Author Topic: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3  (Read 999642 times)

Lucky Luke

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Audiovisual
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1525 on: December 21, 2017, 03:19:54 PM »
 :) ouu Christmas THX


tuckahoevideos

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1526 on: April 10, 2018, 09:38:19 PM »
Just purchased a 5D3, an upgrade from my 60D running ML. I see dforts post about downgrading from 1.3.4 so I can install ML on my 5D3.

I clicked on his tutorial, and the last post from 2/13/17 mentions trying to get a ML version for 1.3.4....before I downgraded, it just makes sense to ask what the progress of that is.

Thanks!

JIM

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3146
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1527 on: April 11, 2018, 05:44:35 AM »
There's a whole topic dedicated to it:

Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.3.4

Skip to the end and you'll see that just when it seemed like the bugs were ironed out Canon introduced 1.3.5 so it was back to square 1. If you want to try 1.3.4, a test build is on my downloads page. This is very experimental and doesn't have a ML-SETUP.FIR which is needed to install ML so you'll have to install ML on 1.1.3 or 1.2.3 before running the Canon firmware updater. In your case you'll have to downgrade, install ML then upgrade back to 1.3.4.

Just a tip--you'll have the best experience with the 5D3.113 crop_rec_4k build.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203

tuckahoevideos

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1528 on: April 20, 2018, 11:57:21 PM »
Thanks for the reply dfort. Just want to thank you and all the others who have the brain power to figure this all out and then share it with the rest of us. It kills me that a camera like the 5DIII doesn't have the basics that I've grown to take for granted on my 60D rocking ML. Having a histogram on the screen while filming and peaking should be standard in any camera that takes video. I'll check out the thread you posted.

JIM

Aidenawhite

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1529 on: April 26, 2018, 04:21:37 AM »
I'm not 100% where to post so I'm hoping someone can help me with this I have been using magic lantern for a couple weeks now and as of recently have been playing with the RAW footage that I see people posting about my only issue Is I am not sure how to make it 4k I see the option but when I go to it says camera cant support this with this mode I have seen tons of people give tutorials on youtube and have followed along and they dont have this issue they also have an option for crop video which I dont see. Thanks for any help?

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1530 on: April 26, 2018, 08:10:33 AM »
Enter crop mode by pressing loupe button (5x).

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1531 on: May 12, 2018, 06:06:21 PM »
When I turn on/off crop mode, screen FeelWorld F570 is black for 2 seconds (same effect when I press Menu button). But next hdmi resolution is still 1080p without change...

Is it possible reduce downtime?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1532 on: May 13, 2018, 10:58:48 AM »
Probably, but it's not trivial. Best guess: this might work if one can somehow prevent Canon code from turning the display off during video mode changes (or from actually sending the "display off/on" sequences to the HDMI chip).

Starting points:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=21573
https://a1ex.bitbucket.io/ML/states/5D3-123-alt/sm72.htm

Unable to look into this in the near future, sorry.

Pimmen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1533 on: June 02, 2018, 07:39:59 PM »
What does the green dots and the number indicate? I have a battery grip attached.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


olofen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Why does Canon Utility not recognize videos in my MK III when trying to transfer to a computer via USB?
Why does the CF card in the camera not show up in the file menu on my computer when the camera is connected via USB cable?

Are these thing possible to fix? I donĀ“t want to take out the delicate and expensive CF card after every photosession and put it into a cardreader with a possible risk to damage it in the end...

/olof

I use a mac - Yosemite

-----------------------------------------

Thank you Walter :D, 18 MByte/s is slow....
EOS 5D Mark III 1.2.3
Mac OS High Sierra

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1535 on: June 17, 2018, 10:30:41 AM »
CF-card connectors are specified for 5000 mating cycles. Same number for USB mini connectors.

AFAIK Canon code does support "official" file formats only. You may be forced to rename DNG/MLV if you insist on stressing USB-mini at about 18 MByte/s. Plus stressing battery (limited recharge cycles...).

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1536 on: July 12, 2018, 10:12:29 PM »
What does the green dots and the number indicate? I have a battery grip attached.

https://davidmilligan.github.io/ml-lua/modules/battery.html#performance
Performance - Get how many "green dots" (3 for a new battery, less for a used battery)

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1537 on: July 12, 2018, 10:22:22 PM »
What's not:
- no full-screen magic zoom (I never used it anyway, but was nice)

That's the only reason why I have to switch between 1.1.3 and 1.2.3.

olofen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1538 on: July 12, 2018, 10:29:58 PM »
How do I set up my mk III to succeed in filming with 48 fps continuos at 1920x1080 without a break (AND what not to set up...) - I tried everything 😟
Please give me a recipe how and where to fill in what in the Magic Lantern menus...
I will be forever grateful!!!
EOS 5D Mark III 1.2.3
Mac OS High Sierra

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1539 on: July 12, 2018, 10:36:48 PM »
How do I set up my mk III to succeed in filming with 48 fps continuos at 1920x1080 without a break (AND what not to set up...) - I tried everything 😟
Continous: "1920x1080 @ 45p"
NOT 48p.

olofen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1540 on: July 12, 2018, 10:44:00 PM »
Continous: "1920x1080 @ 45p"
NOT 48p.

Tried this but stopped after 4 seconds...

Optimize for?
Special set-ups for avoiding crashes?
EOS 5D Mark III 1.2.3
Mac OS High Sierra

Shimbarovsky

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1541 on: August 13, 2018, 04:34:03 PM »
Hello.
I did not found how to create a new POST... sorry...
I have a question to developers of Magic Lantern:
I need some function for my Canon 5d mk3.
Is it possible to capturing video with maximal width of matrix, minimum height, and maximum fps?
For example 3840 X 20 px, 480 fps
Or 5760 X 20 px, 480 fps (or more)
Who can programming this option? Can I order it? Are here some specialists, who can do it?
Help me please.


uuderzo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1543 on: August 21, 2018, 06:46:02 PM »
I installed the July 2018.3 build and having an issue when recording 1080p RAW footage.
If while recording i press the SET button, the camera freezes and i need to pull out the battery.
Is there something i can check to avoid this?

The loaded modules are mlv_rec, mlv_play and mlv_snd.

Thank you!
Umberto

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1544 on: August 21, 2018, 08:08:33 PM »
Does it work using lower resolutions?
Does it work in 1080p and lower resolutions with older builds?

uuderzo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1545 on: August 21, 2018, 11:57:07 PM »
It works in 1080 and records correctly for as long as I wish.
But if, for error or distraction, I press the set button while recording, everything hangs.
I know, just don't press it but I'm wondering what the set button is supposed to do while recording? Should it zoom the display like when not in record mode? Is it possible to disable it?
I didn't check with older versions, if it's worth it I'll give it a go.
Thanks!

Shimbarovsky

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1546 on: August 29, 2018, 11:48:41 AM »
It was funny, but You did not read it carefully!
If You change video resolution, the amount of information will decrease, and You can process it faster.
Or is everyone able to reason ONLY in a standart way???

motionSOUL

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1547 on: August 29, 2018, 06:22:44 PM »
Hello, I made some tests recently 1920x800 - 60 ips - 14-bit lossless with 1920 50/60 3x3 crop mode.
Here is the problem, no clue if it comes from the crop mode or other ML parameters.
Any clue? I speak about the banding effect on the shot. I have it on lots of shots but never experienced that before.
I use the last Switch version to go from .mlv to .dng.

Thanks,

S/.




uuderzo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1548 on: September 03, 2018, 10:58:22 AM »
@Shimbarovsky: if your reply was addressed to my post, sorry I don't get it. I wrote that the recording is working ok until I press the Set button, and I was wondering what purpose the Set button has in recording mode.
Sure I must try to record at lower resolution to double check this and report here. Will do ASAP.
Cheers!

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: Canon 5D Mark III / 5D3 / Firmware 1.2.3
« Reply #1549 on: September 03, 2018, 11:08:12 AM »
@Shimbarovsky: if your reply was addressed to my post,

It was not.