Author Topic: 14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit  (Read 4660 times)

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit
« on: February 24, 2014, 07:57:45 AM »
Hi Guys,

I notice raw recording ML gives 14 bit, but Resolve only has 10 bit exporting options. Is this because in a final render, a monitor can not display all 14 bits of info?
Or, is there a way to export all bits and save all the quality?

Thank you,
Mr D

Midphase

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 712
Re: 14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2014, 09:26:28 AM »
Resolve can import 10 and 16 bit CDNG files. Blackmagic cameras generate 10 bit CDNG, but since ML works in 14bit, typically the CDNG files generated by something like RAWMagic are up converted to 16 rather than 10.

When it comes to exporting from Resolve, typically the preferred options are ProRes HQ or 4444 or other standard finishing formats. The idea is that while it's desirable to have access to as much information as possible during the grading process, final graded video displays just fine at lower bit rates.

vroem

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: 14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2014, 10:04:38 AM »
I agree, just a small correction: Blackmagic's cameras generate 12 bit dng.

mrd777

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: 14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2014, 10:37:24 PM »
When I tried Avid 444 it rendered a file that had nothing in it. Must have done something wrong. Will try again.

Will Pro Res work in a windows PC (Premiere Pro cs5.5) ?

aace

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Magic Lantern 60D / 7D
Re: 14 bit raw CinemaDNG, but Resolve only exports 10 bit
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2014, 11:59:49 PM »
When I tried Avid 444 it rendered a file that had nothing in it. Must have done something wrong. Will try again.

Will Pro Res work in a windows PC (Premiere Pro cs5.5) ?

I don't think you can export to Pro Res on Windows with Resolve. I use http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9560.0 ML RAW Viewer by baldand and it grades beautifully. The downside is it converts slow but I tend to render multiple files at once. If you really need Pro Res for what ever reason on PC you can try http://www.cinemartin.com/cinec/ but you have to pay for that. FFMpeg allows you to render Pro Res on Windows also. If you want to know the workflow check this out: Sorry I couldn't help with your Resolve question.