Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2  (Read 646025 times)

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #100 on: May 30, 2014, 03:32:04 PM »
I am just using the 5d in normal mode with ML installed and I am unsure about the continuos recording mode ML offers.... I understand I can turn movie restart and when the 4gb buffer is reached the camera will restart..... Will the camera just do that itself? Are there any known issues with this, heat issues etc?

Note that while this is automatic, there would still be a approx 1 or less than 1 second gap between the 4gig clips. Heat issues is still the same as with stock firmware.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

dariSSight

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #101 on: June 03, 2014, 08:37:17 AM »
It all depends on your CF card, I use a Lexar 1000x 64, 32GB. I found in Crop Mode to get the needed speed for continuous, Buffer fill rate "0"  78-79MB/s with audio,  In 1:1 "1" is ok unless you use a HDMI device then you need that write speed again .
Some of the cards like the komputerbay's are better at fill rate of "4" as per Ted's test on the first page of this thread.
Also on my one Sandisk Extreme 32GB 90MB/s works better at fill rate of "0".
On smaller frame sizes thou it may not make that much differences, so play a little bit with it  ;)
 

What's up with all the Failed Build links, I'm going into preproduction all June. Are the most stable builds for 5D 2 still Oct 24 for Raw and Feb 16 build for MLV?
Canon 5D Mark II

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7299
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Kharak

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 949
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #103 on: June 03, 2014, 10:05:26 AM »
Note that while this is automatic, there would still be a approx 1 or less than 1 second gap between the 4gig clips. Heat issues is still the same as with stock firmware.

I have to say that I have recorded tons of footage over the 4 gig limit and never experienced a gap between the 4 gigs. I thought I was seeing skipped frames at a time when watching <4 gig footage in MLRawViewer, but found out that it was only MLRV that jumped to the next file at every 4 gig mark. When merged and exported, there was nothing wrong with the footage.

once you go raw you never go back

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #104 on: June 04, 2014, 09:53:24 PM »
Hello, does anybody know if there is an update for this link: https://bitbucket.org/a_d_/magic-lantern/downloads/5D2_OSX_raw2dng_ProRes.zip

It's the 5D2_OSX_raw2dng_ProRes app download link from the old '5D2 RAW video Builds 14-Bit' thread, first post.

ted ramasola

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1250
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #105 on: June 04, 2014, 09:54:57 PM »
I have to say that I have recorded tons of footage over the 4 gig limit and never experienced a gap between the 4 gigs. I thought I was seeing skipped frames at a time when watching <4 gig footage in MLRawViewer, but found out that it was only MLRV that jumped to the next file at every 4 gig mark. When merged and exported, there was nothing wrong with the footage.

rick_ford55 was inquiring about using it in "normal" mode so I assumed this meant h264. the 1 sec gap I implied to only applies to h264 footage via auto restart. No gap with raw.
5DmkII  / 7D
www.ramasolaproductions.com
Texas

johnny5d

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #106 on: June 06, 2014, 05:49:16 PM »
Hi all I can't view raw video or anything  in filemanager .. the window is black

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #107 on: June 06, 2014, 07:12:43 PM »
Did you remove the lens cap while shooting?

JK, couldn't resist ;-)

Little more info needed, which window is black? File manager while viewing a folder, the video while trying to play it, etc.?

johnny5d

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #108 on: June 06, 2014, 08:42:12 PM »
Haha you are funny  ;D

When I hit play the screen goes black.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #109 on: June 06, 2014, 08:48:55 PM »
When I hit play, my screen goes pink :P

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #110 on: June 06, 2014, 10:31:06 PM »
Sorry @johnny5D, my bad :-X

Listen, there's a lot of ML experts and of course the devs on this forum that love to help, but they need more info, like ML build version, shooting conditions/settings, logs, etc. and being human beings at times they get tired of repeating themselves about this kind of thing when someone asks for help, but as you can see at least @a1ex is having a little fun about it (I think and hope anyway :-)

I'm not an ML expert or dev, but I am a long-time software engineer and so can relate to this kind of thing.


johnny5d

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #111 on: June 06, 2014, 11:38:52 PM »
Okay okay, I do understand that! Some times it's hard to explain things, even more when I don't know te best english to make the problem clear to you my friends.

Here is a video I made of the problem hope this is will light up more:

p.s. sorrie for the bad focus but I think you see the problem I get here.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #112 on: June 06, 2014, 11:47:49 PM »
Load the mlv_play module.

You may want to get it from an older build, until somebody with pattern-matching skills (or tutorial-following skills) finds the missing stubs.

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #113 on: June 07, 2014, 01:27:41 AM »
Now why did I have a funny feeling it would be that simple ;-)

johnny5d

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #114 on: June 07, 2014, 11:18:30 AM »
Thanks for your help... Jimmy why so sarcastic? Instead of been sarcastic your will achieve much more in life when you are willing to help others.

So to me, success means contributing my personal gifts in something that I really love in the best possible way, being of use for others and getting the appropriate reward for that.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #115 on: June 07, 2014, 11:27:30 AM »
Jimmy is telling the truth, and now you deserve a warning ;)

http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#not_losing

jimmyD30

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #116 on: June 07, 2014, 01:16:09 PM »
@johnny5D

Yes, I was being sarcastic, but I didn't think I was being mean spirited, and that is how I go through life. As far as willing to help others, I'm a successful HS Mathematics Teacher, so I'm usually helping a lot of people most of the time (except in summer ;-) and I use sarcasm all the time in the classroom when it's kinda deserved. But I will admit the big difference is my students, after getting to know me of course, realize I'm not being mean, just making a point with a twist to it. It seems people remember those kind of lessons better than with just another boring lecture.

As I'm sure you will too now :D

Also, the sarcasm wasn't directed at you per se, it's just that many times beginner ML users do overlook basic stuff like loading modules and the solution ends up being very simple.

Sunny Alan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #117 on: June 07, 2014, 08:35:44 PM »
OMG !
Is it that lengthy and technical to install ML ?
Any easy and short way to it, please ?  :-[

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12420
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #118 on: June 07, 2014, 08:39:19 PM »
I would suggest something like this:

Quote
Installation:
1) Format the card from the camera.
2) Make sure you are running Canon firmware 2.1.2.
3) Copy ML files on the card and run Firmware Update.

Uninstallation:
1) Run Firmware Update from your ML card.
2) Follow the instructions.

(though some people got stuck even with this)

poromaa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
  • Engineer by day James Cameron in my dreams
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #119 on: June 11, 2014, 08:00:00 PM »
Hi 5D2 owners!

looks like we are left behind. As a frequent user of the nightlies, its sad to see that the 5D2 development has stopped. If it is as simple as a1ex say I want to make a try.

Has anyone already started finding the STUBS for 5D2 yet? If so, are you stuck, can I help?

If not, has anyone extracted the ROM1.BIN.strings and ROM1.BIN.dis from the 5D2?

I would really like to take a look at them to begin with.

Doyle4

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 690
  • Canon 5DRAWii & 600Dual-Iso
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #120 on: June 14, 2014, 09:20:05 PM »
What has happened to the 5Dmkii Scene? iv tried reading to why it has stopped but its a little confusing, miss A.D's builds and now the nightly's, wish i understood what it is they need..

swinxx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #121 on: June 14, 2014, 09:31:13 PM »
the last 5dmk3 1.2.3 nightly is also from 23th may??
it has never been such a break since i started with ml

1aurent

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #122 on: June 15, 2014, 02:32:09 AM »
Hello,

I have disassembled the ROM file of my 5D2.212.

@poromaa: I've just opened the ROM1.bin file to find the missing stubs.

I have found FIO_SeekSkipFile at loc_ff9ab050 and (maybe) CancelDateTimer at ff874a74 and SetTimerAfter at ffa6da0c.

I will work on other stubs asap. Thanks Pelican for ROMs.


jad

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #123 on: June 16, 2014, 12:13:48 AM »
Newbie here - I have just installed magic lantern on my 5D2 but I can't get the modules tab to appear in order to enable raw video recording. Everything else appears to work as described.
I think I have followed the relevant instructions: switch live view on (after setting to stills + movie and movie display), then click the trash can button to bring up magic lantern... but no modules tab shows up. I have tried reinstalling, loading most recent available build(from nightly) but still no modules.
I have attached a screen shot showing what is on my camera card, and a shot of the back of the camera tabs.
Any pointers much appreciated - I really installed this for the raw video.


nick.p

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 94
Re: Canon 5D Mark II / 5D2
« Reply #124 on: June 16, 2014, 12:23:35 AM »


That's quite an old build (2012). You'll want to install one from the nightly builds. http://builds.magiclantern.fm