Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 690447 times)

2blackbar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 460
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #875 on: November 08, 2020, 01:27:53 AM »
use 12 or 10 bits and it records fine with green icon.
It is unstable , can hang camera when exiting from zoom and in other moments but  hey it does raw recording so i'll let it.
You just need to learn how to work around that and just dont do these things that make it hang/crash the camera forcing you to pull battery.

nikki

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #876 on: November 28, 2020, 05:21:03 PM »
is there a setting on the 5d mark II for shooting without lens?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #877 on: November 28, 2020, 06:12:50 PM »
Not aware of such a menu entry for 5D2. Do you have any problems in this regard?

nikki

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #878 on: November 28, 2020, 06:24:18 PM »
i thought i needed this setting when using a third party adapter and lens but I don't ...it works fine
thanks

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #879 on: December 10, 2020, 03:50:11 PM »
Hi !
Why would the 5d2 generate not only Mlv's but also M01, M02 etc... They are as heavy as the Mlv and don't know what to do about them.
Thanks !

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #880 on: December 11, 2020, 08:05:18 AM »
Because 5D2 has a Digic 4 processor. Canon didn't implement support for ExFAT file system for Digic 4. In FAT32 maximum file size is 4 GB.
Which software are you using to process MLV?
MLVapp knows how to deal with file chunking. Just copy all files to your PC.

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #881 on: December 11, 2020, 08:13:45 AM »
Just copy all files to your PC.
It also works directly from card with MLVApp.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #882 on: December 15, 2020, 06:01:38 PM »
Hi!

I tryied filming with zeek latest build. But only in h264 cause Id need long recording time to cover a concert of 60min.
It stopped at 12min. Around 4.2gb each time.
Any reason for that?
Any way to get continuous record time in h264?

Thanks a lot!


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #883 on: December 16, 2020, 08:20:59 AM »
Because of #880. Look at file size of that clip.
Also pointed out in 5D2 manual.

Calculation:
4 GiByte = 4 x 1024 x 1024 x 1024 Byte = 4,294,967,296 Byte and that determines max. file size for FAT32.
Computer guys use k =1024. Storage guys k = 1000.

Canon EOS cameras with Digic 5 learned to handle file chunking. You get up to 3 chunks for a continuous 29:59 recording. 12+12+6 minutes = 4 GiByte + 4 GiByte + 2 (give or take) Gibyte

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #884 on: December 16, 2020, 11:58:48 AM »
Thanks Walter!

I don’t mind about the chunks.
Just that it stops!
In Raw, its chunked but continuous as long as I have space on the card.
In h264 it just stops there. Unless I use movie restart from ML?
Or is there any other way ?


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #885 on: December 16, 2020, 12:02:01 PM »
Or is there any other way ?

HDMI recording
8 bit 4:2:2

Continuous with lua_fix build.

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #886 on: December 16, 2020, 04:43:18 PM »
Good point.

Is it 1080 then via the hdmi?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #887 on: December 16, 2020, 05:03:33 PM »
Give it a try: Connect to your monitor/TV.

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #888 on: December 18, 2020, 01:06:00 PM »
Hi!

So, filming in Raw 1080p I get these chunks of 4gb.
Is there a reason why for the same record length, with same bitrate and fps, I would get heavier files with 5d2 than with eos m?

Thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #889 on: December 18, 2020, 01:19:11 PM »
1080p crop mode with compression?

Skinny

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #890 on: December 19, 2020, 12:15:42 PM »
@lambertcolson have you tried connecting via hdmi? I tried various builds and settings, but can get only 480p from 5D2. And "force vga" doesn't do anything...

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #891 on: December 20, 2020, 08:46:02 AM »
Did not try yet.
But really hope itll work....

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #892 on: December 21, 2020, 07:54:47 AM »
Ok now a stupid question.
How can I know which res comes out of that hdmi signal?
Plugged it to a monitor. Works fine but does not say anything.


Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #893 on: December 21, 2020, 08:45:41 AM »
Actually a very good question. Same problem here. Monitor will fetch anything and just tell "1080i60".
I tried to use an (cheapo) HDMI-USB-capture and looking into OBS to see input value. See screenshot for an Elgato device:

But my card doesn't support that, custom properties is just not there.

Skinny

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #894 on: December 21, 2020, 12:01:46 PM »
Some monitors show information in the menu, mine is showing 720x480p and a message "use 1920x1200 for best experience".

You can also tell by the size of pixels that they are not 1080p, they are much larger. And there is an option "force VGA" which should switch to 480p resolution, if it looks exactly the same, then it is 480p all the time..

I don't have any capture card unfortunately, but I've tried two monitors.. all the same.

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #895 on: December 21, 2020, 03:17:22 PM »
I tryied with force Vga and it gets considerably smaller.

I guess I am getting 1080 then.
That’s good news.

Skinny

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #896 on: December 21, 2020, 03:58:56 PM »
hmm.. very interesting. what build are you using? any special camera settings?

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #897 on: December 22, 2020, 01:38:16 PM »
Using latest zeek build.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7797
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #898 on: December 22, 2020, 01:46:01 PM »
Zeek doesn't compile his own builds, does he? Link, please!

lambertcolson

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #899 on: December 22, 2020, 08:22:38 PM »