1;
        if (!exFAT && streq(e->name, "Files > 4GiB (exFAT)") )
            e->shidden = 1;

edit:  Actually, I think I am reading this wrong.

I think this is correct?

Code: [Select]
    /* disable card spanning on models other than 5D3 */
    if(!cam_5d3 && exFAT = 1)
    {
        card_spanning = 0;
    }

A preferred solution would be to name the spanned files differently, so that the option remains to use spanning without exFAT, but this is above my pay grade.  ::)