Author Topic: new to ML...problems  (Read 3186 times)

qaz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
new to ML...problems
« on: May 15, 2014, 11:45:02 AM »
hi

ive acquired a 5d mk 1 and would appreciate any help

its got 5dc beta4 M/Lantern

can any one tell me :

is the ML actually on the cf card and is it in the camera circuitry, it appears to be on the card as when i insert new card i cant find ML

with a new cf card inserted i cant find the mirror lock up feature [for cleaning sensor]...its vanished, is this to do with the ML

thanks

qaz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 11:51:48 AM »
anyone know how to get notifies of new reply
thanks

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1251
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 11:55:58 AM »
have you checked here for the info you need? http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=1010.0
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

qaz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 12:05:54 PM »
can u be a bit more specific please, that looks like a forum mostly, what part of the page do u suggest i look at. sofar i cant see any solutions there

thanks

qaz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2014, 09:40:33 PM »
can a moderator tell me if this msg is in right place as im getting no replys
thanks

dmilligan

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • 60Da / 1100D / EOSM
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2014, 10:21:18 PM »
as im getting no replys
Well, there's probably not many 5dc users out there, so there's probably not really anyone to help you with 5D specific stuff, the port itself is no longer maintained, so I hate to say it, but you're probably mostly on your own. There's lots of information already here on this forum, you just have to be willing to search for it and do a lot of reading.

what part of the page do u suggest i look at
You should probably read the whole thing, as most all the information for this camera is going to be found there.

is the ML actually on the cf card and is it in the camera circuitry, it appears to be on the card as when i insert new card i cant find ML
ML is on the card, nothing really gets changed in the camera's ROM (where the Canon firmware lives). The "installer" simply sets a flag in the camera that tells it try and boot from the SD/CF card (kind of like when you boot from a CD on your computer). The card must contain ML and be bootable.

qaz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: new to ML...problems
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2014, 07:41:45 PM »
thanks guys