What is the full capability of the 5DMkii/Mkiii, and how to expand upon it?

Started by SkyHigh, February 27, 2014, 10:41:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SkyHigh

Hello all. I am a total Newb in Magic Lantern world. I have mostly been a stills photographer so far. My questions are particularly focused to the 5D Mkii/ Mkiii platform. I just helped a friend shoot a short film, and a promotional video with my 5D Mkii.  That was my first introduction to ML. I had heard of ML before this and how it was increasing the capability of DSLR cameras beyond the factory software handcuffs placed on it but had never seen it in action. I was impressed and continue to be (more like astounded) as I read more about the expanded capabilities the ML community is bringing to the DSLR video world.

So a bit on the reason for my starting this post (my question is sure to lead down the tech rabbit hole)

"What is the full capability the 5D Mkii/Mkiii and how to expand upon it?"

The reason I pose this question is because as I have been reading about new improvements attempted to be made by the ML community it seems many of the attempts at improvements are blocked by hardware issues. For example, limitations of the CF card for storage space, buffer limits, limits on improvements beyond 8 bit due to hardware constraints, limits on the ability for 4k capture and recording (even though the camera is capable of capturing full frame high resolution stills at 4K or beyond), limitations on HDMI pulls straight from the sensor etc.

I consider the sensor rightly the heart of the camera. It seems to me that the canon 5D Mkii/Mkiii sensor is capable of much greater things than the rest of the hardware of the camera will allow.