Could use some help ! [Post Processing related]

Started by redaber, June 02, 2014, 11:03:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

redaber

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to the scene of Magic Lantern and i have just installed Magic Lantern on my 5D Mark III and recorded some beautifull 14 bit RAW footage and it looks absolutely amazing. Coming from 8 bit H264 the workflow was easy as stealing candy from a little kid....

And i have came across one big problem which is the next.

1. Turn Camera ON = Check
2. Record RAW 14 bit footage = Check
3. Import = Check
4. Convert to DNG = Check
5. Import to Davinci Resolve and grade = Check
6. Export to Proress 4444 = ERROR.

After i did my research i found out Windows doesnt allow Prores4444 to to exported natively. Which came as a big shock to me because there is a reason the footage looks amazing ( 14 bit, and raw quality ) My question to you smarties is please save me and tell me its possible to export them in Prores4444 because if i cant i feel like i wasted alot of time and stress for nothing haha but im sure there is a way to do it.

Anyway thanks alot!

PC Specs :
- CPU : i7 2600K (Overclocked stable to 4,8ghz)
- GPU : AMD Radeon HD 6950
- RAM : 32 GB Corsair Ram

reddeercity

Is there some reason it has to be Pro Res 4444 ?
There is a lot of different Codec to chose from.
Try the Blackmagic RGB 10bit , Avid DNxHD 444 of even export to tiff image sequence and use
FFmpeg to convert to Pro Res 4444 if its a must . 

jimmyD30

redaber

Thanks alot!

i presume i can do the same with davinci resolve?

redaber

Quote from: reddeercity on June 03, 2014, 12:24:26 AM
Is there some reason it has to be Pro Res 4444 ?
There is a lot of different Codec to chose from.
Try the Blackmagic RGB 10bit , Avid DNxHD 444 of even export to tiff image sequence and use
FFmpeg to convert to Pro Res 4444 if its a must .

well the reaon is, correct me if i am wrong but....