Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 636706 times)

alexboum

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #825 on: April 05, 2020, 03:04:29 PM »
Wait a moment! H.264 29:59 limit doesn't apply anymore? If true: What about other cams?

You're right but. You can stop the recording beetween two songs and restart the recording. With raw you have to change the CFCard and for 2Hours you need four 128GBCF, it starts to be expensive. But maybe it is possible to unlock the duration limitation with ML?

Wlad81

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #826 on: April 05, 2020, 08:58:37 PM »
The point here is not in the duration limitation, because it's may be covered by using multiple cameras each of them starts shooting at different time. Let's also suppose that we have as many CFs for each camera as would be enough for recording a 2-hour event. So, at the time when we're changing a CF at cam no. 1,  cam no. 2 continues shooting, so that we could use the video from cams no. 2 and no. 3.

The point here is - will 5D Mk II and CF overheat during continuos work?

By the way: is there SD_UHS support for 5D Mk II?

H.264 is much worse in quality than the RAW.

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2172
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #827 on: April 06, 2020, 02:16:33 AM »
. .......  will 5D Mk II and CF overheat during continuos work?
Short answer ; No
The thermal overload is around 75-80°C if I remember correctly (when the camera shut down to protect itself)
When I do development on the 5d2 (crop_rec & others thing) I stress the cam to it's limits
with liveview  manipulations to a point where the camera no longer response 68°C & above  ::)
But the normal operating range in 10bit HD (1856x1044 @ 23.976fps with "kill liveview on recording start" enabled)
35 -55°C (depended on the temperature of your environment e.g. +20°C or -10°C)
I wouldn't be alarmed it the temperature increased to 65-68°C (still safe but may see a few hot pixels or more noise then usual)
FYI ; the new 48fps (1856x774) preset in the crop_rec reaches up 63-68°C as normal temperature operating range .

If you do use h264 , there is a "Movie Restart" Option , drops 1-2 seconds before it starts again , but they can be offset by staggering the start
of multiple cameras . If you do this option , I would recommend setting the h264 bitrate to 1.4 (if the card is fast enough) 65Mb/s to 90Mb/s (depending on  camera picture style profile)
High contrast scene will have higher data rate then low contrast scene (50-75Mb/s) If you use "Technicolor CineStyle" Profile the max data rate is around 55-60MB/s
but that a log profile , if you choose standard of neutral profile the data rate will be high.

The other option that you can use is the HDMI Signal , It's a 8bit 4.2.2 60i/24p uncompressed (1.5Gb/s 1500MB/s data rate) Next best thing to Raw Video.
True that is not full 1920x1080p (1650x1080) but is scales pretty nicely , I've used it on a few news stories a few years ago , I have a old (1st gen) atomos ninja hard drive recorder
Thou it not longer available any more I've seen the Atomos-Ninja-2 is out there and cheap too , this one is $115.00 (usd)
HDMI Uncompressed(1.5Gb/s) really come very close to raw video , after I graded it a lot of people couldn't tell the difference .

By the way: is there SD_UHS support for 5D Mk II?
No , because it a CF card not a SD .
All that "SD_UHS" is just unlocking the firmware on the camera with SD card (d5 cam only)
on the 5d3 , SD card chip is a SDR104 & on the other d5 camera it's SDR50 .
So what is this ?
https://www.sdcard.org/developers/overview/bus_speed/index.html
Canon in all there wisdom decided to lock the SD card bus to "High Speed" 25MB/s v1.10
If thou it has UHS- I chip v3.01
50MB/s  (SDR50, DDR50) 
104MB/s (SDR104)

What about 5D2 & 50D ?
will there is two option open to them , Lossless compression (I'm working on it) & CF Card Bus over clocking (just started to investigate this)
a1ex had did some test a long time ago on 5d2 and had the CF card overclock for faster write speed.
So if Lossless works on the 5d2 as the 5d3 14bit lossless data rate will be reduce by 40-50 % so a 128GB card could hold up to 70mins at 1856x928 2:1 A.R.


   

histor

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #828 on: April 07, 2020, 10:55:11 PM »
a1ex had did some test a long time ago on 5d2 and had the CF card overclock for faster write speed.
It seems, there was a little problem with overclocking. Please, be cautious.

jimmyjams

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #829 on: April 08, 2020, 10:28:53 AM »
Hi. I hope I'm able to get some help here. I installed

Nightly.2018.jul03.5D2212

For the life of me I can't get the audio monitors to show up in Live view. I can see the meters at the bottom when I'm in the audio tab but that's it. There isn't an option to turn on audio meters like I've seen on YouTube. Is there something I'm missing or should I download a different build? If so, which one and where do I find the link.

This is pretty much the only reason I'd like to use ML. 

My canon firmware is up to date


Thanks so much

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7214
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #830 on: April 09, 2020, 03:57:20 PM »
You toggled liveview screens and other overlays are visible?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

jimmyjams

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #831 on: April 10, 2020, 12:39:45 AM »
Yes they are...

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7214
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #832 on: April 10, 2020, 01:19:46 AM »
Post a snapshot of your ML screen.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

jimmyjams

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #833 on: April 10, 2020, 02:15:15 AM »
Sorry, I don't seem to have an attachment option.
But I've uploaded them to my site. Here's the link:


http://www.jamesleonardo.com/upload

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7214
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #834 on: April 10, 2020, 02:24:25 AM »
I cannot see any overlay in 3rd pic from the left. And it doesn't look like movie mode.
Reset ML to default settings or re-enable Global draw and retry.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

jimmyjams

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #835 on: April 10, 2020, 04:03:41 AM »
That worked!

By the way Walt, thanks for helping me out.

Macke1

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #836 on: May 10, 2020, 02:53:06 PM »
I'm trying to do a time-lapse 3fps and have tried different resolutions but all I can record is just 3 seconds then it stoppes. I have nightly build 2.1.2. Anyone knows what to do?!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7214
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #837 on: May 10, 2020, 07:37:56 PM »
Benchmark your card.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!